Viewing All 51 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Desmond L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Both the guide and driver were excellent. Her English was excellent and she was really helpful and had a pleasant disposition. Comfortable transport and plenty of space for the 6 of us.

Joseph C Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour I had was fantastic. To see the sights and the info that my Egyptologist provided, it was more than worth it. No trip to Cairo or surrounding area is worth it without going on this trip. Very well priced too compared to some other not so good companies!!

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

The tour leader was very helpful and showed great initiative. Transportation was efficient and the guide was extremely knowledgeable and flexible. All in all it was a very memorable experience.

MariaIsabel H p

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyed

Alexis B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The missing star has nothing to do with the tour company (South Sinai Tours), which was fantastic, and more to do with the fact that Memphis can probably be skipped (other than a few statues of Ramses II, there's really nothing there but souvenir stands and an alabaster sphinx surrounded by scaffolding). Saqqara is wonderful, and the tour guide taught me all about the history, and pointed out his favorite frescoes. (I also added Dahshur, which I would highly recommend - the pyramids are amazing, and the lack of crowds are even better!)

john paul m

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Guide was quite informative. He didn't just 'leave' you and do your own thing, but was there 90% of the time

Patrick S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

A good experience

PETER B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

A must do tour. It was well organised and again our guide Henry was most informative. Sakkara and Memphis are well worth a visit. The tour takes one out into the Delta countryside which is a pleasant contrast to the busy chaos of Cairo.

Michael S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

A great small trip out of the city and into more history of Egypt! Guide was very knowlegable and friendly! Highly recommend this tour!

Renato DR USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Good experience.Knowledgable guide.

Heather H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This was a very interesting tour but I hoped they had included Dashur as well since there really isn't THAT much to see in Memphis. But our tour guide really made the trip for us. She was informative, educated and accomodating in every way. We had a great time with her and she was a delite!!!

Martin B United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The trip that we took was good, although given how relatively little there was as Memphis I wish we'd been given the opportunity to spend more time at Sakkara. There was some pressure put on us to go to a "carpet school" and a resuaratnt for lunch, although we had made it very clear from the outset that we didn't want to do these additional activities.

Giorgio B Brazil

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

We had a great guide who explained the history of the visited places in good English. The van was a comfortable one. They were punctual. Be prepared to face a chaotic and jammed traffic.

Robert S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Entrance inside is free, but be prepared to tip the old man if you want to get out.

Brian B United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Good guide to Memphis and step pyramid - too keen to get us into sales outlets.

LISA L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Very good tour with a very informative guide who made us feel very comfortable, although I think we could have spent a bit more time at Memphis.

Benoit R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Fun guide!

Surath S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Much less crowded than Giza, but Darsher is probably more interesting.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff. Willing to help in everything you need. Really enjoyed tour.

Jennifer L

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Sakkara is an amazing place, the very first pyramid built in Egypt. We loved the place, and the trip. Memphis was also interesting. However, our guide didn't seem to know all that much (our 9 year old, who was obsessed with Egypt, had told us everything our guide told us), and wasn't all that helpful. I imagine it depends on the guide how good a tour you get. Some guides are probably heaps better.

Gregory J Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Sakkara worth seeing with a good guide. Memphis is not worth seeing its basically a field with a couple of nice statues in it.

Tracie O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Our destination was wonderful but unfortunately our guide spoiled the experience. I didn't get time to take photos or footage. Our guide forged ahead, only 1 of the 3 of us could keep up. Consequently I missed lots of information and eventually had to ask him to slow down. I felt very angry with him.

Marko P Czech Republic

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Memphis and Sakkara alone are really not worth a private tour - you will spend on each for like 15 minutes and driving to them 2 hours. Tour started nice the guide was funny and promised to tell additional info on other practical stuff. When I said that I did not want to go to the papyrus shop the attitude changed. Talk in English stopped and she started chatting in Arabic with the driver. Also on sights she just automatically explained everything in the shortest time possible and gave me "free time" to wonder around myself. She asked about the papyrus shop about 10 times more. The only time she smiled again was when I gave her a good - and an undeserved - tip ath the end of the tour. The downside in Egypt is the unbelieveable hassling and conning of tourists. Therefore you will need a guide and a driver even if it is expensive - otherwise you WILL end up spending even more. If I was the tourist minister of Egypt I would stop the con artists and fake guides entering these historical sights. They give Egypt a bad name. After 3 days I was completely digusted in the tipping and hassling and wanted to go home - and I have been to many places. A small bribery to a tourist police will get you enter areas only archeologists should get in. Before anything changes you may want to use the services offered here.

Julie T USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

We had the same guide as our Giza Pyramids tour , which was nice... but there wasn't a whole lot to see. If you had to choose this or Giza, I would pick Giza. I'm glad we didn't do both on the same day either. We went to a rug making school afterwards, but we could have done without.

Diana T USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

It was an interesting location if you can't get to Luxor, but definitely not a must do. If you want to see the pyramid, probably better to take a cab than pay for a driver and tour guide.

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 48.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI12

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message