Viewing All 169 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Andrew D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

I did 2 trips with Viator and absolutely loved it. The tour guide was knowledgeable and he answered all my questions. I recommend this to anyone who loves history!

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

There is so much to see you have to have a guide, and the guide we had was great! You may need more time at the Khan & the museum, but it's a good intro to Giza and the pyramids, and then you can go back on your own.

Carol M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

Superb trip, well organised and well worth booking. We booked a private tour and expected just the tour guide, we were most surprised that we had a driver as well, this ensured that the tour guide gave us his undivided attention. His knowledge was admirable, and nothing was too much trouble for him. The driver was very competent Cairo is extremely busy!!! We felt very safe and would recommend Viator to our family and friends.

Khalid Y

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had a great tour of the Pyramids and Egyptian Museum and we thoroughly enjoyed both. Our guide was professional. Disappointingly, we were dropped off in the Khan El Khalili bazaar without the guide and picked up an hour later with driver pushing us to return sooner as he had another appointment,

Carolynn S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

My driver was great, and the tour guide was good too. I really enjoyed visiting the pyramids, which then I would have given this 5 stars.

I wasn't bugged by the market people as much as I felt very pressured by my tour guide to buy from different markets. It felt very odd. Sadly, I would have definitely 5 starred this, if it weren't for that.

Alfredo R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend this tour, very interesting, the guide was amazing. The only bad thing is that they took us to a papyrus shop tourist trap where they practically force you to buy some of their stuff, that was very disappointing.

Freya I

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was well organised and the guide was very knowledgeable of The history of the pyramids and museum. The museum is definitely worth seeing with a guide, as there's lots to see, but difficult to know where to go! The bazaar was also worthwhile to see, as getting to know the city.

Michelle T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a fantastic experience. Our Egyptologist catered to the group and adapted the tour to suit us. He was so knowledgeable and responded to all of our questions. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone staying in Cairo.

Dee United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Roula K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Ms Nevine was very friendly and kind!
I enjoyed it a lot !!

Notre guide Mme Nevine était très aimable et attentionné !
J'ai beaucoup apprécié le tour!!

Jason M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good tour guide and the tour pretty much covers everything you want to see in Cairo.

Ahmad S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

My fiance and I had the same tour guide/driver from our other scheduled tours. Our guide was very flexible and he was great. We went to the bazaar days before this tour. We asked to skip the bazaar and have shisha and tea with the locals in Cairo after lunch. The bazaar is a nice place with tons of neat things to buy. Learn to haggle quickly! Please note that it is full of people all the time and a lot of tight spaces. I found the section nearest to the cafes and mosque to be more my taste. It was a little less hectic. And the men didn't stare at my fiance as much as the other sections. Anyways, back to the tour. We met at the lobby of our hotel at 9:00 AM and headed over to the pyramids and sphinx. Words can't describe this experience. The pyramids are worth the price of this tour alone. Afterwards our guide took us to an art store where everything is hand drawn on papyrus. They gave us beverages and showed us how the papyrus paper is made. Then we were given time to shop around (no obligations). Next we had lunch in a beautiful garden. The food was amazing. After lunch our driver found a cafe to go to for tea and shisha. They refused to serve my fiance because she was a female. We left and headed to the museum to continue our tour. We drove an hour in traffic to get there. My fiance realized she left her purse at the cafe. We turned the car around and made the trip back to retrieve her purse--and we did with everything still in it!! We were nearing the end of the tour (museum closed at 4:00 PM). We headed back to the hotel and our guide handed me a few hundred Pounds for the cost of the museum entrance since we couldn't go. I tipped 100LE (Pounds) to the guide and 50LE to the driver for each our our tours. I tipped them that plus I split whatever he handed to me between them for being so kind to us. They made us feel welcome in their country and went out of their way to make this trip worth the money we paid for it. I wish I can remember his name. Thank you.

David S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The trip, albeit a nervous one considering the present circumstances in the country, was first class. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. He organised the transport with a minimum of fuss.

