• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 70 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cape Town, South Africa
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cape Town City Hop-on Hop-off Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 70 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This is a great way to see Cape Town. The buses are very comfortable and they give you a set of earphones that allows you to listen to a running commentary about the different places the bus is going to as you pass them. They go to all the important spots and rotate at 35 minute intervals so you have plenty of time to stop and then pick up the bus again.

Capie
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This bus is a absolute must in Cape Town. Two routes cover all major attractions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

An excellent Hop-on Hop-off tour. Need at least two days. Must do both scenic routes.
Recommend to anyone.
Stan
Australia 2013

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent value, informative and a great way to see Capetown and surrounding areas plus wine tasting to boot!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A wonderful way to see the very best of Cape Town and surrounding districts.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We booked the two day pass. This is a real bargain! And, it's a great way to see Cape Town and the surrounding area. I also recommend the canal cruise and sunset trip which both come with the two day pass. The commentary provided through the complementary ear phones was also very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We were able to see all of Cape Town on the both the red and blue lines.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Not much to say--just an OUTSTANDING way to see Cape Town and surrounding areas. We took both bus routes over two days, along with the wineries tour and the canal tour. Buses were on-time (beware--sometimes a few minutes early) everywhere. Commentary was quite good and is synched to exactly what is being viewed outside. Drivers were nice. I wish every hop on-hop off bus ran like these. I try to write balanced reviews, but nothing negative about this service whatsoever. They do a great job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a must-do! Well worth the money. Easy. Safe. Interesting.

Bridie
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This is an excellent trip taking in all the main areas of interest. We hopped off at Table mountain but could not make more of the hop on hop off options as we had a very llimited stay in Cape Town. Wish we could have had more time to do the blue route as well. Maybe next time...but worthwhile and the audio was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The hop-on hop-off is our first stop in any city especially if we arrive early and waiting for the room to be available. The best way to get a quick overview of the city, Cape Town was no different. The two loops gave us an excellent overview of the city and serounding sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

GREAT way to get an overview of the city without spending a fortune!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I did the hop-on hop-off tour in Cape Town for 5 days straight on my second visit to the city and couldn't wait to get on the bus each morning. You see everything, and the drivers and hostesses are very accommodating. Be sure to schedule time at Hout Bay to see the crazy seals, and the World of Birds to see the amusing residents. I couldn't have seen most of the sights without this bus, because cabs are very expensive in Cape Town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great experience and an easy way to see such an interesting city. The 2-day ticket makes it an inexpensive way to see/visit a lot of the main attractions, such as: Tabletop Mountain, Waterfront, museums, downtown, green market, botanical garden, beach areas, vineyards/go wine tasting, etc.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Taxis for tourists are expensive in Cape Town, and they don't take credit cards like cabs in other cities throughout the world. Therefore, the hop-on hop-off tour bus is the best way to get around and see everything in Cape Town and the surrounding area. The drivers and the hosts/hostesses on board are friendly and welcoming. They adhere to an exact (printed) schedule, so the "big red bus" is reliable. You can get off anywhere then catch another bus that suits your schedule, or simply spend the day riding the Red or Blue line, or both. With both routes, you see the downtown area, the majestic mountains, stunning beaches, and the V and A Waterfront. If you have time, buy the 2-day ticket, which includes a calming canal cruise in Cape Town past condos of the rich and famous., .I just spent 8 full days in Cape Town and rode the bus for 5 days. I miss the big red bus as much as I miss the city and it's people.

From USD $ 3.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2065CPT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message