4.5 star rating: Recommended 156 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:  6 - 8 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 156 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Overall, this is really a great one day tour. My tour guide Karam was really knowledgable and given I was alone with him all day, I felt really safe and comfortable. He was also a great photographer. I was taken to the perfume factory and the papyrus institute ad hoc and since I was alone I felt a little obliged to buy something. The perfume place wasn't worth it but the papyrus place was. The only advice I would give is to try to find a small group tour. Being alone seemed like the only option, but it just would have been more fun to share it with others. For example, I went into the pyramid alone, the camel ride alone, the perfume place, lunch, etc. So if you can find a group, join in. The museum was the only part where I really appreciated the private tour because it was just so interesting and I had so many questions. Brilliant part of the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This is a good choice for a day excursion as it includes the main sites. Our guide was very informative and spoke clear and concise English. As the tour was private, you weren't corralled around like livestock.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Noah was great. No need for perfume shop really. But everything was just as we wanted.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

great tour guide, very professional and honest. told us not to go to the markets as they are too dangerous. Perhaps remove this from the tours?

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Was there during the ramadan and just a year after the revolution, tourism is still not where it used to be. The tour was great!!! There was no crowd, i could take close-up pictures from everything without fighting with other tourists for the right spot. Can recommend Egypt and this tour for anyone. I felt safe all along. Well u can't avoid the many sellers trying to sell u stuff...especially when there are only a few tourists around. The guide was very knowledgeable, shared a lot of background information.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Guide Faoud excellent, helpful and knowledgable. Pyramids and egyptian museum both stunning. Driver brilliant in terrifying traffic. Papyrus museum, bazaar both would have happily missed. Lunch fine. In a city as wild as Cairo you need professional guiding and this was very good

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

tour was good overall. we left our camera on the bus and they returned this to our hotel without hesitation. guide very informative. driver very professional. Only negative is we didn't like being offered " shopping visits to papyrus, perfume museum-shops".

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Excellent guide - exotic place.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

The arrangements and trip in Cairo were first class! Mr Ahmed Said met with us the day before with the information and tickets, which was very reassuring! The next day our guide - Tamer Malak arrived promptly at 9am with the minibus driver. We were the only ones on this trip so we had a very personalised tour. Tamer gave us all the information at each place we visited, and also gave us an insight into modern Egypt. He was very good company and we had a very memorable day. He also gave us good advice about visiting other places in Cairo and also on how to avoid scams I would certainly recommend Viator for the Cairo trip as we would not have been avble to do all the sights so easily in one day. After such a good experience we will certainly be looking to Viator for tours in other cities abroad. Barbara Stevenson November 2010

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Excellent organisation and very knowledgeable tour operators. Pick-up and transportation always on-time and well organised. Sometimes a bit rushed. The places that tour guides take you during or after tours for "shopping" was nothing for us.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Very good tour and the guide was enthusiastic and knowledgable. He was also perceptive about our needs and tailored the tour accordingly. If you are into Egypt, we would strongly recommend it- and we saw Leonardo Di Caprio at the museum!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Overall this was an excellent day out. I can't imagine how else we would have seen so much in our one day in Cairo. Best features: 1) It's a private tour, so you can go at your own pace. My husband got Pharoah's Revenge and we were able to stop regularly for him and skipped the bazaar at the end of the day. 2) You see all of the best sights and even the stores they take you to are interesting and part of Egypt. The perfume stores was nice and cool and you get a free drink. The papyrus institute really interesting and you can watch them make papyrus. Worst aspects: 1) Your tour guide makes his money from commissions. We got suckered on the camel ride after our tour guide assured us of a great deal from the "government backed camel operators". $150 for 20 minutes on a camel is ABSURD!!! 2) You're not getting an expert like they say. I asked two simple questions and the tour guide answered both of them wrong. They are only trained to make their speeches and don't know much about Egypt outside of that. I am only annoyed about that because he answered them like he knew what he was talking about and he wasn't even close. Recommendations: Be firm about how you want to spend your day. If you want to leave a shop, tell them and they have to take you. You'll want the extra time at the museum, which we were rushed through, but we insisted on more time and got it. Also, go to the bazaar. They will try to take you to somewhere else where they get commission, but the bazaar is the famous place to see.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The Tour Guide was very knowledgeable, very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. They were very accommodating and provided a comfortable car for the tour. This is a private one-on-one tour with your Guide so the attention is very individualized, you are not just another face in the crowd. Well worth the price!!! Be aware that in Egypt Tips are expected by everyone for nearly everything. This tour provided a separate tour guide and driver for the day tour, so the price of a tour package can be considerably higher than the purchase price. I would recommend this company, but request a Tour Guide that can also drive to save money on Tips. Also be aware that Lunch or dinner does NOT include ANYTHING to drink. All drinks including water are extra and quite pricey. 11.00 plus tip for 1 beer and 1 cup of instant coffee, all drinks WaterBeerSoda are the same price. This has nothing to do with your Tour Company however, it All meal packages regardless of tour company seem to work this way. Also, some activities like Entrance inside the pyramids is extra and must be paid for when you get to the pyramids. Research well before you go or you may be surprised how more the trip cost than you plan for based on published prices. Compared to other vacation and tourist destinations around the world, Egypt is quite expensive. But again this has nothing to do with the Tour Company.

