4.5 star rating: Recommended 44 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cairo, Egypt
  • Duration:  3 - 4 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 44 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

We had a great guide who explained the history of the visited places in good English. The van was a comfortable one. They were punctual. Be prepared to face a chaotic and jammed traffic.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Entrance inside is free, but be prepared to tip the old man if you want to get out.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Good guide to Memphis and step pyramid - too keen to get us into sales outlets.

LISA L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Very good tour with a very informative guide who made us feel very comfortable, although I think we could have spent a bit more time at Memphis.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Fun guide!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Much less crowded than Giza, but Darsher is probably more interesting.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff. Willing to help in everything you need. Really enjoyed tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Sakkara is an amazing place, the very first pyramid built in Egypt. We loved the place, and the trip. Memphis was also interesting. However, our guide didn't seem to know all that much (our 9 year old, who was obsessed with Egypt, had told us everything our guide told us), and wasn't all that helpful. I imagine it depends on the guide how good a tour you get. Some guides are probably heaps better.

Gregory J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Sakkara worth seeing with a good guide. Memphis is not worth seeing its basically a field with a couple of nice statues in it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Our destination was wonderful but unfortunately our guide spoiled the experience. I didn't get time to take photos or footage. Our guide forged ahead, only 1 of the 3 of us could keep up. Consequently I missed lots of information and eventually had to ask him to slow down. I felt very angry with him.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Memphis and Sakkara alone are really not worth a private tour - you will spend on each for like 15 minutes and driving to them 2 hours. Tour started nice the guide was funny and promised to tell additional info on other practical stuff. When I said that I did not want to go to the papyrus shop the attitude changed. Talk in English stopped and she started chatting in Arabic with the driver. Also on sights she just automatically explained everything in the shortest time possible and gave me "free time" to wonder around myself. She asked about the papyrus shop about 10 times more. The only time she smiled again was when I gave her a good - and an undeserved - tip ath the end of the tour. The downside in Egypt is the unbelieveable hassling and conning of tourists. Therefore you will need a guide and a driver even if it is expensive - otherwise you WILL end up spending even more. If I was the tourist minister of Egypt I would stop the con artists and fake guides entering these historical sights. They give Egypt a bad name. After 3 days I was completely digusted in the tipping and hassling and wanted to go home - and I have been to many places. A small bribery to a tourist police will get you enter areas only archeologists should get in. Before anything changes you may want to use the services offered here.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

We had the same guide as our Giza Pyramids tour , which was nice... but there wasn't a whole lot to see. If you had to choose this or Giza, I would pick Giza. I'm glad we didn't do both on the same day either. We went to a rug making school afterwards, but we could have done without.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

It was an interesting location if you can't get to Luxor, but definitely not a must do. If you want to see the pyramid, probably better to take a cab than pay for a driver and tour guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2009

Much cheaper to just take a cab. Even with the guide we were hassled to buy stuff. At the end of the day, I asked 3 times to go to my hotel. Each time I was refused, only to visit a papyrus shop and glass blowing shop. I felt like I was being held hostage. Again, the driver and guide, each needing to be tipped.

From USD $ 54.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124CAI12

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message