4 star rating: Recommended 42 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 42 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The trip was good from the time we left the dock until we came back, the crew was great. The transfer never arrived at our hotel and we had to take a cab and just made it, we stayed in Playa De Carmen which was over an hour away and cost us 60. There was no help from the person in the office and got disconnected and was never able to get back thru as it just kept ringing or went into voicemail.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Fun time.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Overall excellent tour, drinks were flowing freely as soon as we left the pier. Crew was great but the snorkeling in Cancun isn't all that cool, not many fish of different species.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

If you enjoy being on the cruise with booz and music then this is the tour you need to go for! its' a small cruise consisting of around 15 people and 3-4 tour guides. They keep you entertained throughout the tour with drinks and music. The ride to the island is around 1.5 hours and then you spend time on the island to shop or to look around. They make a stop at a beach resort where we can have lunch buffet and also relax for some time. If you are going with kids, I won't recommend this tour. It's mostly for adults. snorkeling was fun too.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Great crew! The included lunch was okay... we were looking forward to chicken fajitas, rice, and beans but instead it was a small buffet with other stuff (more fish than chicken). Bring money to the island because no drinks are included with lunch. Not even water... We had lots of fun while sailing, especially swinging out over the ocean. There aren't any "trampolines" or netted areas on this boat, even though they are in a couple of the pictures. The number of passengers is smaller than some of the other catamaran which works out nicely because you get to know the crew and vice-versa.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This was a fun trip, and we really enjoyed the snorkeling. However, the tour was much more "booze cruise-y" than we had expected.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

too many people on the boat

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I rated this only 3 stars due to the service from guides very pushy on amount of tips and disrespectful with tourists on the trip. Overall, I feel I should have taken the tour on the bigger boat tours since those got best reviews from other tourists.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

We had a good time, but the ad indicated we would have a catamaran with the webbing over the ocean and we had to sit on the deck - I wouldn't recommend this boat.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Small boat, could not even stand up and walk. Not walk around, walk. On the way back we hit a squall and had to sit on deck and get soaked. The snorkeling was at best, boring. I have done several "cheesey" snorkeling trips and this one was no different. The depth of the water was around 30 ft so nothing close to see. The coral was, basically not there. Sandy bottom, no reefs. The guides wanted us to stay close to them and gave no real direction or information on direction or communication either before or during the snorkeling. The statues were covered in moss and not interesting at all. Food on the Island was good and plentiful. The drinks were watered down. The crew was excellent and tried to make the best of it.
If you have never tried snorkeling and want to see the island and have a day "sailing" I say that because we were on motor all day, then this is the trip for you. If the reefs were in more shallow and existent, this would have been much better.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The actual tour was good. Isla mujeres was nice. My review is more about the boat the Lupita... A little run down. There were other boats out that day that looked a lot nicer.
The snorkeling was just ok. The current was very strong that day so the guide made it a point to make sure we all stayed together and extremely close. I was getting punched and kicked the whole time we were snorkeling. I did appreciate that they were concerned for our safety though. The food was adequate at the restaurant. The boat crew always made sure we had what we needed. They were very attentive and there was always someone around to help if we needed it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

The catamaran crew were very nice and the boat ride was relaxing. However, Isla Mujeres is not exactly 'quaint or picturesque'. The shops are more Tijuana style than 'boutique' style. There wasn't much for sea life to be seen while snorkelling, but you do get to see a very large sculpture art piece that has been placed on the sea floor. Also, if you have an alcoholic drink before the snorkelling stop they won't let you go snorkelling. I wouldn't do this excursion again, but it might appeal to some.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

This was a nice trip, but we felt the owners of the boat really could;nt be bothered,....there were other boats going out and the organisers on theres were much more engaged with there party.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

The crew was very nice, but we were NOT in the water snorkeling for the hour promised. If all the 'tour' boats are going to take people to the same area to snorkel, they certainly should stagger their schedules more, because there were too many people in the water at one time.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The snorkeling was far too short and limited to an area with very little to see. The trip to the Isla Muhjeres was a waste of time and the "Beach Club" food was poor, the beach far too rocky to enjoy on a hot day and it was way over-populated (too many boats). Don't waste a full day with this.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Save your money, save your day! Do not book from here. This trip could have been great, but many things went wrong-
-Pickup is not from "your" Cancun hotel, it is from "a hotel in Cancun". The boat leaves from Cancun bay Resort. Your have to arrange your own transportation till here. (no big deal)
-We were asked to arrive by 9:30AM, for 10AM departure. Our boat didnt leave until 11
-The day was scorching hot, no shade onboard. They had a "basement"(where they were chopping bait fish to attract fish during snorkeling) but that place smelled like dead fish!
-Our group had 3 kids and 4 adults. The reservation was made well in advance.They didnt have kid size snorkel gear. No fins for any kids!
-The snorkel gear handed to us was was moldy and smelled filthy (literally!). My husband started feeling sick due to all the smell his hands picked up from holding that gear. We asked that the gear be cleaned before we put it on our face and in our mouth, all they did was washed it on ocean water. Which barely did anything to the smell. Hence, none of us snorkeled.From the whole boat, only one guy decided to enter in water, but he was also called back on boat within 10 minutes! (Remember the boat left 1 hour late, the time had to be made up!)
-Lunch buffet was a joke. Not kid-friendly, no fruits, no vegetarian options. There were three sections in the buffet, the section reserved for our boat was the one with least options. (oh btw you should know drinks werent included in the buffet, not even water)
-Then came the island downtown. Again we were only give 1 hour to roam around the island, barely enough to do anything. We wanted to rent the golf cart, but didnt have enough time.
-After all this, we were still hopeful for spinnaker. It was new to our whole group and we were looking forward to it. But, the location/position/angle of our boat was such that the sail did not take off, not even once. Other trimaran boats were able to balloon up more than once and it seemed fun.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2012

The hotel pickup did not happen. We had to get there on our own. The reef tax was $7.50 (US) per person. The boat was small and they loaded way too many people on it. We barely had room to sit and no room to move or walk around (even the crew had trouble moving around the boat). The crew tried hard to be helpful and friendly but in the end was pushing hard for tips. Quote, "This is the only money we make". Drinks were limited in choice and weak. Other boats in same area were bigger and had fewer people on them, room enough to dance and move around. They all do the same thing and make the same stops for lunch and shopping. Next time I will go on a different boat even if it cost more.

Special Offer
$81.99 Save $7.00

From USD $ 74.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206IMT_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message