Jennifer M
United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

My guide was on time, contacted me before picking me up, and was VERY knowledgeable. The car was clean, provided water, and made ease of movement around the city safely.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

It was great and paid for it's self a 100 times over. Very accomadatingand the guide also watched out for us when we were getting harassed buy the peddlers. Worth it!

James S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Excellent way to sightsee when you have only a short time in Cairo. Far better than joining a coach tour, and the guide was extremely knowledgeable. Small point is that the tour should end after the Sphinx!

Christine H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

A well planned and thoroughly enjoyable tour. Being able to walk straight through the queues at the museum was a bonus!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

It is a must for any efficient traveller to get a private driver and guide while visiting Egypt. And especially in Cairo. Our guide, although young, was very well learned in ancient Egyptian history. Her enthousiasm was a real charm! Our driver was fabulous for he drove us calmly trough all traffic and chaos. The huge advantage is that you lose no time. Your driver brings you close up to all your visiting points and waits for you to be finished.

Audrey-Ann K
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Definitely a highlight! The idea of seeing the pyramids may have been slightly bigger than seeing them in reality, but none-the-less, this is something that should be done. It was a great day out with all the space the desert provides. Our biggest gripe was the fact the tour fee we paid online didnt cover very much. There are so many additional options once you get there including going into a pyramid all the way to camel rides. We knew the extras would cost more, but it didnt feel like we got much for our intial payment....it basically covered entrance and the short rides in our car between the pyramids. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, the service was professional, especially the driver. Be warned though, there are MANY other tourists ALWAYS....EVERYWHERE!

Louise R
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Guide was knowledgable and efficient.

Irene O
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The flexibility of the private tour was great, it suited our needs very well. The tour guide was excellent, very knowledgable and was happy to adapt the tour to what we wanted to do.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Our tour guide was great. He was very knowledgeable about the pyramids and the museum, let us go at our own pace and ask a hundred questions and took the silly tourist pictures of us, which we loved. Plus he was enjoyable to hang out with for a day unlike some other tour guides from another organization. My only criticism was with the time for the bazaar - there was a very short window to visit it because it was obvious that the other shopping stops involved some sort of kickback and the bazaar with cheaper prices did not.

Michael R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Very much enjoyed the private tour - a minivan, guide and driver to myself for the day - well worth the money. The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, spoke excellent English and comes highly recommended.

Zoran J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

A very good tour! If you are exploring Cairo using a tour guide this is the way to do it, as it was personal and not in a large group! The tour guide was professional and well educated and also had a great sense of humor. Although the tour had set places to visit, the guide did try to explore more sites, not just the one on the itinerary. Well done!

Niamh O
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Booked the tour and was impressed that they rang me to confirm my attendance. I wanted to see as much of Cairo as I could as I only had one day. We went to the museum first; I liked that we were given a tour where things were explained but also given time to ourselves to explore things we wanted to see. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and spoke excellent English. Unfortunately, I had to cut my tour short without seeing the pyramids as I became ill; not the fault of the tour but merely the heat and exhaustion, and I was looked after very well. They even rang my hotel a few hours later to make sure I was OK and to ask if I needed a doctor. Pity I didn't get to finish the tour but would definitely recommend it to others.

From USD $ 78.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message