Insider's Guide to Cancun

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 34 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:60 minutes (approx.)

Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

Read what other travelers think about the Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 34 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

This was amazing. Absolutely breathtaking!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

I wish there had been more one-on-one time with the dolphins, but overall I was very happy with my experience. It was something I had always wanted to do, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The best experience in Isla Mujeres is by far swimming with the Dolphins! The buffe is very good, swimming with the sharks isnt really special as they are shy and stay at the bottom making very difficult for us to actually see them! I went on the boat included on the tour to the centre of the Island after my swim. You have 1 hr to rent a golf car to get around the Island which, I did but didnt think anything special to see. If staying in the centre all you have is again the usual souveniers shops! Swimming with the Dolphin was trully worth the trip there! They are gentle and strong! Any concerns I had about them living in an enclosed area and being trained for our entertainement were dissipated when I saw how Carlos our Dolphin trainer loved, cared and respected them! I will never forget being kissed, pushed, launched in the air and such close encouter with these amazing creatures!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

You take turns with about 12 other people petting dolphins, feeling their teeth and taking a few pictures with them. Then you take turns doing a pair of rides with them. It is probably worth the 150 to pet the dolphins and even the extra 62 to pay for the pictures of you with dolphins, but realize that you are not really playing with them or swimming with them. If there are 12 people and you are in the water for about 50 minutes, you are spending roughly four minutes with a dolphin. It seems that the experience is centered around photo ops that will get you to spend an extra 62 and then show your pictures to others that will bring more business. One extra thing: my dolphin experience took place in the smaller pool near the shore. I was told and believe it was the same or better than because I was afforded the opportunity to see the babies up close the experience in the big swimming area, but I can't be sure. One definite benefit of being near the shore was that my girlfriend was able to watch from a nearby balcony the V.I.P. area, which also costs 99.
We ended up staying for a while and trying the free buffets. They were pretty good but not equal with our all-inclusive hotel. There was also a nice area to lay out and look at the sea and some interesting open-faced rooms with chairs to sit in the shade and overlook the ocean. It was 40 for the entire day in addition to the VIP costs but we were leaving in an hour so we didn't do it.
My Royal Swim level also afforded me a swim above nurse sharks. I did this at 3 p.m. and was the only swimmer. The sharks were roughly 15 feet below me and were all huddled in a corner. Perhaps an earlier swim would have allowed me to see them swimming around.
There were boats at 3:30 and 5:30 leaving for Cancun. So after my 10 p.m. Dolphin Swim, we had to find something else to do for a while.

Visited April 2015

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Swimming with the dolphins was amazing! Would recommend to anyone!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely great! Even the foot push was no problem! Only bad thing was that they asked for USD120 for the pictures which is ridiculous!! They would make better money with selling more for a good price - most of the people didn't buy any!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

2 elements to this product.

1. Dolphin swim is excellent, cannot fault this experience.

2. The cost paid on the tour is really only the start, you have to pay an extreme amount for photos, and doing other activities costs a lot too. Generally speaking i would say you are up for almost 60% more than the tour quoted.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

The royal dolphing swim was amazing! It was challenging however to get to the island - it didn't say anywhere that there was a specific place to check in to catch the ferry and we ended up having to reschedule for the next day. Highly worth the extra effort though - the people were so nice and the dolphins were so fun an amazing! 50 minute in the water with them is the most I had found - lots of hands on time!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

Had a great time on my tour. Ferry ride was great. Comfortable, lots of free drinks. The Dolphin Swim is located in its own area on Isla De Mujeres, which was nice. Shark swim was a joke. Sharks are in a tank and you go in the ocean to see the sharks below you, with a plexi-glass, between you and the sharks, but the glass is so fogged up from the salt water, that you can't see the sharks at all! I would say, go to Xel-Ha for the day and do the dolphin swim there! But this was a decent trip. It was good for a one time thing.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 168.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3911CAN_01


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message