• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 89 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 89 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Simply awesome trip!! Xel-ha has a lot of activities for those seeking it and also relaxation spots for those who just want to chill out. It was an amazing experience. Would definitely recommend it to anyone going to Cancun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Had a great time in Xel-Ha and Tulum. They are so beautiful and you get all the food, drinks, and snorkeling you could want in Xel-Ha. We saw some amazing aquatic life. Tulum is also so amazing with the backdrop of the ocean. Our guide was very friendly and informative. Very comfortable transportation too and everything was just as promised and on time. Would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Would have been a phenomenal trip if we had not had torrential rains on and off all day. Would highly recommend, but watch weather report and book for a sunny day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

This trip was amazing to say the least. Don't know if we hit this on a good day, but me and my boyfriend were the only people on the tour bus, which sat about 12 people, for most of the drive. We were picked up at our hotel in Cancun and were alone on the bus until we had to pick up another couple and a family of four in Playa Del Carmen. I was glad that we did that because it wasn't much of a detour and we got to see Playa Del Carmen a little and quickly decided that, Playa Del Carmen would be our next vacation trip. We went to Tulum first, and were there about an hour and a half, which was plenty. So beautiful to see. Some friends of ours were also in Cancun and went to Chitchen Itza and were a little dissapionted with it, they did go through another tour site for this trip, so we felt pretty good with our decision to see Tulum and we were right on, because it was beautiful. We then went to Xel-Ha, which the pronunciation sounds like Chel-Ha, and that was about 10 minutes away from Tulum. We spent 5 hours there which was perfect. The buffet lunch at Xel-Ha was so good, with all you can drink beverages and pour your own beer spouts. The price for this trip was really good. At Xel-Ha there are four restaurants you can chooose to eat from and you can eat all you want. The food was superb. Your snorkel gear is included, the area to snorkel is huge. You can use inner tubes to float around on, there are lockers at your disposal and out door showers to rinse off at. The staff was so friendly too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This trip was fantastic and amazing. I would highly recommend this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Although way overpriced, I would highly recommend this trip which included the best of both worlds. It included Mayan ruins in the beautiful setting of Tulum and as well as the typical Cancun stuff such as snorkeling, the beach, and tubing Xel-Ha. The tour guides were also really good on this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

It was very easy to book and confirm. We had a great extremely knowledgeable guide. The only drawback was that we were the first to be picked up and then we were early to another resort and had to wait like 45 mins. I would have preferred a better time calculation so I could have slept in a little longer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Our tour guide was very informative, we learned a lot about the history of the Mayans and Tulum. Time was short so was a very quick tour, would have liked to have had more time. Xel-Ha was nice, had great snorkling, would do again.

Stephen J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Would do it again from accommodation closer than Cancun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Tulum and Xel-ha was the highlight of our trip! Our tour guide was awesome, he knew so much!!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

we were picked up from our hotel, and taken to a staging area in downtown Cancun, where are documents were checked and we were divided into groups according to tour destination. After waiting about 15 more minutes as other pickup vans arrived, we finally departed, ironically going back past our hotel on the way to the highway. We could have been picked up nearly 45 minutes later with a different system, but who knows if their logistics deem their system a better way to do it???
We finally arrived at Tulum.....it is much more popular than when I was there years ago.....people everywhere, much less access to the buildings themselves. But the setting is amazing, right by the sea.
Xel-Ha is very nice and well organized. A bit confusing at first, but lots of maps and friendly employees are around to guide you. Changing areas are clean, lockers are large enough, the snorkel equipment was of good quality. The included food was wonderful...food from many parts of Mexico....and free drinks.
Nice to snorkel and see colorful fish, though the water may not be as clear as it used to be.
All in all, recommended!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Tulum ruins were an amazing place to visit; and Xelha to follow just to cool off the heat. A note about Xelha was that cash was needed for deposit for snorkeling gear ($5/kit), of which we were not informed in advance. It was a bit chaotic at first trying to locate locker room, and get the gear.

Again, the pick-up was late, and we were transferred to a local mall, waited and then assigned to the designate group. The tour guide had good knowledge but was not at his best.

Otherwise, it would be a perfect rating.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

First off I must say that the only reason that I give 4 stars (and not 5) is because the tour company was not able to pick us up at the lobby of the resort where we were staying. I don't believe that this was the tour company's decision, I think it was the resort. However on or way back from the tour, our very very sweet driver spoke to the security guards at the gate of our resort and was able to drive us up to the lobby. It was a long distance from the gate to the lobby and I had a broken foot and sprained ankle at the time. - When we arrived in Tulum, our tour guide was very nice and informative. He was very knowledgeable of the site and we could tell that he has a passion for the history of Mexico. Even with my injury, I was able to get around ok. There is a tram option available to drive visitors from the village to the site. Once at the site there were a lot of stairs and walking, as it is a big place, but I was able to slowly get around. We got back in the van and went to Xel Ha. This again was a lovely experience. The driver already had our passes, so went right in. We had a great time and left right when the rain started. Perfect timing! Then, as I said before, our driver was able to get us up to the lobby at the resort which I was VERY grateful for :) Everyone with the tour company was very professional and accommodating Thank you!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic day out, great tour guide giving lots of useful tips i.e. where to eat at Xel-Ha!, the layout of the park and what to do. Also kept the tour on time explaining where to meet and by what time, and the reason for this for example keep ahead of the other tour groups, even explaining that any tickets taken at Xel-Ha can be purchase online for up to 6 weeks. The time at Tulum was just wright with enough time to get everything done and get to Xel-Ha for lunch and to get all the activities done. The guide Was also knowledgable about historic facts too.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Tulum is a beautiful place. We wish we could have stayed a bit longer though.
Xel-Ha was like a natural theme park. If I were to do it again, I would do each trip in separate visits so that I could enjoy both places longer.

From USD $ 148.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206TXH_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message