4.5 star rating: Recommended 61 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Egyptian Museum. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 61 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very crowded but worth visiting. Not allowed to take pictures inside, which was only regret. However, advantage of going in a small group is you can hear your guide explain about the individual pieces. I recommend spending the extra money and visiting the mummies. We were able to see Ramses II.

Judith P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A memorable experience - to be able to see artefacts that are so many thousands of years old is truly awsome and King Tut's exhibition is really fantastic! The extra ticket to see the mummy room is worth doing, but be careful at the ticket desk It was very busy when we were buying our tickets and we were shortchanged.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent tour, great tour guide. We visited on a holiday. The museum was extremely crowded for a "slow" day. I wish we had a little more time in the Museum to just wander.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Egyptian Museum was very interesting. Mummies room is great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Tons of artifacts to see here. Again, our guide, was fantastic. She is extremely knowledgeable. The visit here may be a bit short though. But, I bet you could spent a full 8 hours here and not see EVERYTHING. The guide did a good job of making sure we saw all of the most important pieces from each era though.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Our English speaking guide was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Another "must see" if you're in Cairo. The museum is a perfect follow-up trip to the pyramids, showcasing the artifacts previously housed within and adorning the exterior of the pyramids we'd visited the previous day. The mummy room exhibit is well worth the additional charge. It is the ONLY opportunity in the museum or in Cairo that we had to view actual mummies. With SO many thousands of items, we'd have traveled around the world, and left disappointed, never having seen the most important highlights had we NOT booked a personal guide. Our Egyptologist guide, a Cairo native, was fabulous! He was not only a never-ending encyclopedia on EVERY aspect of Egyptian culture, past and present, he was one of the most personable individuals I've had the pleasure to meet! Few people who are THAT intellectual have a capacity to relate to PEOPLE, let alone a gift for it! It was with tremendous respect and a lump in our throat that we bid farewell to him. Our dream of experiencing Egypt had come true in a most enchanting manner. Our deepest thanks to him, and to Viator!

Martin C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Brilliant.

Milly
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The Egyptian Museum is fantastic. There is a lot to see. I recommend paying the extra to see the mummies room. Tutankhamon treasures are a must-see. Simply amazing!

LYNN S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was great. I have wanted to visit the museum for some years, and I was not disappointed. I would have no doubts about recommending Viator.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour was nice our guide was knowledgable ,however at only two hours i thought it was very short given how much there is to see

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Really informative tour around the main exhibits of the Egyptian Museum, with the obvious highlight being the treasures of King Tut. Would have liked to have spent more free time to look round as sometimes it felt a bit rushed. All in all though, well worth a visit

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Guide was great. Professional, punctual, and had great knowledge about Egyptian history.

Lucy G
Romania

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Interesting artefacts inside the museum. The guide (Aladin) was funny but remain focused on the purpose (explanation)

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Would have liked more time at the museum but the help of the guide was appreciated.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

It was very informative. A must see

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

very interesting and the pieces in the museum are amazing. However, we were stuck in traffic for over an hour to get to the museum which was taken off the time we had inside. An hour extra would have been enough to get the benefit from this place.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Our guide was very good and very tolerent of my 3 children. He made sure it was safe for us to visit the museum before we left the hotel as he arrived at the museum very early to check out the activity. He was a very knowlegable guide and very helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

All arrangements good. Guide good.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Having a guide saves time leaving you a chance to see the other side of the museum

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

The visit to the museum was very good with only a limited time I was shown the main exhibits. As I had decided to stay on in the afternoon and opting to see the King Tut exhibition later I could have been shown some other areas of interest which I found on my own. This is an areawhich should be considered for future tours. The guide and driver were both excellent

Yvonne K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The museum was extremely interesting and our guide Reda, was fantastic. Perhaps in hindsight it may have been better to visit after our Nile cruise when we would have more understanding of what we were seeing.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The only part visited was the Tutankamon's. Very good explaination, indeed, but we did not visit any other area, not even the mummies area.

Rafael B
Puerto Rico

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Well, no complaints except that if you take the half a day tour it might be extremely short and you will have a millions questions left unanswered. The museum is very big and it is nice to have a private guide especially an Egyptologist is at your side!

KEN F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Too much to see in such a short time, but still worth the visit. Paid the extra to see the "mummy's" room and that was great.

From USD $ 40.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message