4.5 star rating: Recommended 772 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 772 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Everything was delivered as promised. The visit to the cenote was excellent! Everyone should bring swimming suits to dive there. Lunch was fair, nothing special. The tour at Chichén Itzá was really amazing. Our guide, Antonio, had great knowledge and sense of humor. Hats and sunscreen are a must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Thank you so much for this great trip!
Everything was right in time, as promised and our guide Antonio (in English) was amazing and made the trip especially fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour bus picked us up at our hotel at around 8:00 am. It then proceeded to pick up more guests at various hotels on the way. The trip to the site was about 1 hour 45 minutes. Our bus has a toilet, by the way. The first stop was at Ik Kil Cenote and this was the biggest surprise of the tour. The view of cenote below was breathtaking. It made you wants to run into it and dive from the steps. Don’t miss the swimming part. It was a different kind of swimming experience and you’ll definitely love it. From there, we had buffet lunch at a nearby restaurant. It was very clean and well maintained. Try out the Yucatan chicken and candied papaya. After lunch, it was time to go to Chichen Itza which was also nearby. There was a heavy traffic going to the main entrance and good thing our bus used the hotel entrance at the back reserved for tour buses. That saves us a lot of time going inside. Our guide, Antonio, gave us a very informative history of the ruins. The main attraction, of course, is the El Castillo, the Mayan pyramid. You’ll also see lots of Maya people selling variety of souvenirs inside the site. We arrived at our hotel at around 8:00 pm. The tour was well worth the time and money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a not-to-miss tour . Whole day was nicely planned out with an excellent guide , who gave us a detailed tour of the pyramid and surrounding area.
You should not miss out on taking a dip in the cenote and tasting Mexican food with some local delicacies.
Strongly recommend if you are a history buff.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A must go trip. A long day, but well worth it. Nice lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour of Chichen Itza and visit to a Cenote (swimming hole)! During a 5 day vacation in Cancun, my wife and I wanted to visit and explore Chichen Itza. Costs for the tour through operators at our hotel and referred by others were $75-100. We checked Viator on our phone from the beach and found a better price by 30% for the next day!

We had to call the tour operator that night to confirm the pick up time (7:45am). The bus was right on schedule and the tour guide called out our names when it arrived. There were several tour buses arriving at the same time so that was helpful.

The bus ride (2.5-3 hrs each way) was fine and smooth. We first went to the Cenote, a nice natural swimming hole / tourist trap. Then we went to a very cheesy restaurant / tourist trap for lunch. Then on to Chichen Itza. Our tour guide took us around for about 90 minutes to the various sites and we had about an hour on our own to explore. That was definitely enough time for the main attractions and the rest of our group made their way to the bus earlier. Then we made it home by about 8:30pm. A long day but such a cool trip!

The only negative was how much our tour guide talked on the bus ride out in the morning. For the 2.5-3 hr trip, he probably talked and repeated himself for about 1.5 hours. He then repeated everything during the actual tour. There was no reason to talk so much, so loudly, so early in the morning when most of us were trying to sleep or at least rest. The tour itself was fine, but the guide needs to wait until we get there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a good time, excellent tour guide, he spent a lot time to explain everything.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Hugo was a great tour guide! The cenote and Chichen Itza were amazing! It's a full day of activities, I highly recommend it. However, don't attend with a hangover, makes the bus trip less enjoyable. Haha. Gracias Hugo from Australia! :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It is the best experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It is a well organized tour. The tour guider (Tony?) has done a great job. The bus seems a little bit slow.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

very good. highly recommended. Had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was great. Our guide was Hugo and Vicente was our driver. They were so knowledgable and helpful with everything. Hugo's English is excellent.
We first stopped at the denote which is BEAUTIFUL and we had an hour to go swim or look around and take pictures. chichen Itza was incredible also!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Tour was excellent. I really enjoyed cenote ik kil and cichen itza; Hugo was a great tour guide. Excellent service.

Special Offer
$74.99 Save $5.00

From USD $ 69.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206CHI_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message