3.5 star rating: Worth doing 49 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Montreal, Canada
  • Duration:  1 hour or 1.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Montreal Historic Discoverers Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 49 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The boat was comfortable and spacious. The tour was a good introduction to the city.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Fairly enjoyable, but the weather was dire and the acoustics were not very clear so I couldn't always hear the guide's explanations. Otherwise, interesting to hear about the history of the river, canal and port of Montreal.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Sailed for short distance mostly saw container terminal probably wouldnot do it again,Montreal harbour is very run down and boring.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The cruise was okay. It was a bit slow and I guess I was expecting the cruise would cover more distance/sights because it was an 1.5 hour long, but it maybe the size of the boat was a limitation for speed?? It was neat to hear about history of the city though.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

My guest thoroughly enjoyed this cruise and found it very informative

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We enjoyed the cruise although very windy on the return trip. We were on the top deck and it was difficult to hear the tour guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

everything was good.but we bought ticket from the website and we we had to show them digital ticket to took our ticket but ticket budget didn't accept the picture of our ticket . at last one of the ticket budget person help us and give our tickets .

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

was okay,

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Bad start to the Montreal Historic Discoverers Cruise! Viator's description of the tour indicates that you will be aboard the CAVALIER MAXIM meeting with a historical character while cruising. Viator also indicated that there would be a selection of food including tortillas, subs, juices, cookies or muffins. We were put on a much smaller touring boat that was dwarfed by the mentioned CAVALIER MAXIM. It was a decent river tour but our anticipation of sailing on the CAVALIER MAXIM and being switched to a much smaller craft was very disappointing. Nothing can compare the two crafts. Neither my husband no myself saw any historical character on board making the trip less exciting. We have been on other historical river cruise tours where the character narrated the entire tour giving it the feel of going back in time. As far as the availability of food goes, I am a diabetic and planned my lunch on board. The only food we saw was drinks and chips. This was a disappointing trip from Viator being that we have always used them for our travels in or out of the USA. The tour that we did wind up on was nice but would have been better if we were on the actual boat mentioned on Viator's website. The enormity of the CAVALIER MAXIM would have made the trip much more exciting and probably would have also solved the problem of not having the historical character and food choices. I hope Viator clears this up.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Learnt a lot

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Not the best day for it. A boat cruise on the st lawrence

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

I expected a lot more to see going through the river, but not much to see. The guide is informative but might not be worth it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

This cruise was not exactly what we expected -- not much to see on the river. The staff was very helpful and courteous and overall a relaxing time to talk with friends.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

It was ok.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

Not what I expected and the windy,cold weather did not help. Service at the snack bar was extremely slow as only 2 attendants for the entire boat!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

First of all, I was never notified that the dock site had been changed. Tour guide was not good. The views were great but the tour was just okay.

SERGEY K
Russian Federation

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2010

Nice time spent on board, but nothing interesting.

Eva C
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

A pleasant trip, especially in the good weather as we had. The guide commentator was knowledgeable but a little snooty, his comments in French were much more detailed than the ones in English, and his English could have been better! There should be a taxi or shuttle service from the dock to the cities major hotels down town after the trip. We had the booth call a taxi but it took 35 minutes for it to come, and there is no unambiguous meeting place.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The people were friendly. The remote did not work. The area was not the greatest, signs were up stating not to leave anything in sight in your car. The door lock did not work. The snack machines were mostly empty. The toilet rocked. The room was sufficiently clean.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

Cruise was great, but the booking experience was terrible!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2009

Overpriced.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

Confusion as to where you pick up the boat, and then really not a lot of information given.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

The guide was very good and informative, but for the money I don't think it was that good. The main part of the boat was closed, which was the main indoor part, and on a very hot day there was no shade and we were told no way we could sit inside. Very unsatisfactory on a day that was peaking at 35 degrees, and there were children on the boat that could have done with shade.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2009

We paid for 11/2 hrs and were given only hour cruise.

Special Offer

From USD $ 26.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3571M_GUIDED

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message