4.5 star rating: Recommended 894 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 894 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I took the Viator tour to Chichén Itzá from Cancun during the last week of January 2015. The bus arrived at my hotel at 7:50 a.m. as promised. I think I was supposed to have confirmed my tour somehow a couple of days before to get my pick up time, but I didn’t know how. Instead I used the website Customer Care contact form and heard back very quickly with the pickup time.

So after getting everyone on board, the tour guide (Antonio, I believe) explained that we would be going to the cenote first. While at the cenote, the guide and driver leave to pick up the Chichén Itzá tickets.

The cenote we went to was Ik Kil. It is really lovely and the water is great. To get to the water, you have to walk down a lot of steps. There are lockers you can rent (30 pesos I believe) and a changing room. There is also a few places to buy gifts. People ask if you want to buy something but nobody is pushy.

Then off to the lunch place just down the road. It was a buffet and I really enjoyed the food. The grounds that the restaurant are on is very nice. Have some small bills on hand for tips to the servers.

Then off to Chichén Itzá. This was really fabulous. The tour guide (our tour was in Spanish and English) was very interesting and knowledgeable. His portion of the tour was about 1.5 hours and then you are free to walk about for another hour or so. There are many opportunities for photos and souvenir buying if that is your thing.

On the trip home, they drop off in the hotel zone in the same order they picked up. So if you were first on in the hotel zone, you will be first off.

William W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

First off, Viator had the best price I found for this trip! There only ended up being 8 of us on our trip to Chichen Itza- I think it in part because it was a bit of a cooler day in January and a bit rainy and overcast. I know thats not good for the company but we sure enjoyed having a smaller group. Our guide was Miguel and our driver was Antonio and they were both very friendly and professional, funny and full of knowledge! We really enjoyed our trip. After about a 2 hour bus ride through the jungle- not much to look at bring a book!- we stopped at the Ik-kil cenote. We were a bit concerned we may not want to swim in it as it was not super hot that day- but as this was a once in a lifetime experience we decided to anyways and Im glad we did- the water was very refreshing and cool but not that cold. It was truly marvelous to swim in the cenote- to float on my back and look up to the sky through the hole above- I will never forget it. Luckily it wasnt too crowded when we got there but it did start getting crowded as we left. We had lunch after at a beautiful property- it was buffet style but the food was EXCELLENT- the best being pork pibil with fresh corn tortillas. We were entertained by some locals performing a traditional dance, it was just lovely! Feeling quite satisfied, we headed to Chichen Itza where our group bypassed the lines and walked right in. Miguel spent a couple of hours with us, he was a wealth of information. We then had an hour to walk around and take pictures. Dont be afraid of the almost demonic like noise- its just a jaguar whistle the locals are trying to sell you! Bring some money because there are lots of locals selling beautiful hand made items. On the ride home it was dark and most people slept. I was wide a wake and wanted to read but the overhead lights do not work on the bus. So if youre a reader like me- bring a flashlight! Overall it was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing. Hugo, our English tour guide, was very knowledgeable on the history and culture of everything relating to Chichen Itza. We enjoyed every minute of it. Our driver Israel and another tour guide, Anthonio were wonderful as well.Highly recommended and two thumbs up!Worth every cent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

2 adults and one child 10. Last hotel to be picked up by bus at our hotel on the north end of Cancuns Hotel Zone at 8:00 am. Met up with 2 other vans from Playa del Carmen and they joined the bus before we hit the toll road. Hugo was able to orient us in English and also in Spanish/Portuguese for the guests from Brazil. Stop at Ik Kil Cenote. I really didnt know what this would entail, but it was an unexpected surprise. Bring your swim suit and towel. Even if you dont swim, its fun to look at and walk around. Hugo was really talking up the Mayan necklaces and honey liquor that were sold there but I wasnt impressed.

On to lunch at a buffet style restaurant. Food its okay is included but not drinks. You are not allowed to bring in your own drinks or water. Only cash and they will take USD but better deal if you use pesos. Staff and dancers put out baskets for tips.