Tania M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Overall, this is really a great one day tour. My tour guide Karam was really knowledgable and given I was alone with him all day, I felt really safe and comfortable. He was also a great photographer. I was taken to the perfume factory and the papyrus institute ad hoc and since I was alone I felt a little obliged to buy something. The perfume place wasn't worth it but the papyrus place was. The only advice I would give is to try to find a small group tour. Being alone seemed like the only option, but it just would have been more fun to share it with others. For example, I went into the pyramid alone, the camel ride alone, the perfume place, lunch, etc. So if you can find a group, join in. The museum was the only part where I really appreciated the private tour because it was just so interesting and I had so many questions. Brilliant part of the tour.

Robert P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This is a good choice for a day excursion as it includes the main sites. Our guide was very informative and spoke clear and concise English. As the tour was private, you weren't corralled around like livestock.

John

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Noah was great. No need for perfume shop really. But everything was just as we wanted.

Luke W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

great tour guide, very professional and honest. told us not to go to the markets as they are too dangerous. Perhaps remove this from the tours?

Emese S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Was there during the ramadan and just a year after the revolution, tourism is still not where it used to be. The tour was great!!! There was no crowd, i could take close-up pictures from everything without fighting with other tourists for the right spot. Can recommend Egypt and this tour for anyone. I felt safe all along. Well u can't avoid the many sellers trying to sell u stuff...especially when there are only a few tourists around. The guide was very knowledgeable, shared a lot of background information.

James E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Guide Faoud excellent, helpful and knowledgable. Pyramids and egyptian museum both stunning. Driver brilliant in terrifying traffic. Papyrus museum, bazaar both would have happily missed. Lunch fine. In a city as wild as Cairo you need professional guiding and this was very good

Beth V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

tour was good overall. we left our camera on the bus and they returned this to our hotel without hesitation. guide very informative. driver very professional. Only negative is we didn't like being offered " shopping visits to papyrus, perfume museum-shops".

Krishnan ...  Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Excellent guide - exotic place.

Barbara S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

The arrangements and trip in Cairo were first class! Mr Ahmed Said met with us the day before with the information and tickets, which was very reassuring! The next day our guide - Tamer Malak arrived promptly at 9am with the minibus driver. We were the only ones on this trip so we had a very personalised tour. Tamer gave us all the information at each place we visited, and also gave us an insight into modern Egypt. He was very good company and we had a very memorable day. He also gave us good advice about visiting other places in Cairo and also on how to avoid scams I would certainly recommend Viator for the Cairo trip as we would not have been avble to do all the sights so easily in one day. After such a good experience we will certainly be looking to Viator for tours in other cities abroad. Barbara Stevenson November 2010

Klaus K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Excellent organisation and very knowledgeable tour operators. Pick-up and transportation always on-time and well organised. Sometimes a bit rushed. The places that tour guides take you during or after tours for "shopping" was nothing for us.

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Very good tour and the guide was enthusiastic and knowledgable. He was also perceptive about our needs and tailored the tour accordingly. If you are into Egypt, we would strongly recommend it- and we saw Leonardo Di Caprio at the museum!

Graeme V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Overall this was an excellent day out. I can't imagine how else we would have seen so much in our one day in Cairo. Best features: 1) It's a private tour, so you can go at your own pace. My husband got Pharoah's Revenge and we were able to stop regularly for him and skipped the bazaar at the end of the day. 2) You see all of the best sights and even the stores they take you to are interesting and part of Egypt. The perfume stores was nice and cool and you get a free drink. The papyrus institute really interesting and you can watch them make papyrus. Worst aspects: 1) Your tour guide makes his money from commissions. We got suckered on the camel ride after our tour guide assured us of a great deal from the "government backed camel operators". $150 for 20 minutes on a camel is ABSURD!!! 2) You're not getting an expert like they say. I asked two simple questions and the tour guide answered both of them wrong. They are only trained to make their speeches and don't know much about Egypt outside of that. I am only annoyed about that because he answered them like he knew what he was talking about and he wasn't even close. Recommendations: Be firm about how you want to spend your day. If you want to leave a shop, tell them and they have to take you. You'll want the extra time at the museum, which we were rushed through, but we insisted on more time and got it. Also, go to the bazaar. They will try to take you to somewhere else where they get commission, but the bazaar is the famous place to see.

Viewing 5 of 7

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 69.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message