4 star rating: Recommended 115 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 115 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Having done the Early access Chichen Itza tour my expectations were high - and crashed to the ground. The coach journey was 90 minutes and during that time there was no cultural information whatsoever. We stopped at Xel-Ha to pick up all tickets for the day. Got on another bus to get to Tulum. The information given on that bus was abysmal, even the information about the Mayan Calendars; if I didn't have one already, I don't think she would have convinced me at all let alone given me a sense of enthusiasm. We were told to be back on the bus at 11:30. We got to Tulum at 10am. That left 90 minutes. OK... Then we were told that the English speakers would be handed over to another tour guide. Because of the mix up at Xel-Ha, we'd missed about 15 minutes of his tour which, surprise, surprise was the Mayan maths lesson (poorly delivered) we'd already heard on the way to Chichen Itza. I think we heard maybe 20 minutes of forgetful information and then left to our own devices. The bus was to depart at 11:30 but some people have no respect for themselves or other people's time, so we didn't leave until just before midday. Once at Xel-Ha, you were left to your own devices until 5:45. All tour buses leave when the park closes, so even if the time state that you leave at 4pm... clarify this before you purchase your ticket.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Tulum was very interesting and beautiful place to visit. The Xel-Ha also very nice place to eat, to swim and have fun. However, the people who brought us to this trip, they did not have good organization in place.
They came to our hotel around 7:45. Then we went to a small mall for register (we were there for 40 minutes). Then, We spent hours to pick up or drop people. We were at Tulum around 11:00 (I believe from Cancun to Tulum takes 1 hour and 30 minutes). This mean that we spend the majority of our time to pick up and drop people and not too much to enjoy our trip in Tulum and Xel-Ha. This is not fair!!!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The time it took to get from our hotel to Tulum was way too long. They pick you up at your hotel then take you into the city where you get split into all different groups then put into another van.... Then you are on your way. We left our hotel around 7:45 and got to Tulum around noon. Then they go to Xel-Ha and drop off the tourists who aren't doing both tours. A lot of wasted time.
Tulum was really neat and educational and the guide was very good and informative. Xel-Ha was nice too but I felt like we could have spent a lot more time there.
*recommend water shoes...the concrete is brutal on your feet.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Overall a decent day, but a huge amount of it is wasted in traveling. Even if distances are short the hotel pickup takes for ever and there's been people in our party that spent 3 hours one way (makes 6 hours total!) Tulum is beautiful and Xel-Ha is fun, but the mix of the two and the lack of time spoils the experience, especially in winter when sun sets at 5pm. So not recommended for anyone.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

Our hotel pick-up was to be 7:15 am. At 7:40 a small van showed-up (not an ac coach). It went towards Cancun (not Tulum) and picked up more people. Then it stopped at a shopping center and we were told rather unexpectedly to go inside and wait with 150 other people (as this was the “meeting place”). We had to stand in a line to get our “tickets” (no one ever did ask to see them later). At 8:45 we were herded into four different tour buses. Our tour was to go to Tulum then Xel-Ha but it first went to Xel-Ha to drop off those not going to Tulum at all, and then went back to Tulum (at least 45 minutes wasted). Instructions given on the tour bus were extremely hard to understand because they were given back and forth in Spanish and English, but English with a Spanish accent still sounds like Spanish. At Tulum, in the parking lot we were told (for the first time) that it was a one kilometer walk from the parking lot to the ruins. An open-air shuttle bus takes people over that route (for a small fee) but our guide inferred anyone taking that bus was feeble and told everyone to start walking immediately. I am a senior and cannot keep-up for that distance but had no time for an alternative. We got back to our hotel at 8:45 pm (a 13.5 hr day). Tulum and Xel-Ha are great locations to visit, but not using this particular tour operator. Their disorganized chaos completely ruined the day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

xel ha was the least impressive theme park and after being picked up at 0715 arrived at first stop at 1115 so four hour a to b when direct travel is only 1hr 15 mins

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

Xel-Ha was nice, but I would have liked more time in Tulum. The driver told us we were going to Tulum first, but then took us to Xel-Ha first. After 5 hours there, our pick-up to Tulum was about 30 minutes late. Tulum was very rushed and our guide gave us the "abbreviated version" of history so we'd have a chance to look around on our own for a bit (which was only 15-20 minutes....not enough time).