On to Chichen Itza. Group split into english speaking and Spanish/Portuguese speaking. We spent at least 2 hours and Hugo gave us great tour. Very informative. Its an amazing site. We were given time after to explore and look at the vast amount of vendors that are selling their wares not authentic according to Hugo. Dropped off at our hotel around 8:00 pm. Long day but well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience and worth the day trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Hugo was an amazing tour guide, he made the tour so much better. I really enjoyed this tour and learnt so much about the Mayans. We were picked up right on time from our hotel and made our way to the Cenote for a swim and also shop. I picked up the most amazing personalised silver necklaces. The it was lunch before making our way to Chichen Itza in the afternoon, there wasn't many people there and we missed the heat of the day. It was a great day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was one of our highlights! The guides were so great and informative, plus they made it fun! I recommend this tour! And the ruins were just incredible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. Hugo was very well informed and accommodated both English and Spanish equally. It was a long day, but it went pretty fast. I have used Viator many times and will continue to use and recommend your services. Have never been disappointed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is the tour you want to go on. The staff is knowledgeable, courteous, and funny. Had a great time at Chichen Itza. We would go again if ever in the Cancun area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a great tour and I highly recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My guide was wonderful......I loved this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great. Hugo was very knowledgable and funny. We saw some great sites and the free time was perfect. Just wish the drive was a bit shorter!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Hugo was an absolutely wonderful tour guide! He knows so much about the Mayans and their culture, and you could tell he really loves what he does. Ik Kil was absolutely beautiful, and we loved swimming in the cenote! Chichen Itza itself was amazing, definitely bring some water as it gets very hot there. The only down side was the length of the bus ride. They kept saying it took 2 hours, but it was really more like 3 in each direction. It was worth it though!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, Big Bang for the buck!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well organised. Very friendly and informative guide. Well done!

On the negative side, the loudspeaker system in tthe coach could be improved upon. The sound was very fuzzy and it was difficult to follow the guide's narrative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A bit of a journey from Cancun Hotels, but worth it - as the guide gave commentary along the way, and the sink hole / cenote was an amazing stop. Only small improvement , the guide said follow his umbrella to keep together - we all laughed till we saw the crowds. Was easy to get lost. But then the guide hardly put up the umbrella so hard to keep in the group. But overall, fully recommend this trip with this operator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome trip. Not rushed at all. No "shopping stops" where you get pressured into buying crap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Hugo was an amazing tour guide ! Great tour with Cenote and lunch, would def recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Everything was delivered as promised. The visit to the cenote was excellent! Everyone should bring swimming suits to dive there. Lunch was fair, nothing special. The tour at Chichén Itzá was really amazing. Our guide, Antonio, had great knowledge and sense of humor. Hats and sunscreen are a must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Thank you so much for this great trip!
Everything was right in time, as promised and our guide Antonio (in English) was amazing and made the trip especially fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour bus picked us up at our hotel at around 8:00 am. It then proceeded to pick up more guests at various hotels on the way. The trip to the site was about 1 hour 45 minutes. Our bus has a toilet, by the way. The first stop was at Ik Kil Cenote and this was the biggest surprise of the tour. The view of cenote below was breathtaking. It made you wants to run into it and dive from the steps. Don’t miss the swimming part. It was a different kind of swimming experience and you’ll definitely love it. From there, we had buffet lunch at a nearby restaurant. It was very clean and well maintained. Try out the Yucatan chicken and candied papaya. After lunch, it was time to go to Chichen Itza which was also nearby. There was a heavy traffic going to the main entrance and good thing our bus used the hotel entrance at the back reserved for tour buses. That saves us a lot of time going inside. Our guide, Antonio, gave us a very informative history of the ruins. The main attraction, of course, is the El Castillo, the Mayan pyramid. You’ll also see lots of Maya people selling variety of souvenirs inside the site. We arrived at our hotel at around 8:00 pm. The tour was well worth the time and money.

Special Offer
$74.99 Save $5.00

From USD $ 69.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206CHI_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message