Insider's Guide to Cancun

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 55 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ana I Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

The people of the crew is the best.

Rick A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent crew. Snorkeling was very good with lots of tropical fish.

nitin

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good time. Lunch is ok with limited choice.

Casey L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was amazing. It was what I had expected and more. I don't believe it was ever said that it was all inclusive but it was! (on the boat at least) and that includes shots! The staff was entertaining and friendly as well. Views were amazing. Only downfall was it seemed a little rushed at times

Rashmi P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was overall a good day. It was easy to take a cab to the hotel and easy sign in. It takes a LONG time to get to the island. I wish the snorkeling was 2 hours instead of 1 because it went by too quickly. The lunch can be better since there was barely any vegetarian option. I was surprised to not see chips! We spent ALOT of time in the sun so be prepared and bring lots of sunblock. Mostly on the boat. It was tiring but a overall fun day!

CANCUN TOURS

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Had a blast. Loved the time spent snorkeling. Don't like the vendors barking at us as soon as we got on the dock, and followed us almost to the boat upon our return. We couldn't even enjoy the beach without the vendors hounding us to buy stuf. It would be better if the tour had a 'private' spot for the groups to sit out and enjoy the ocean while waiting to get back on the boat.

Claudia A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had a lovely day aboard the Trimaran Lupita. However, this is not the most comfortable boat. There is no shade on board. We had a great day though. Staff is very helpful. You start off by doing some snorkling along the coast of Isla Mujeres, followed by some free time on the island, lunch at the beach club and then some more sailing. Great day!

chocobanana Japan

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

I liked this tour. I could enjoy the beautiful ocean, colorful fish, and sunshine :) The crews were cheerful and very kind!!They always asked for drink!! You can enjoy multiple activities and this is a good deal!!

Angela M V

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise was awesome !!!! the crew was great, the activities were great. The only thing that wasn't great was the buffet in the island.

Jesica F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

We really enjoyed the excursion. The staff made the trip a lot of fun. Would recommend.

Joshua

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Was fun to do. The island itself is ok, but you get a little more feel for the area if you get off of the main road and away from the sales folk. We didn't get to do the air sailing due to winds but we did stop for swimming. A little drinking fun as well. Overall, I would recommend the trip if you are wanting to meet a few folks.

Alex Argueta USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

We had a great time. The crew on the Trimaran where great. Not to much selection for the open bar aboard the Trimaran but we still had a great time snorkeling. Good food at the beach club. Great shopping at Isla Mujeres.

John C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The trip was good from the time we left the dock until we came back, the crew was great. The transfer never arrived at our hotel and we had to take a cab and just made it, we stayed in Playa De Carmen which was over an hour away and cost us 60. There was no help from the person in the office and got disconnected and was never able to get back thru as it just kept ringing or went into voicemail.

Christopher C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Fun time.

William M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Overall excellent tour, drinks were flowing freely as soon as we left the pier. Crew was great but the snorkeling in Cancun isn't all that cool, not many fish of different species.

Manjiri J

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

If you enjoy being on the cruise with booz and music then this is the tour you need to go for! its' a small cruise consisting of around 15 people and 3-4 tour guides. They keep you entertained throughout the tour with drinks and music. The ride to the island is around 1.5 hours and then you spend time on the island to shop or to look around. They make a stop at a beach resort where we can have lunch buffet and also relax for some time. If you are going with kids, I won't recommend this tour. It's mostly for adults. snorkeling was fun too.

LuAnn L

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Great crew! The included lunch was okay... we were looking forward to chicken fajitas, rice, and beans but instead it was a small buffet with other stuff (more fish than chicken). Bring money to the island because no drinks are included with lunch. Not even water... We had lots of fun while sailing, especially swinging out over the ocean. There aren't any "trampolines" or netted areas on this boat, even though they are in a couple of the pictures. The number of passengers is smaller than some of the other catamaran which works out nicely because you get to know the crew and vice-versa.

Bryan W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This was a fun trip, and we really enjoyed the snorkeling. However, the tour was much more "booze cruise-y" than we had expected.

Marjorie B

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

too many people on the boat

svidaurri

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I rated this only 3 stars due to the service from guides very pushy on amount of tips and disrespectful with tourists on the trip. Overall, I feel I should have taken the tour on the bigger boat tours since those got best reviews from other tourists.

Bob

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

We had a good time, but the ad indicated we would have a catamaran with the webbing over the ocean and we had to sit on the deck - I wouldn't recommend this boat.

Lori Ann H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Take a water taxi to Isla instead! In the past we have been very satisfied booking our excursions through Trip Advisor's company Viator.com, but this one was a bust! The only positive was that the crew had a personality and tried their best. I should taken the time to review old faithful Trip Advisor's website reviews where the consensus mirrored ours. Instead of being crammed on a catamaran, with the hot sun beating down for 6 hours mind you we are from California and used to the sun, and the snorkeling being mediocre at best, it would have been a better experience had we toured the island on our own. With 5 young adults along for the ride, we are all in agreement that the free time was the best part. We found a beach with gorgeous crystal clear water, shelter from hot sun and a restaurant offering cheap cervezas. Renting the golf carts would have been fun had we had more time. Isla is an authentic Mexican town with shop owners lining the streets. I am certain we could have found better eats than the lunch we had at the beach club.. if you can call it that. Our boat ,La Lupita followed suit with all the other catamaran excursions to the Island. They boast a pit stop at a relaxing beach club with hammocks which consisted of 4 hammocks for over 200 people. On vacation, we prefer to avoid crowds.... A Wally World experience and that poor shark! Did not get to use the spinnaker sail either.Thirty years ago when I visited Cancun I was in awe of the snorkeling. It was the best I had ever seen. I would try snorkeling in Playa Carmen instead. Very disappointing! I must say the Caribbean waters are so beautiful.

Dave S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Small boat, could not even stand up and walk. Not walk around, walk. On the way back we hit a squall and had to sit on deck and get soaked. The snorkeling was at best, boring. I have done several "cheesey" snorkeling trips and this one was no different. The depth of the water was around 30 ft so nothing close to see. The coral was, basically not there. Sandy bottom, no reefs. The guides wanted us to stay close to them and gave no real direction or information on direction or communication either before or during the snorkeling. The statues were covered in moss and not interesting at all. Food on the Island was good and plentiful. The drinks were watered down. The crew was excellent and tried to make the best of it.
If you have never tried snorkeling and want to see the island and have a day "sailing" I say that because we were on motor all day, then this is the trip for you. If the reefs were in more shallow and existent, this would have been much better.

Angela P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The actual tour was good. Isla mujeres was nice. My review is more about the boat the Lupita... A little run down. There were other boats out that day that looked a lot nicer.
The snorkeling was just ok. The current was very strong that day so the guide made it a point to make sure we all stayed together and extremely close. I was getting punched and kicked the whole time we were snorkeling. I did appreciate that they were concerned for our safety though. The food was adequate at the restaurant. The boat crew always made sure we had what we needed. They were very attentive and there was always someone around to help if we needed it.

Michelle M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

The catamaran crew were very nice and the boat ride was relaxing. However, Isla Mujeres is not exactly 'quaint or picturesque'. The shops are more Tijuana style than 'boutique' style. There wasn't much for sea life to be seen while snorkelling, but you do get to see a very large sculpture art piece that has been placed on the sea floor. Also, if you have an alcoholic drink before the snorkelling stop they won't let you go snorkelling. I wouldn't do this excursion again, but it might appeal to some.

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

Special Offer
$81.99 Save $7.00

From USD $ 74.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206IMT_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message