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

Not enough time at Xelha, better to do one trip or the other. Didnt like our guide

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The guide spoke a mixture of English and Spanish, and was very difficult to understand. We had an even worse experience with our Chichen tour guide two days earlier but this was still frustrating. There are plenty of good English-speaking guides in Cancun and Viator really needs to find a better local partner. On our way back the driver overshot the stop and we had to walk over 10 minutes back to the hotel, while carrying our 3-year old who had fallen asleep ... not that it was intentional, but certainly not a tour we enjoyed

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

It was confirmed that the bus would pick us up at 7.45, but it came at about 8.30. And we were transported to a travel centre first and then changed another bus. When we finally got to Tulum, it was 11AM already. Neverless to say the crowd, and the heat at noon, a whole morning time was wasted. The travel guide was OK. He tried to sell us several products on the way to the scening, like sunscreen, cellphone cell, etc. We got to Xel-ha after 1pm, and we have to get on the bus on 5.15, which means we only have a couple of hours in the park.
There are lots of local agencies that provide such tour. Comparing the price, it could be much more better.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

We were told we would be picked up from our hotel at 7:30. A bus showed up at 7:45, which we didn't mind it being kind of late, but what annoyed us was that the bus took us to a different location. There we had to check in and get on a different bus. The tour guide told us when we checked in to be listening for our tour as they wouldn't wait for people who were late or weren't listening. Yeah right. We left really late because a group of young men didn't pay attention and were late getting on the bus to head out. Our excursion was only supposed to be about 9 hours long and lasted 11 1/2 long hours. By time we finally got to Tulum it was so hot and we were dying of heat out in the sun. We were also supposed to have a 40 minute guided tour of Tulum and then 40 minutes of free time there to take photos but our tour guide (who was very knowledgeable but talkative) took up most of our time and we only had 20 minutes. We didn't have time to go down to the beautiful beach and touch that turquoise water. It would have been best to just rent our own car and drive there ourselves. Then we could have left earlier in the morning and beat the heat. And Xel-Ha wasn't as great as we had thought it would be. The unlimited food and drinks were nice, but I don't think we would ever go again. The best thing there was the snorkeling. There was one area we could snorkel where life vests were not required. Everywhere else you had to wear one.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

This trip was a hot mess from the start. We were told we would be shuttled from our hotel to our final destination of Tulum/Xel-Ha. Instead we were taken to a mall in the ghetto of Cancun at 7:30am. No one spoke english and everyone was rude. We were sent to the 2nd floor in spanish and forced to wait in a line to receive a wrist band. Then we were again told in spanish to go find our own bus. Because no one would speak english to us our bus almost left without us. Only one other family spoke english on the bus, but they also spoke spanish, and because of this our whole tour was done in spanish even though they knew there was an english only group. People were rude, the bus was old, and the bus driver drove like a maniac. Tulum was nice to see, but next time I will do it with a different tour company. Xel-Ha was crowded and filled with children. Because we did Tulum first we had very little time to do any of the longer activities like floating down the river at Xel-Ha. This tour was not worth the amount of money I spent on it. To top it all off the bus on the way home would not even go up to our hotel to drop us off instead they dropped us a block away at the nearest public bus stop. Awful tour that I payed way to much money for.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Wrong suggestion through viator agent. Viator agents just warned to make their
Commission ,not providing right information according to customer's needs.
Do not depend on viator agent. I advise to buy tour for cancun, once you reach their
It is much much cheaper. Viator's packages are very very expensive and they just
Sell you, because they want to make commission . They do not fulfill your requirement.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2012

Very over rated had to kill time as not enough to do restaurants like sweat boxes people should be made to wear tops or shirts while in the restaurant smell if,sweat put u off food

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

We wasted approximately 4.5 hours picking-up passengers from different hotels prior to reaching tulum and xel-ha.

From USD $ 148.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206TXH_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message