4.5 star rating: Recommended 54 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cape Town, South Africa
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 54 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Our family of 3 adults went on this tour as well as the Cape Peninsula tour during our stay in Cape Town. On both tours we had the same guide "Super" who was really excellent. We were in a group of 8 in a small mini coach that was very comfortable. We visited 3 vineyards and did tasting in all and had lunch in Stellenbosch. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable day. Imagine sitting outside in perfect warm, sunny weather, sipping fine wines whilst looking at breathtaking mountain views! We got the feel of the vastness of the landscape as well as much interesting background information from our guide. Definitely recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip, well informed guide. Visits to several wineries, one comprehensive tour of cellars and explantions of wine making process. Tasted good wines. Beautiful views. Opportunity to visit / do some shopping in Stellenbosch and Franschhoek- both very nice small towns. Could use more time in Stellenbosch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Our tour guide (Rodney) made this an incredible trip. We not only visited 3 wine farms, but also got a great historical tour of Cape Town along the way. Seidelberg Wine Estate in Paarl was our favorite! I highly recommend it! All-around fantastic experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

A delightful day in spite of the rain. excellent guide.good substitution of a winery instead of walking in the rain. The most fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The Cape Winelands are the most beautiful place I've ever visited. Don't forget your camera, and bring extra batteries. Amazing.

Valerie P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent trip for wine buffs, and a very informative guide took us to other sights as well. We tasted 11 different wines which we thougt was good value. One tip - don't buy wine from the wineries - it's far more expensive there and you can get these wines at the airport for a lot less!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

I enjoyed this trip so much. The places are very beautiful. We had 3 wine tastings and time for lunch and walk in Stellenbosch.

Hazel D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Wonderful trip, beautiful scenery as well as great wine tasting.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great day out visiting 3 wineries and testing the excellent wines.
The driver/guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
We visited the lovely town of Stellenbosch which was very interesting and also Franschhoek which was celebrating Bastille Day and was "buzzing". Very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very lovely tour. Great wines and beautiful scenery

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

This was a good trip with a lively guide, and several different forms of wine farm and factory visited, and their products sampled. The problem was the weather, which was gloomy to begin with and meant one couldn't see much of the beautiful mountains and vineyards, not to mention the beauties of Franschhoek and Stellenbosch, both of which were literally inundated by the time we got to them in the afternoon. But the variety and interest of the wine producers was considerable, and we enjoyed the day very much indeed.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The guide was excellent, tour was great! We actually liked having only few people in this tour. All the places were interesting and we also got lot of history. Only in the last place there where only red wines and it was already too hot to drink them.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Enjoyed the wine and cheese tasting at Paarl but the tasting of about 20 wines seems a bit of overdose. What was really enjoyable was the very honest and passionate sharing by tour guide Super (Hi Super! I mentioned you!!! ^_^) on the political, socio-economical and cultural aspects of South Africa.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

This was a very pleasant trip with a very informative and accommodating guide. I loved the stop in Stellenbosch, where he gave us time to look at some historical sites. The wine farms were beautiful and the wine tastings were great!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

The trip was very lovely and the guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. My one suggestion however, would be to add a wine tasting in Stellenbosch. We visited the town, which was lovely, but as it is prob the most famous as far as wine goes, and we were on a wine tour... I would have like to have gotten to do a tasting there and not just dropped off for an hour to wander.

Note from Viator: Thanks for your comment. We're following up on your suggestiong for a wine-tasting with our local provider. Stay tuned!

Jennifer L
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

This tour consists of visits to three very different wineries with the opportunity to sample many different wines in each. The guide was excellent! Lunch was not included in the beautiful town of Stellenbosch. A longer time in the town would have been appreciated, but all in all, this is a very enjoyable tour.

Peter L
Finland

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

Beautiful day trip with an three interesting wine tastings in a small group 5 persons.

Michael B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Beautiful winery area of South Africa both in scenery and tasting. The tour read that there would only be two tastings, but we went to 3 very different wineries, and had more tastings than we could drink! Excellent guide - we asked for him for the following day tour and the vehicles were new.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

We started off late and there were a few bumps in the road but the actual tastings were great!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Great day out in the countryside....Franschhoek was a lovely spot to stop for lunch....did not enjoy the specific wines as much as I had hoped to, but the atmosphere in each location was beautiful....tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was good, however, an earlier leaving time and some time to walk around Franschhoek or main street Stellenbosch for 30-40 minutes would have been nice. The wineries were great, particularly KWV and Fairview, however, the runner duck place had terrible wines for tasting, particularly for the afternoon as they were dry and not very fun. However, I agree that KWV was the best for the morning session due to the fantastic wine tour (which set the day up well). The guide was nice but talked a little too much, and the use of the word 'divine' should have a maximum daily quota of 2-3 (not 15-20). Other than that, it was a very pleasant day and the information provided on the wine, culture and history by our divine guide was very good. I would recommend this only to people in a rush with one or two days spare.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

If we had more free time at Stellenbosch, at least 2 hours, better.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

This trip has some of the mots amazing regions in South Africa. Pity the bus broke down just outside Cape Town. The travel agent did everything to get us on the road asap. But we were still left with the feeling that we were being rushes through this wonderful region. The Wine tasting in Paarl was fantastic but the one in Stellenbosch was a sheer waste of time. So make sure you stock up in Paarl.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I was hoping to visit the wineries that had the beautiful Cape Dutch architecture, instead we visited small boutique wineries. The first winery we visited was extremely disappointing.
So overall I was disappointed with this tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Whilst the tour guide and opportunity to walk around both Stellenbosch and Franschhoek was fantastic. The wineries we went too were horrific!

From USD $ 70.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2382SC6

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message