• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 74 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:  6 - 8 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 74 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Driver showed up on time, the guide spoke good English. Good knowledge. She took the time to explain all the important things in the Egyptian museum. Good tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

Nice tour with the exception of the tourist stores during lunch break. Negotiate with your guide at the start of the tour the visit or not to a papyro and essence stores. I would rather had spent more time on the monuments/museums than in those stores.

Noel S
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Obviously if in Cairo a must see. I spent the extra 100 Egyptian pounds to visit the 'mummy room' and thought it worthwhile.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

Collection worked smoothly and the guide was courteous. We met our Egyptologist at the Cairo Museum and she was informative and helpful. We had interesting chats about life in Egypt between visits. She should perhaps have prevented me from getting involved with a chap who wanted me to change UK £ for Egyptian as I later learnt that this can be a scam! We had an enjoyable day.

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

It was good, but could have been better. The guide was again taking us to places that sell things and he was polite but later he requested higher tip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

Egyptian Museum is worth going to. The rest not so much, especially if you hae been in Turkey before.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

The Alabaster Mosque and the Egyptian Museum were musts and very much worth visiting however Khan el-Khalili bazaar was essentially a collection of a hundred plus vendors selling mostly the same exact 'made in China' souvenirs. The tour stated 6-8 hours however our tour only lasted about 4 from pickup to dropoff. Our guide was very well educated and at times we were very impressed. At other times however, he seemed lazy. We had two days in a row with this guide and at the end of our first day, our driver dropped him off before we returned to our hotel. The next morning the driver picked us up while our guide met us at the museum. Later that day, the driver dropped us off at Khan el-Khalili at which point our guide said good bye and got a ride home with the driver though the driver did return an hour later to give us a ride home. This wasn't necessarily a problem as had we know we'd likely have encouraged him to do that, though it did make us feel the guide was more concerned with his agenda than ours seeing as how he made this decision on his own. Another example is when he spent 20 minutes with us in the museum and then said "ok, go visit the rest on your own and you can meet me outside in an hour". The guide was accomodating and allowed us to stop places not on the schedule which was nice but overall I'd rate him a 6 or 7 out of 10. My feedback for Viator is to update this itinerary to include more or shorten the duration to a half day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

Tour was rushed. i was led to several tourist traps where I spent more time than the sites listed. Guide was ok, but exited about 2:30pm before lunch where I was stuck with the driver who spoke zero English.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

For a city tour and the time taken to see the sites I felt they should include some more places to visit.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2008

Not enough time to go around the museum, should skip the royal perfume shop. Alabsater Mosque is OK. Were given 45 mins for Khan el-Khalili. How can you buy & bargain in such short time The lunch is good except that we have to pay for drinks and rush.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

The places visited were nice to go to but the guide sometimes seemed annoyed when questions were asked and sometimes was just rude.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2008

Tour guide and tour was good. We canceled the trip to Khan el-Khalili and asked for extra tour to the Hanging Church, Abu Serga and Ben Ezra Synagogue for 15.00 each. The tour organizer wanted 20.00 US each, we said no. With the extra time, we wanted to spend a little longer at the museum but were hurried to move on to the Alabaster Mosque. We got about 4 hours for the tour. Later that day the organizer offered the other tour for 15.00 US each, I was not happy with him and refused to take the tour then.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2012

Our tour guide barely had anything to say and was in a hurry to go through the entire tour. After the mosque, he forced us to go to the market place where we didn't care to go. There were more than enough markets around our hotel, but he insisted that we stop by for 30 minutes. Really, he just wanted to drink coffee and read a paper. It's better to go on your own than with a tour guide.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

DO NOT TAKE THIS TOUR with this company. All they want to do is get as much money out of you as humanly possible. They'll even set it up so that they take you to their friends/families' shops to trap you into buying stuff when they tell you you're going to the bathroom. If you don't believe us, take the tour. When you end up at a carpet factory and a paparus shop, then you'll see we're telling you the truth. These people are unbelieveable! Given the very crappy service they provided, they'll tell you that you NEED (not should) give them VERY LARGE TIP as this is expected given they only work off of tips! They complained that the company pays them too little to live on. As if we had the word "Idiots" written on our foreheads!! Also, be mindful if you're female. They are very demeaning toward women. It may just be cultural (of Egyptians), but either way, it's not pleasant at all. This tour guide made it such an unpleasant experience, we don't recommend anyone visiting Eygpt in general. Honestly, this is the worst place in the world we have ever visited, and we are very well-traveled.

From USD $ 72.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI06

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message