• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 645 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 645 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The bus was very comfortable and roomy. The staff and guides were very knowledgeable and informative. My family and I had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We stayed at the Royal Solaris and we were the second stop for pick up. Once everyone was on the coach bus Guadalupe started chatting with us and explaining our day to us in detail. She's extremely nice and very knowledgable of the Mayan culture. The centre and chichen itza were awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had an awesome time! Hugo, our tour guide did an excellent job! Love that guy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Even though the tour takes about 12 hrs. It felt quick, tour guide Karla was very pleasant and the cenote and side of chichen itza was amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What a great experience. My only tour complaint was that everything was too rushed, but that's to be expected when traveling with a tour group, right? Hugo was very informative and the bus driver's skills were amazing. He was a great driver and got that bus in hotels for pick-ups that I wouldn't have thought he could.We rode an hour, stopped for a potty break, and then stopped at the cenote for a swim that was my favorite part of the whole trip!! It was GORGEOUS and refreshing. Be sure to take a swimsuit. They have changing rooms, showers (you must shower before entering), and lockers to rent while you're there. Don't dally with the vendors or you won't have enough time to swim (which is optional). This part of the trip was just too short for me and I would have loved to spent more time there. They take your picture as you enter the park and when you return, they have a bottle of "Xtabentun" with your picture, the date, the name of the cenote on it, that you can purchase without any pressure. This is an EXCELLENT memento! The buffet lunch was tasty but very busy as the buses start rolling in (btw, drinks are not included so be prepared to pay for your soda, water,etc). Chichen Itza was beautiful but very hot. Hugo did an excellent job of trying to keep us in the shade. I'm a sun worshiper but it was just too overwhelming without the ocean breeze. Although wearing a hat helps with the sun, I strongly recommend taking a small umbrella and water. The park was beautiful, the vendors were not as persistent as I had feared (they respected and accepted "No" and didn't push), and Hugo was a wealth of knowledge. I didn't really know the true history of Chichen Itza and Hugo wove the story with such passion and knowledge!! I definitely recommend this as a "must do" while visiting. The ride was long but oh my........it was well worth it!!

Steven E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had the most wonderful day and our guide driver and bar man on the coach were excellent really really looked after us.The history was very interesting and our guide was very good explaining things.So glad we chose the trip and we loved Mexico and the people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely incredible, was the highlight of our trip. From the driver, the guide to his assistant, these guys were the best. Our guide was an expert on Mayan history - we learnt so much. Its a long day - beginning around 7 or 8am and concluding about 12 hours later. The sights seen along the way are worth it alone. Its one of the wonders of the world, its a must do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was excellent. Pick up from hotel was on time and everything was as expected. We had a relaxing time swimming in the cenote and after that a delicous meal at a typical restaurant. Our tour guides Antonio and Juan Carlos tought as a lot about the Mayan culture. I highly recommend you this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guides were the best we've ever had. They were knowledgeable, caring and down to earth.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide, Hugo, was fantastic. He explained, in detail, what to expect throughout the day so it made the trip very enjoyable. He was very conscience of people's needs. The information given at Chichen Itza was told in a fashion that could be easily understood. It was a long but very enjoyable day. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone considering it. Swimming in the Cenote was my favorite!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour that is well worth the money! Tour picks you up from the hotel in the morning. It is a little bit of a drive from the Cancun hotels, so bring some sort of entertainment if you don't plan on sleeping. I think the drive was about 2hrs and 45min. The whole archeaological site is really amazing. Make sure to bring sunblock and water. Also, make sure to bring Pesos for souvenirs since the exchange rate is a little off. The tour guide (we had Carla) is full of knowledge and loves the history of the site. This is a must do!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The highlight was swimming in the cenote ( and jumping into it )! Chichen itza was great , but you have to be interested or else you'll get somewhat bored. Our tour guide, Tony, was awesome. Only problem was the bloody heat - the place had no shade so bring an umbrella, seriously. Great tour !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

this trip was excellent. i will definitely recommend this trip to friends and family.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very cool place to see! Many merchants selling goods throughout, so not only do you get to see and learn about ancient history but you also have the opportunity to purchase some really inexpensive keepsakes. Just make sure to take plenty of sunscreen, water, and single US dollars.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour was fantastic tour guide bus driver Only thing I would change is to spend more time at Chichen itza

From USD $ 69.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206CHI_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message