4 star rating: Recommended 53 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cape Town, South Africa
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 53 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Lots of fauna to view in this reserve. I did not appreciate the driver for the tour tailgating most of the way on the return trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We only had a few days in Cape Town and wanted to see as much as possible. This tour gave us the opportunity to experience a game reserve within a couple of hours drive of Cape Town. Pick up arrangements worked well ( very early start! ) excellent breakfast provided on arrival at the reserve followed by approx 3 hour tour. Bit disappointed we didnt see giraffes but did see lots of other animals and quite close up. Lunch was provided, again good, before making the trio back to our hotel. Good value trip

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

The driver that collected us to the hotel and then took us to the game reserve didn't speak to us and tell us the timings of the day which was annoying as to begin with we felt that we were in the dark about where to go and what to do. The game reserve trip itself was excellent and breakfast and lunch was delicious.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

An African safari was on my "bucket list". I was in Cape Town on business and only had 1 day. Aquila proved to be a very good option. We saw all but one of the big 5 without having to look very hard. The food at lunch was fine but there was no where to sit and the ostrich farm was an utter waste of time but overall a good day.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Wish there were more animals to see.

Thomas B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The game reserve visit was very well presented from the early morning pickup to the early evening return to the hotel. We were shown all the big 5 by a very knowledgeable and friendly "gamepark ranger". Breakfast and lunch were provided and were excellent value for content and quality. Overall a good day out!!!!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari "a poorman's Krueger National Park Safari", a quite good option for a busy Cape Town visitor. We saw a lot of wild African animals.

Elizabeth W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Definitely worth doing if you only have a short time in Cape Town, as location is only a couple of hours drive away. Although not as large as some of the game reserves in other parts of South Africa. This tour gives you a real taste of safari life especially as our guide was very informative.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was good to see 'The Big Five' animals around the park. Tour was great with well informed guides. Good food at breakfast and lunch.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

It was a very pleasant day out. Our driver from the hotel to Aquila was very kind and did everything he could to make the group happy. Doing a tour around the game reserve is nice, and enjoying the swimming-pool inside after the tour was great. However, it is not the real safari experience - animals are few, kept separate from each other in some cases. And we also had the truck that had to drive us around the reserve broken down, it took a long time for us to get a new truck and the change was managed poorly.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

No onboard guide, driver was terrible, very poor driving skills, the reserve was fine, good guide/ driver

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Trip from Cape Town Hotels was uneventful but not very informative. The reserve main lodge is very nice. Good food (breakfast and lunch) were included as well as champaign stop at the midpoint of the 2 hour safari tour. The safari felt like Noah's Ark ( two of these, two of those) and is more of a small park than the vast plains teaming with wildlife that we hoped to see.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Pleasant day however be aware the animals are pretty regimented, 2 elephants 2 giraffes etc hardly on safari but lovely setting and lunch etc

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

If this is the only safari trip you have ever been on then you will enjoy it. It is more like a drive round a huge wildlife park than I imagine a safari to be. Having said that you are practically guaranteed to see loads of animals wandering around (and some rescue ones in pens). The breakfast and lunch were very good indeed and the place itself is stunning. Worth a visit but don't expect "Wild at Heart".

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

If you want a nice day out with a comfortable bus ride, good buffett lunch and friendly guide then you wont be dissappointed, however if you want to see native animals in their natural environment then I would say this reserve is not for you.
The actual grounds and scenery at the reserve is stark and barron. The animals stand around within the very large grounds basically waiting to be fed and have tourists gawk at them.
Very dissappointing have seen better at my local zoo and especially Singapore zoo.

Sarah B
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

A good option if you can't get to Kruger or the Serengeti. The reserve is in its infancy, but we saw hippo, rhino, elephant, zebra, ostrich and lion. The food is excellent. Didn't do the ostrich farm so can't comment.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

beautiful excursion with the good and nice driver of the Spingbok

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The lodge and food was great.. Our guide Daniel was awesome and was very knowledgeable. We were incrediblely close to the animals. It just didn't feel like we were really in the bush with wild animals. It felt like a larger version of Disney's Animal Kingdom.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I went into this knowing I wasn't getting a real safari. But even then it was still pretty lousy. Two elephants, one giraffe, two rhinos. The lions are kept in a cage and they pretend like you're lucky to see them. It's all staged and really not worth the trip.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2013

Not worth the travel there. One giraffe, one buffolo, 6 zebra, one oryx, two elephants, etc etc. A trip to the local zoo would have been better. PA system on troop carrier was inefficient and those at the back could not hear.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Well, many things were great, but we did not see one single giraffe or zebra, which was a real dissapointment. From your ads you show giraffe and zebra--so felt we should have known that.
As far as pick up and delivered-we were on time, but the driver seemed rushed, and engaged otherwise. This is the driver of the pick up van from hotels.
We had a good mix of people doing this together, so that helped with group dynamics.The guide on the actual safari was great, and knowlegeable and hospitable. He was very informed, sincere and genuine, and does a great job for you. He probably needs to be compensated more, because he makes the tour. This is strictly my personal opinion, and I did not have a conversation with anyone regarding salaries, but he is the one keeping everyone happy and comfortable.
Breakfast and lunch was good, and the setting good also.It was good to see you are using solar power and taking care of our planet.Your driver of the actual jeep did a good job too, especially parking and moving so we could snap photos, etc.The ostrich farm was ok, and educational if one wanted to know abt. ostrich.

Sharmeen F
Sri Lanka

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

This was way below expectation. Expected to see a wide range of animals and birds but saw only a handful. Did not give a feeling of a safari. It is a big cost for a very short game drive with limited animals. We did not see the elephants or the zebras as the drive was further made short when it started raining. The breakfast & lunch were good. For the cost of the programme as a whole, it was not worth it.

Ernest Michael M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2007

I expected more animals on the reserve. Staff in the restaurant were a bit abrupt when when I sat at the wrong table.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I WILL NOT RECOMMEND, 2 ANIMALS OF EACH KIND DOES NOT MAKE A GAME PARK!!
P.ROQUEMORE

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Waaaay overpriced for what it was. During the 2 hour drive to the place, there was no commentor or travel guide. The driver was a speeder. WE had coffee free at breakfast, but was charged for it at lunch time, something we call gouging. AFter lunch we hung around for two hours doing nothing. The guide in the 4-wheeler was hard to understand with his broken English and had somewhat of a chip on his shoulder by the way he responded to questions directed at him. Save your money.

From USD $ 224.64

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2382SC9

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message