Viewing All 133 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Charles A USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very good experience, not to be missed. Tulum is a lovely site and well narrated. Xel Ha was a great experience on a hot day. Definite must do. Again only drawback was the check-in procedure, long , hot and cumbersome.

pennyw

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Aside from not picking ud up from the hotel and mislaying our reservation, the trip was amazing. The guide was the best of our entire trip and Tulum and Xel-Ha worth making the effort for

ROBERT S United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

A good day out.
Time was lost trying to pick up other passengers from a hotel that had been moved to another hotel when at that hotel their was no sign of them.(Cancun bay tours not organised)
The time at Tulum was good but very busy with other tours competing for space.The time at Xel Ha was about 5 hours but I would recommend an all day trip to this park as it was exceptional and not to be missed.
The food was also way above what I expected,First class with good service.

s r

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

After a day at Chichen Itza I would have preferred less time at Tulum on a hot day, as the tour details overalpped a bit. Xel-Ha was amazing. Excellent value for money. All-inclusive was well worth it.

Paul H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Good day out. Would recomend it.

ANNA K D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Perfect! Beautiful.

Swarup S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Trip was very good. Some of the tour members did not go to Tulum and spent the whole time in Xel-Ha, which might have been a good decision. People who enjoy historical sites definitely should not miss Tulum but you may have to hurry up and cover every thing in haste and then return to Xel-Ha. It will be difficult to cover lot of events in Xel-Ha in the remaining hours.

YIK YIU C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Beautiful view in Tulum!

Saijel S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Had a lovely time in Tulum ad Xel-ha. Our guidein Tulum was very informative ans spoke great English. Great choice of activities in Xel-Ha, though you have to pay more on top of your initial tour price. The buffet lunch at Xel-Ha was so great, lots of choice.

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Our guide lacked enthusiasm for Tulum. We did this after Chichen Itza and were disappointed. In hindsight we should have done a whole day at Xel-Ha which was fabulous. All you can eat and dring all day and lots to do. This was the highlight.

Catherine R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Good day. Wished we went to Tulum first however.

Mika N

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Xel-Ha was my favourite! I had so much fun there!

There was not enough time to look around at Tulum. We did not have any free time at Tulum. It was beautiful, but I wish there were more time to look around.

Barry J M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

This is a must for all ages. If you don't want the water, the all inclusive food and drink option is also fabulous.

Goroh N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Took a long time to get to Xel-Ha from Cancun, but it was worth it. Xel-Ha is beautiful and the river-tubing and "snuba" experience were some of the highlights of our Cancun vacation. Tulum is lovely and peaceful and our tour guide, Carlos, definitely enhanced our experience with his explanations of Mayan life there.

Maria Ines G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Good food, learn a great deal - recommend this tour.

Ross USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

At Xel-ha, I highly recommend doing the Sea Trek. A water helmet is placed on you, and you walk on the floor of the lagoon (about 10 feet down). A scuba diver releases some bait, and soon you are face-to-face with fish and sting rays. It costs extra but is well worth the experience. The best time to go to Tulum is in the afternoon. The views of the Caribbean are great.The only snafu was that the agency was an hour late in picking me up. Even though I provided them with the right hotel info when I book through Viator and again when I confirmed that I needed the hotel pickup, the agency conducting the tour had the wrong hotel info (the dispatcher I called wasn't very helpful).

Nazia A USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

During my trip, we went to xel ha first and then tulum which - did not appreciate. I was told that we would go to tulum and that's what I was looking forward to. Our guide spoke way too much and it was unnecessary. Also, the tour should have been divided between english and spanish speakers and not put together for the whole tour.

Sarah N USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We enjoyed this trip, but we didn't have enough time at either place. Our guide at Tulum wasn't nearly as good as the one we had had at Chichen Itza a few days earlier, so we felt we didn't learn as much. Also, I suspect that Tulum isn't as significant of an archaeological site either -- basically it was a housing complex. The thing that Tulum has is absolutely breathtaking views. You just want to stand there and drink in the scenery. We would have liked to stay longer and take more pictures and go down to the beach and explore, but we didn't have enough time. We enjoyed Xel-Ha too, but again, we didn't have enough time. We ate lunch, very good, and took a tube trip down the river, and that was all we had time for. It would be a good place to spend the whole day. Basically, we recommend this trip, but do each one separately on separate days.

STEVEN A USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Tuluum was very interesting, guide was excellent. Xel-Ha turned out to be more water activity focussed than we expected. Still worth visiting, but if not interested in getting in the water, it was too long.

Paul B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

They were late picking us up at the hotel. After everybody was loaded up on the bus, I thought we were headed towards Tulum. They ended up taking us back to the Kukulcan Mall where several bus loads of people were escorted off the bus to the second floor of the mall so they could get everybody processed and transferred to their assigned bus or shuttle van for the appropriate tour. It was confusing and kind of disappointing at first. Tulum was fascinating. I couldn't understand the tour guide all that well. He mixed English with Spanish. Xel-Ha was absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed snorkeling. It was all-inclusive, which was a wonderful deal. All you can eat and drink. This tour is worth taking, but the organizers of these tours need to get better organized.

Angelica A USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

In the month of August it is extremely hot and wear sneakers. The ground will feel more comfortable. The tour was really nice.

Edward M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

We had a bad tour guide but the Tulum and Xel-Ha were great. If you have the time I recommend you do them on separate days, because combining them does not really give you enough time at Xel-Ha.

Haseeb R

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Francisco our tour guide was great! Any question we had, he knew.

Paramita M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The Tulum trip was rushed, would have loved to spend more time at this awesome place. Xel-Ha was fantastic ! if you are short of time this tour is great, good value for money but for the keen enthusiastic tourist which I am, I'd recommend visiting these two sites on separate days.

Richard B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Tulum was great, much better than I expected, as there is more to the site than is shown in the iconic image of the tower overlooking the white sand beach. That said, I understand that Chichen-Itza is a much more significant Mayan site than Tulum. Our guide was informative, however he annoyingly hawked his own botles of sunscreen and insect repellant on the bus as we approached the site. this was beneath the professional standards that I would think Viator would want to present for itself.

Xel-Ha is another story. The idea of the coral reefs and natural waterway for snorkeling is a sham. Knowing that the reefs are pretty much dead, the promoters of Xel Ha now advertise it as an "eat all that you want, drink all that you want" afternoon bash. Indifferent food and lots of booze. NOT WORTH IT!!

Viewing 4 of 6

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 148.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206TXH_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message