5 star rating: Highly Recommended 97 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cape Town, South Africa
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 97 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Taxis for tourists are expensive in Cape Town, and they don't take credit cards like cabs in other cities throughout the world. Therefore, the hop-on hop-off tour bus is the best way to get around and see everything in Cape Town and the surrounding area. The drivers and the hosts/hostesses on board are friendly and welcoming. They adhere to an exact (printed) schedule, so the "big red bus" is reliable. You can get off anywhere then catch another bus that suits your schedule, or simply spend the day riding the Red or Blue line, or both. With both routes, you see the downtown area, the majestic mountains, stunning beaches, and the V and A Waterfront. If you have time, buy the 2-day ticket, which includes a calming canal cruise in Cape Town past condos of the rich and famous., .I just spent 8 full days in Cape Town and rode the bus for 5 days. I miss the big red bus as much as I miss the city and it's people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

value for money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Best Tour in Town for the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Did the red route. Nicely covered the Cape Town area. Informative driver. Short wait for buses.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

As it was some 40 years since last visiting Cape Town this was an excellent way to see the whole of the city and to pick out just which areas we wanted to give more time to. Excellent value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent way to expereince the city and get a good introduction into the various highlights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Just excellent and a must do for anyone travelling to Cape Town, excellent value!

ShiRuBiYa
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Most convenient.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

The best thing the I could have done was for me and my family troupe to hop on to the bus and tour CT. Save us a ton of time, garmin frustration and was a enjoyable experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Absolutelly fantastic. Great tour. For sure i'll recommend it to all my friends. Cheers! Marco Pereira

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Excellent Tour - would recommend to anyone. The only trouble was our voucher from Viator did not work on their computers but we were lucky enough that the ticket office honoured the voucher. I trust this does not happen to evryone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Great way to see the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Very informative tour, well worth doing to get your bearings with your surroundings and the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

We are Cape Townians and still enjoyed the trip; We bought the picnic baskets at Kirstenbosch. Great idea. We also swam at Campsbay, which was cold as it usually is. Skipped on the High Tea at the Mount Nelson. No parking hassles. We have already recommended it to friends (South Africans). All in all it made for a great day, even the kids enjoyed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very good way of transport all around the city, beside the sight seeing

Wendy A
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

For the transportation alone it was well worth it! I enjoyed being a tourist on the bus in my own country, the sights visited are relevant and worth visiting! The conductors on the bus were friendly. Well done Cape Town, 2010 here we come!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Don't miss this tour! You can sit inside the tour bus or up on top, which we were able to tolerate even in winter. You will be supplied with headphones to hear the tour guide's commentary. The stops provided nice variety for all interests, and you will gain a good overview of the Cape Town area.

Valerie P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This a great way to familiarise yourself with the city and its surroundings. We found there were plenty of buses coming along all the time so you didn't need to wait long.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Quick intro and overview of the city. Do it once and complete it, then do it again on other days and hop on and off to explore. Excellent mode of transport. Must do tour! Nice pace, with opportunity for photos along the way. Enjoy the view from the top deck!

RICHARD G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Well worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very good. Just the extras like the township tour that are quite pricey. I feel there should be a separate price for local people like us.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent way of seeing Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour is very good , but a few of the ear phone jacks weren't working. The shanty town was good thanks to Kenny, great guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice ride with narration

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very nice with the route of wide covering range of CapeTown and the vicinity
with the earphone of many language selection.
If the noise of earphone is reduced, better.

From USD $ 17.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2065CPT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message