4.5 star rating: Recommended 894 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 894 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a not-to-miss tour . Whole day was nicely planned out with an excellent guide , who gave us a detailed tour of the pyramid and surrounding area.
You should not miss out on taking a dip in the cenote and tasting Mexican food with some local delicacies.
Strongly recommend if you are a history buff.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A must go trip. A long day, but well worth it. Nice lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour of Chichen Itza and visit to a Cenote (swimming hole)! During a 5 day vacation in Cancun, my wife and I wanted to visit and explore Chichen Itza. Costs for the tour through operators at our hotel and referred by others were $75-100. We checked Viator on our phone from the beach and found a better price by 30% for the next day!

We had to call the tour operator that night to confirm the pick up time (7:45am). The bus was right on schedule and the tour guide called out our names when it arrived. There were several tour buses arriving at the same time so that was helpful.

The bus ride (2.5-3 hrs each way) was fine and smooth. We first went to the Cenote, a nice natural swimming hole / tourist trap. Then we went to a very cheesy restaurant / tourist trap for lunch. Then on to Chichen Itza. Our tour guide took us around for about 90 minutes to the various sites and we had about an hour on our own to explore. That was definitely enough time for the main attractions and the rest of our group made their way to the bus earlier. Then we made it home by about 8:30pm. A long day but such a cool trip!

The only negative was how much our tour guide talked on the bus ride out in the morning. For the 2.5-3 hr trip, he probably talked and repeated himself for about 1.5 hours. He then repeated everything during the actual tour. There was no reason to talk so much, so loudly, so early in the morning when most of us were trying to sleep or at least rest. The tour itself was fine, but the guide needs to wait until we get there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a good time, excellent tour guide, he spent a lot time to explain everything.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Hugo was a great tour guide! The cenote and Chichen Itza were amazing! It's a full day of activities, I highly recommend it. However, don't attend with a hangover, makes the bus trip less enjoyable. Haha. Gracias Hugo from Australia! :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It is the best experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It is a well organized tour. The tour guider (Tony?) has done a great job. The bus seems a little bit slow.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

very good. highly recommended. Had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was great. Our guide was Hugo and Vicente was our driver. They were so knowledgable and helpful with everything. Hugo's English is excellent.
We first stopped at the denote which is BEAUTIFUL and we had an hour to go swim or look around and take pictures. chichen Itza was incredible also!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Tour was excellent. I really enjoyed cenote ik kil and cichen itza; Hugo was a great tour guide. Excellent service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guide was knowledgeable and he successes to give the filling that we are in the city in the previous time

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

excellent and very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was great. Be sure to take your suit and go in the cenote. I was worried that the water would be super cold but was just cool, not cold and what an experience. To swim out to the center of the cenote and look up was amazing. Hugo was a fantastic guide we enjoyed how passionate he was about the history of the area and respecting the historical sights. We learned so much about the Mayan culture.
Lunch was ok. The only down was the driver. He was on and off the gas pedal the whole way which was sooo annoying. I wanted to ask if I could drive. :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing trip sink hole was a totally awesome experience .....please be aware that the bus ride to and fro to that place is freezing cold as the ac is blasting and you need to carry a jacket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

On time, enjoyable and efficient!! Perfect thing to book for a holiday!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was very good. Just enough time for the cenote, pyramids are amazing!! And could not find any deal that got close to this one... Only thing take a sweater for bus ride. It's freezing in the bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great guide and service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was my first experience with Viator and it was a good one. Operator accomodated to pick us up from our hotel even it was not listed at the booking time. Both guides were very helpful and provided a great service. It was a full day activity that covered a lot. I would suggest that Chichen Itza is visited first. On this way the sun is less intense. Getting Chichen Itza between 1 and 3 pm means we get the sun at the peak.
In general is a great experience and I recomend to take it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guides were super experienced! They picked us up on time, and try their best all the time. I made this trip with a friend on a wheelchair, and they were always aware of our needs. Angel and Antonio made this day our wonderful experience. Thank you guys!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour with very knowledgeable guide Hugo. He was great along with team of Spanish guide and wonderful driver. The guide provided information as well as provided ample free time to explore. We were never rushed and the guide answered all the questions. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour guide was excellent. He provided great knowledge into the history of the area. The only way to visit these sites is with a tour because you would miss out of so much information.
The tour day was in November and the day was overcast , therefore if was not too hot outside . this made for a very comfortable tour around the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing tour. Chichen Itza was amazing and we enjoyed the chance to dip in the cenote.

Special Offer
$74.99 Save $5.00

From USD $ 69.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206CHI_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message