4.5 star rating: Recommended 58 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Egyptian Museum. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 58 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

KEN F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Too much to see in such a short time, but still worth the visit. Paid the extra to see the "mummy's" room and that was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Our guide was very knowledgeable and easy to understand. He took his time with all of the exhibits and gave us plenty of time to look on our own. He was very patient with all of our questions. He even helped us with our cameras and getting our included entrance fees. He took care of absolutely everything. Our driver was very safe and the vehicle was new.

June R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Very good. The guide whisked us to the most popular exhibits in the museum and was very knowledgeable when we asked questions. We regret we did not see as much as we should but it was very warm and tiring in the museum.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Well worth doing

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

Guide was knowledgeable and the museum was excellent. Pay the extra money to see the mummies.

Tara R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

While the museum itself is a little dated, the King Tut exhibit is worth it on its own. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and tailored the tour to things we were interested in!

Gregory J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

A good experience with some security concerns for tourists. After our guide negotiated our entry into the museum we had to pass many tanks, soldiers and police. My daughter who is a pretty blonde girl who dress appropriately for Egypt was leered at by all security personnel which made her very uncomfortable. Once inside the Museum we had the place virtually to ourselves so much so that we were the only two in the Tutankhamen mask room. The guide was very knowledgeable to the extent we had to ask for free time to take things in by ourselves. You must pay extra for the Mummy rooms. I don't know if its really worth the money as we found it a bit creepy.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The tour felt incredibly rushed, only had about an hour in the museum itself. We spent longer travelling back and fourth to the museum than actually inside. Were given no free time to actually look around on our own and was rushed out once the organised tour was over.

Michael B
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The museum was disappointing, did not do justice to the contents! We could have booked the same trip a lot cheaper there. A lot cheaper! A lesson for me to do more research. Also guide not great.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2007

The museum definitely requires a guide, but ours looked somewhat bored, didn't really answer our questions very well, and gave us very little information. The van, however, was very comfortable.

Rachana T
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2010

This was the worst experience ever - the tour guide was totally disinterested in the museum and rushed through the main attractions spending only 45 minutes in the museum with us!! Afterwards saying we could spend as much time as we wanted in the museum by ourselves whilst he waited outside!!! He did not make the tour interesting at all. I've been to the museum with a qualified egyptologist before and was completely awe stricken but this time the guide left me with bad memories. He couldn't even speak properly. Sack the guide!!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2008

I do not recommend doing this with a paid tour. You can get to the museum easily by taxi by yourself. The tour guide was not necessary at all because if you know how to read English then you can take your time and look at everything just fine.

From USD $ 46.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message