Insider's Guide to Cape Town

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 64 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

David B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent trip -- fun and informative.

Michael M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Even though this was more or less a large fenced-in zoo, the place was great, and the food was excellent. I would like to see a place where the animals are in the "wild" habitat.

Vesa N Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The Aquila Game Reserve - what a great place!

Ian H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

tr through the park was excellent and guide was terrific but too much time left hanging around at end of park tour before we could leave on the mini bus.

geoffrey.marshall

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Aquila is very organized and the breakfast and lunch are great. On viewing the lions they seemed to be in an enclosed area and didn't appear to be in a free and natural habitat.

Anne E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Excellent

Gina

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

great way to see a safari without the extra days.

Trudi O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Aquila from Cape Town. We saw all of The Big 5, our driver was very knowledgable and we were even provided with blankets and ponchos for the unpredictable weather! The food provided at the Reserve (breakfast and lunch) was great, with a huge selection provided buffet style.

Mehdi S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

My wife and I had a great time at the reserve. We saw the big five up close and personal. Would definitely recommend to other family members and friends.

DrHoward

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Lots of fauna to view in this reserve. I did not appreciate the driver for the tour tailgating most of the way on the return trip.

Lynda C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We only had a few days in Cape Town and wanted to see as much as possible. This tour gave us the opportunity to experience a game reserve within a couple of hours drive of Cape Town. Pick up arrangements worked well ( very early start! ) excellent breakfast provided on arrival at the reserve followed by approx 3 hour tour. Bit disappointed we didnt see giraffes but did see lots of other animals and quite close up. Lunch was provided, again good, before making the trio back to our hotel. Good value trip

Emma W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

The driver that collected us to the hotel and then took us to the game reserve didn't speak to us and tell us the timings of the day which was annoying as to begin with we felt that we were in the dark about where to go and what to do. The game reserve trip itself was excellent and breakfast and lunch was delicious.

Alissa

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

An African safari was on my "bucket list". I was in Cape Town on business and only had 1 day. Aquila proved to be a very good option. We saw all but one of the big 5 without having to look very hard. The food at lunch was fine but there was no where to sit and the ostrich farm was an utter waste of time but overall a good day.

Steven G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Wish there were more animals to see.

Thomas B United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The game reserve visit was very well presented from the early morning pickup to the early evening return to the hotel. We were shown all the big 5 by a very knowledgeable and friendly "gamepark ranger". Breakfast and lunch were provided and were excellent value for content and quality. Overall a good day out!!!!!!

Heikki T Finland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari "a poorman's Krueger National Park Safari", a quite good option for a busy Cape Town visitor. We saw a lot of wild African animals.

Elizabeth W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Definitely worth doing if you only have a short time in Cape Town, as location is only a couple of hours drive away. Although not as large as some of the game reserves in other parts of South Africa. This tour gives you a real taste of safari life especially as our guide was very informative.

purizaca

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This safari is nice if you're doing safari for the first time

david h

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was good to see 'The Big Five' animals around the park. Tour was great with well informed guides. Good food at breakfast and lunch.

María B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

It was a very pleasant day out. Our driver from the hotel to Aquila was very kind and did everything he could to make the group happy. Doing a tour around the game reserve is nice, and enjoying the swimming-pool inside after the tour was great. However, it is not the real safari experience - animals are few, kept separate from each other in some cases. And we also had the truck that had to drive us around the reserve broken down, it took a long time for us to get a new truck and the change was managed poorly.

Jeannine R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

No onboard guide, driver was terrible, very poor driving skills, the reserve was fine, good guide/ driver

J4m3s

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Trip from Cape Town Hotels was uneventful but not very informative. The reserve main lodge is very nice. Good food (breakfast and lunch) were included as well as champaign stop at the midpoint of the 2 hour safari tour. The safari felt like Noah's Ark ( two of these, two of those) and is more of a small park than the vast plains teaming with wildlife that we hoped to see.

GORDON S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Pleasant day however be aware the animals are pretty regimented, 2 elephants 2 giraffes etc hardly on safari but lovely setting and lunch etc

Dawn G

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

If this is the only safari trip you have ever been on then you will enjoy it. It is more like a drive round a huge wildlife park than I imagine a safari to be. Having said that you are practically guaranteed to see loads of animals wandering around (and some rescue ones in pens). The breakfast and lunch were very good indeed and the place itself is stunning. Worth a visit but don't expect "Wild at Heart".

Sarget

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

If you want a nice day out with a comfortable bus ride, good buffett lunch and friendly guide then you wont be dissappointed, however if you want to see native animals in their natural environment then I would say this reserve is not for you.
The actual grounds and scenery at the reserve is stark and barron. The animals stand around within the very large grounds basically waiting to be fed and have tourists gawk at them.
Very dissappointing have seen better at my local zoo and especially Singapore zoo.

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 208.21

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2382SC9

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message