• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 97 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 97 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Good day. Wished we went to Tulum first however.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Xel-Ha was my favourite! I had so much fun there!

There was not enough time to look around at Tulum. We did not have any free time at Tulum. It was beautiful, but I wish there were more time to look around.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

This is a must for all ages. If you don't want the water, the all inclusive food and drink option is also fabulous.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Took a long time to get to Xel-Ha from Cancun, but it was worth it. Xel-Ha is beautiful and the river-tubing and "snuba" experience were some of the highlights of our Cancun vacation. Tulum is lovely and peaceful and our tour guide, Carlos, definitely enhanced our experience with his explanations of Mayan life there.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Good food, learn a great deal - recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

At Xel-ha, I highly recommend doing the Sea Trek. A water helmet is placed on you, and you walk on the floor of the lagoon (about 10 feet down). A scuba diver releases some bait, and soon you are face-to-face with fish and sting rays. It costs extra but is well worth the experience. The best time to go to Tulum is in the afternoon. The views of the Caribbean are great.The only snafu was that the agency was an hour late in picking me up. Even though I provided them with the right hotel info when I book through Viator and again when I confirmed that I needed the hotel pickup, the agency conducting the tour had the wrong hotel info (the dispatcher I called wasn't very helpful).

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

During my trip, we went to xel ha first and then tulum which - did not appreciate. I was told that we would go to tulum and that's what I was looking forward to. Our guide spoke way too much and it was unnecessary. Also, the tour should have been divided between english and spanish speakers and not put together for the whole tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

We enjoyed this trip, but we didn't have enough time at either place. Our guide at Tulum wasn't nearly as good as the one we had had at Chichen Itza a few days earlier, so we felt we didn't learn as much. Also, I suspect that Tulum isn't as significant of an archaeological site either -- basically it was a housing complex. The thing that Tulum has is absolutely breathtaking views. You just want to stand there and drink in the scenery. We would have liked to stay longer and take more pictures and go down to the beach and explore, but we didn't have enough time. We enjoyed Xel-Ha too, but again, we didn't have enough time. We ate lunch, very good, and took a tube trip down the river, and that was all we had time for. It would be a good place to spend the whole day. Basically, we recommend this trip, but do each one separately on separate days.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Tuluum was very interesting, guide was excellent. Xel-Ha turned out to be more water activity focussed than we expected. Still worth visiting, but if not interested in getting in the water, it was too long.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

They were late picking us up at the hotel. After everybody was loaded up on the bus, I thought we were headed towards Tulum. They ended up taking us back to the Kukulcan Mall where several bus loads of people were escorted off the bus to the second floor of the mall so they could get everybody processed and transferred to their assigned bus or shuttle van for the appropriate tour. It was confusing and kind of disappointing at first. Tulum was fascinating. I couldn't understand the tour guide all that well. He mixed English with Spanish. Xel-Ha was absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed snorkeling. It was all-inclusive, which was a wonderful deal. All you can eat and drink. This tour is worth taking, but the organizers of these tours need to get better organized.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

In the month of August it is extremely hot and wear sneakers. The ground will feel more comfortable. The tour was really nice.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

We had a bad tour guide but the Tulum and Xel-Ha were great. If you have the time I recommend you do them on separate days, because combining them does not really give you enough time at Xel-Ha.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Tulum and Xel-Ha were gorgeous and a must see!!!! The only thing that I was displeased with was the company picked up us around 7:45 in a nice comfy tour bus, but then we were transported to a mall and put in a tiny caravan where I barely had a seat to sit in. The whole switch was confusing and took about an hour before we were on our way again. Then I was surprised that the driver offered to sell you water. I have been on many tours before and water has always been included. That was kind of cheap in my opinion.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The pickup at the hotel was about 30 minutes late and a lot of time was wasted getting people together assembled at the shopping mall and dispatching them buy groups to different buses. By the time we left Cancun it was past 9AM. If they can cut down on this time, we would have more time in Tulum where we had to rush.
The tour guides were excellent and did a great job of explaining and keeping us honest about the activities and the time.
This is must do tour which would have been totally worth but for the delay in getting everyone organized and assembled in the morning for the trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

very interesting tour . The group consisted out 80 % engish speaking peopel and 20 % spanish speaking people , but the guide dit the opposite : he spend 80 % time and attention to the spanish speaking people and only,if time permitted, he told something short in brooken english

From USD $ 148.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206TXH_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message