• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 544 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 544 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was an amazing tour! Our tour guide Hugo was extremely knowledgeable and very outgoing. You definitely get your money’s worth on this excurion. Your first stop is at a cenote (sink hole) absolutely breathtaking! The second stop is at a hacienda looking restaurant where you have authentic Mayan food for lunch. During lunch we saw Mayan dancers perform beautiful traditional dances. The last stop was Chichen itza which is completely amazing and will leave you speechless! Beautiful place to visit! I was extremely pleased with the entire excursion and will definitely be booking through Vaitor for all my future vacations!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Totally recommend this day trip! Fun way to experience the true local culture outside of the touristy Cancun hotel zone. Very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We got much more than we thought we signed up for! On our way to Chichen Itza we stopped at an incredible Cenote -- too bad I forgot my swimsuit. But I still had a great time and took stunning photos. At the entrance to the Cenote park you will find Mayan craftsmen, who will make Cartouches with Mayan symbols on them out of silver. I usually don't buy souvenirs, but I love these beautiful pendants and all the money goes directly to the native people.

Next stop was at a Mayan restaurant, which included an all-you-can eat buffet and entertainment. During lunch we saw Mayan dancers perform beautiful traditional dances. The food was very good and featured the Mayan version of pork cooked in banana leaves. The homemade corn tortillas, pico de gallo, and green salsa were do die for! Yummy! However, I would have loved to see some other traditional dishes, such as iguana or armadillo. But I'm kind of weird that way....love to try true "ethnic" foods.

Then we arrived at Chichen Itza. What a jaw dropping experience! I still remember my first glimpse of the temple through the trees. Truly awe-inspiring! I am amazed by how advanced the ancient Mayans were in terms of architecture, astrology, and their knowledge of time (their calendar is more accurate than our western one.) Our guide was great!!! Very knowledgeable, funny and entertaining. He told us all about the Mayan culture and had answers to all the questions we had. He had also brought along many photos which showed how the temple looked when the American explorer John Stevens first laid eyes on it....

The only negatives: everywhere you look are "tip" jars. Also, I wish I knew ahead of time that we would be gone 12 hours (got picked up right on time at 7 am and bus dropped us back off at 7 pm). Lastly, the many vendors at Chichen Itza were somewhat annoying.

Would definitely recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Trip was on time and great! Very knowledgeable and recommended:)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was fantastic! Money and time well spent. The tour guide, who was of Mayan decent, was outstanding. You could see how passionate he was about the culture, history, and contributions of the Mayan people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful experience. And Viator made it extraordinary.

frank t
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic Day out, After swimming in sink whole had lunch, great selection of food drinks extra. Then onto Chichen Itza and what a site. Our tour guide was a great help and was fully informed of the history that surrounds this world heritage site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The guided tour was very informative and excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great trip that included everything, I only wish we had more time at Chichen Itza. We chose this tour because 1) it included Cenote (so much fun); 2) it included admission to Chichen Itza (other tour companies also make you waste time by waiting in line to purchase your ticket!); 3) picked us up from our hotel even though our hotel was not on their list. If we were to do this over I would have wanted more time in Chichen Itza (we had 3 hours, 1 hour guided, 2 self-guided, but that isn't enough for history lovers) and we would have had a little more cash with us. Of our group of 4, only one brought any money so we had to skip on some of the better souvenirs that we saw our whole trip. Highlights from our trip: Swimming in Cenote, knowledgable bilingual guides that answered even our bizarre questions, and they split the tour into a Spanish-speaking group and an English-speaking group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was educational. Our guide Antonio was knowledgeable, had good english and a great sense of humor. The tour was a whole day event and was worth it. The bus was comfortable and service was like a first class plane ride with unlimited drinks (beer, juice and h2O).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour. Our tour guide, Antonio, was very funny and entertaining. It felt like an uncle was just showing us around town. Beautiful cenote, the water was cool and refreshing. Lunch buffet was okay, dance show was nice. Chichen Itza was better than expected. Beautful weather. Ample amount of time to ourselves. Overall, wonderful experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a super fun and knowledgable tour guide. Despite to the fact that our pick-up driver was late for 55 minutes, we had a great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Everything went like clock work. Bus on time, drive was smooth, great lunch and grounds. We were impressed with our very knowlegeable guide at Chichen Itza.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very kind guides and good lunch

Special Offer
$107.99 Save $42.20

From USD $ 65.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206CHI_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message