4.5 star rating: Recommended 788 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 788 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour of Chichen Itza! Our tour guide was very enthusiastic and was clearly proud of the area's culture and heritage. He knew a lot of random tidbits of information that was impressive. He spoke a lot on the bus ride. Our group felt bad at times because we had a late night the night before and most of us slept majority of the bus ride, but those that listened to him loved it! The pick up and drop off at hotel was seamless.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An excellent tour! The whole day was very entertaining and our guide was amazing. Chichen Itza was breathaking and it was also a special treat to visit the sink hole to go for a swim. My wife and I did this while honeymooning and it was by far one of our favorites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! Organization was impeccable! Our guides were very knowledgeable and fun. Great deal for the price we payed. I would recommend this tour to everybody!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I took the Viator tour to Chichén Itzá from Cancun during the last week of January 2015. The bus arrived at my hotel at 7:50 a.m. as promised. I think I was supposed to have confirmed my tour somehow a couple of days before to get my pick up time, but I didn’t know how. Instead I used the website Customer Care contact form and heard back very quickly with the pickup time.

So after getting everyone on board, the tour guide (Antonio, I believe) explained that we would be going to the cenote first. While at the cenote, the guide and driver leave to pick up the Chichén Itzá tickets.

The cenote we went to was Ik Kil. It is really lovely and the water is great. To get to the water, you have to walk down a lot of steps. There are lockers you can rent (30 pesos I believe) and a changing room. There is also a few places to buy gifts. People ask if you want to buy something but nobody is pushy.

Then off to the lunch place just down the road. It was a buffet and I really enjoyed the food. The grounds that the restaurant are on is very nice. Have some small bills on hand for tips to the servers.

Then off to Chichén Itzá. This was really fabulous. The tour guide (our tour was in Spanish and English) was very interesting and knowledgeable. His portion of the tour was about 1.5 hours and then you are free to walk about for another hour or so. There are many opportunities for photos and souvenir buying if that is your thing.

On the trip home, they drop off in the hotel zone in the same order they picked up. So if you were first on in the hotel zone, you will be first off.

William W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

First off, Viator had the best price I found for this trip! There only ended up being 8 of us on our trip to Chichen Itza- I think it in part because it was a bit of a cooler day in January and a bit rainy and overcast. I know thats not good for the company but we sure enjoyed having a smaller group. Our guide was Miguel and our driver was Antonio and they were both very friendly and professional, funny and full of knowledge! We really enjoyed our trip. After about a 2 hour bus ride through the jungle- not much to look at bring a book!- we stopped at the Ik-kil cenote. We were a bit concerned we may not want to swim in it as it was not super hot that day- but as this was a once in a lifetime experience we decided to anyways and Im glad we did- the water was very refreshing and cool but not that cold. It was truly marvelous to swim in the cenote- to float on my back and look up to the sky through the hole above- I will never forget it. Luckily it wasnt too crowded when we got there but it did start getting crowded as we left. We had lunch after at a beautiful property- it was buffet style but the food was EXCELLENT- the best being pork pibil with fresh corn tortillas. We were entertained by some locals performing a traditional dance, it was just lovely! Feeling quite satisfied, we headed to Chichen Itza where our group bypassed the lines and walked right in. Miguel spent a couple of hours with us, he was a wealth of information. We then had an hour to walk around and take pictures. Dont be afraid of the almost demonic like noise- its just a jaguar whistle the locals are trying to sell you! Bring some money because there are lots of locals selling beautiful hand made items. On the ride home it was dark and most people slept. I was wide a wake and wanted to read but the overhead lights do not work on the bus. So if youre a reader like me- bring a flashlight! Overall it was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing. Hugo, our English tour guide, was very knowledgeable on the history and culture of everything relating to Chichen Itza. We enjoyed every minute of it. Our driver Israel and another tour guide, Anthonio were wonderful as well.Highly recommended and two thumbs up!Worth every cent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

2 adults and one child 10. Last hotel to be picked up by bus at our hotel on the north end of Cancuns Hotel Zone at 8:00 am. Met up with 2 other vans from Playa del Carmen and they joined the bus before we hit the toll road. Hugo was able to orient us in English and also in Spanish/Portuguese for the guests from Brazil. Stop at Ik Kil Cenote. I really didnt know what this would entail, but it was an unexpected surprise. Bring your swim suit and towel. Even if you dont swim, its fun to look at and walk around. Hugo was really talking up the Mayan necklaces and honey liquor that were sold there but I wasnt impressed.

On to lunch at a buffet style restaurant. Food its okay is included but not drinks. You are not allowed to bring in your own drinks or water. Only cash and they will take USD but better deal if you use pesos. Staff and dancers put out baskets for tips.

On to Chichen Itza. Group split into english speaking and Spanish/Portuguese speaking. We spent at least 2 hours and Hugo gave us great tour. Very informative. Its an amazing site. We were given time after to explore and look at the vast amount of vendors that are selling their wares not authentic according to Hugo. Dropped off at our hotel around 8:00 pm. Long day but well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience and worth the day trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Hugo was an amazing tour guide, he made the tour so much better. I really enjoyed this tour and learnt so much about the Mayans. We were picked up right on time from our hotel and made our way to the Cenote for a swim and also shop. I picked up the most amazing personalised silver necklaces. The it was lunch before making our way to Chichen Itza in the afternoon, there wasn't many people there and we missed the heat of the day. It was a great day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was one of our highlights! The guides were so great and informative, plus they made it fun! I recommend this tour! And the ruins were just incredible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. Hugo was very well informed and accommodated both English and Spanish equally. It was a long day, but it went pretty fast. I have used Viator many times and will continue to use and recommend your services. Have never been disappointed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is the tour you want to go on. The staff is knowledgeable, courteous, and funny. Had a great time at Chichen Itza. We would go again if ever in the Cancun area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a great tour and I highly recommend it!

Special Offer
$74.99 Save $5.00

From USD $ 69.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206CHI_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message