Viewing All 131 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Hari S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The pickup at the hotel was about 30 minutes late and a lot of time was wasted getting people together assembled at the shopping mall and dispatching them buy groups to different buses. By the time we left Cancun it was past 9AM. If they can cut down on this time, we would have more time in Tulum where we had to rush.
The tour guides were excellent and did a great job of explaining and keeping us honest about the activities and the time.
This is must do tour which would have been totally worth but for the delay in getting everyone organized and assembled in the morning for the trip.

rony d

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

very interesting tour . The group consisted out 80 % engish speaking peopel and 20 % spanish speaking people , but the guide dit the opposite : he spend 80 % time and attention to the spanish speaking people and only,if time permitted, he told something short in brooken english

Xizhou G

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Vik is not professional at all.

Rosa G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

I would have enjoyed a trip just to tulum to enjoy the ruins and the beaches.

Xel-ha was very nice to snorkel, but it felt so over crowed you need an entire day to see the entire park, all inclusive just means food included you must pay for all activities except snorkeling but you must leave deposit for equipment.

kory k

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

after a few hours of waiting for a ride that never came we did get everything figured out and the trip was ok Xel-Ha was a little to restrictive and you can only took at the same fish for so long but tulum was great, we had a great guide. so just make sure they remember to pick you up and the trip is great.

Fred

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

Long day. Trip is billed as a 9 hour tour however it actually took 12 hours from the time we were picked up until we were droped back off at our hotel. Also, Xel-Ha is listed as a aquarium when it is more like a water park. You swim and snorkle in logoons so you need a swimsuit and warm weather to enjoy. Great for kids but our real purpose was to see Tulum and the time at Xel-Ha was wasted time for us.

Brian R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Really enjoyed Tulum. Knowledgeable guide and beautiful view. Xel-Ha was limited if you are not a good swimmer. I can swim, but am not very strong. Food average.

Esteban F USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

The trip to the Xel-Ha was cut short because we had to leave at 3pm for Tulum which closes at 5pm. Beautiful place, though I wish I had more time at Xel-Ha.

Samiah S Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Xel-ha was a lot of fun, it was really nice to relax. Tulum was pretty good, but would have preferred a tour guide that was easier to understand. He could speak English, but his accent was really strong and he was speaking very fast. Would have preferred if the original tour guide on the bus was the tour guide as his English was understandable.

Daniel R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Tulum and Xel-Ha are both excellent sights that are well worth seeing, however I wouldn't recommend doing them in this tour.

The transportation was a complete shambles. We were picked up from our hotel in a small van and two of us were crammed into the front seat along with the driver with no explanation of where we were going. They took us to a nearby processing centre where all the different tours were being assembled. We were then allocated out to another bus, which we assumed would take us to Tulum and then Xel-Ha. Sadly not - first it dropped some people off at Xcaret Park, then it went to Xel-Ha to drop others, hung around there for a while, and finally went on to Tulum. Overall I would say we wasted 1.5-2 hours with all of this.

By the time we had done Tulum and then got to Xel-Ha, we only had about 4.5 hours to enjoy the park which wasn't nearly enough to see all the attractions and make use of all the included food and drink options. Go to both these attractions but if you're going to do them in the same day then find a better tour than this one.

Jo-anne G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

We felt Tulum and Xel-Ha in one day was too rushed. The bus was late picking us up and when they dropped us off we had to walk 20 minutes to the ruins by the time we got there we only had 20-30 minutes to look around and it was very crowded. Not enough time to take photos etc. The guide only really spoke a little English so we could hardly understand him. In the end to not waste time we left to explore on own. We were also worried about which way to get back to the bus. The tour said we would have got there before crowds.......NO WAY. We were pleased to get to Xel-HA for swim :. If you want to see both of these i recommend do one each day. TOO MUCH when you wanna take it all in and relax : Dissappointed :

Dinu T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

A lot of time has been lost in downloading visitors to different other locations and the time spend in Tulum was not sufficient to explore the site.

Stefani H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The local staff were great. The locations were wonderful. The transportation and logistics were extremely frustrating and much time was wasted and then taken away from our time at activities.

Sophia29

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Having done the Early access Chichen Itza tour my expectations were high - and crashed to the ground. The coach journey was 90 minutes and during that time there was no cultural information whatsoever. We stopped at Xel-Ha to pick up all tickets for the day. Got on another bus to get to Tulum. The information given on that bus was abysmal, even the information about the Mayan Calendars; if I didn't have one already, I don't think she would have convinced me at all let alone given me a sense of enthusiasm. We were told to be back on the bus at 11:30. We got to Tulum at 10am. That left 90 minutes. OK... Then we were told that the English speakers would be handed over to another tour guide. Because of the mix up at Xel-Ha, we'd missed about 15 minutes of his tour which, surprise, surprise was the Mayan maths lesson (poorly delivered) we'd already heard on the way to Chichen Itza. I think we heard maybe 20 minutes of forgetful information and then left to our own devices. The bus was to depart at 11:30 but some people have no respect for themselves or other people's time, so we didn't leave until just before midday. Once at Xel-Ha, you were left to your own devices until 5:45. All tour buses leave when the park closes, so even if the time state that you leave at 4pm... clarify this before you purchase your ticket.

Yami

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Tulum was very interesting and beautiful place to visit. The Xel-Ha also very nice place to eat, to swim and have fun. However, the people who brought us to this trip, they did not have good organization in place.
They came to our hotel around 7:45. Then we went to a small mall for register (we were there for 40 minutes). Then, We spent hours to pick up or drop people. We were at Tulum around 11:00 (I believe from Cancun to Tulum takes 1 hour and 30 minutes). This mean that we spend the majority of our time to pick up and drop people and not too much to enjoy our trip in Tulum and Xel-Ha. This is not fair!!!

Angela P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The time it took to get from our hotel to Tulum was way too long. They pick you up at your hotel then take you into the city where you get split into all different groups then put into another van.... Then you are on your way. We left our hotel around 7:45 and got to Tulum around noon. Then they go to Xel-Ha and drop off the tourists who aren't doing both tours. A lot of wasted time.
Tulum was really neat and educational and the guide was very good and informative. Xel-Ha was nice too but I felt like we could have spent a lot more time there.
*recommend water shoes...the concrete is brutal on your feet.

Davide B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Overall a decent day, but a huge amount of it is wasted in traveling. Even if distances are short the hotel pickup takes for ever and there's been people in our party that spent 3 hours one way (makes 6 hours total!) Tulum is beautiful and Xel-Ha is fun, but the mix of the two and the lack of time spoils the experience, especially in winter when sun sets at 5pm. So not recommended for anyone.

Wayne M Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

Our hotel pick-up was to be 7:15 am. At 7:40 a small van showed-up (not an ac coach). It went towards Cancun (not Tulum) and picked up more people. Then it stopped at a shopping center and we were told rather unexpectedly to go inside and wait with 150 other people (as this was the “meeting place”). We had to stand in a line to get our “tickets” (no one ever did ask to see them later). At 8:45 we were herded into four different tour buses. Our tour was to go to Tulum then Xel-Ha but it first went to Xel-Ha to drop off those not going to Tulum at all, and then went back to Tulum (at least 45 minutes wasted). Instructions given on the tour bus were extremely hard to understand because they were given back and forth in Spanish and English, but English with a Spanish accent still sounds like Spanish. At Tulum, in the parking lot we were told (for the first time) that it was a one kilometer walk from the parking lot to the ruins. An open-air shuttle bus takes people over that route (for a small fee) but our guide inferred anyone taking that bus was feeble and told everyone to start walking immediately. I am a senior and cannot keep-up for that distance but had no time for an alternative. We got back to our hotel at 8:45 pm (a 13.5 hr day). Tulum and Xel-Ha are great locations to visit, but not using this particular tour operator. Their disorganized chaos completely ruined the day.

Andrew M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

xel ha was the least impressive theme park and after being picked up at 0715 arrived at first stop at 1115 so four hour a to b when direct travel is only 1hr 15 mins

Sadie F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

Xel-Ha was nice, but I would have liked more time in Tulum. The driver told us we were going to Tulum first, but then took us to Xel-Ha first. After 5 hours there, our pick-up to Tulum was about 30 minutes late. Tulum was very rushed and our guide gave us the "abbreviated version" of history so we'd have a chance to look around on our own for a bit (which was only 15-20 minutes....not enough time).

Diane W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

Not enough time at Xelha, better to do one trip or the other. Didnt like our guide

Ron.gehrke

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Very interesting place tour guide couldn't not of cared less to show us anything and couldn't speak English very well so it made it very hard to understand anything he was explaining

Costel R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

So, in the Important Info tab/section it is stated Departure time
7am hotel pickup between 6:30am and 7am. I asked Viator to be picked up last from our groupbut instead, the night before the trip, I got scheduled to be picked up at 6:15am! Anyway, I missed the tour. :-

rnjen88939566

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The transportation never showed up to our hotel. We had confirmed with them the morning before our trip and let them know what hotel we were staying at. The excaret experience team with the red shirts took us there after calling the company that we had paid. The mix up was the name of the hotel. Our transportation showed up at the oasis cancun, not the grand oasis Palm. This was the second time nobody showed up at our hotel to take us to the planned excursion site. Very unhappy.

Xinlei Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The guide spoke a mixture of English and Spanish, and was very difficult to understand. We had an even worse experience with our Chichen tour guide two days earlier but this was still frustrating. There are plenty of good English-speaking guides in Cancun and Viator really needs to find a better local partner. On our way back the driver overshot the stop and we had to walk over 10 minutes back to the hotel, while carrying our 3-year old who had fallen asleep ... not that it was intentional, but certainly not a tour we enjoyed

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 148.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206TXH_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message