4 star rating: Recommended 68 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cape Town, South Africa
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 68 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Table mountain part of trip need reworking. Unless you pre book gondola ride you wait 15 - 30 minutes in ticket line followed by 15 minute wait to board gondola up and down resulting in 15 minutes max time on the mountain.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The Table Mountain part of the tour was well worth it. It was an incredible experience. The Cape Town Half-Day Tour was O.K. but maybe a little too rushed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Pleasant, knowledgeable guide. However, I did not expect to spend so much time inside (on a good day for weather) the city's main museum. That I could have done myself.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Didn't get to go up the cable car to table mountain due to clouds. The rest of the tour was OK.

Kvitochka
Austria

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Table Mountain was wonderful! The weather was amazing. But the tour guide was not really good. Mobile phone was constantly ringing, guy was trying to answer mobile, drive a bus and meanwhile was giving us some information. We spent a lot of time in castle, checking the uniform of soldiers, while the time for Table Mountain was only 1 hour, inclusive of long queue to the ticket office. Taking into consideration great weather I'd better spend 2-3 hours on the top of mountain instead... As a conclusion I'd better recommend Hop on - Hop off bus + Table Mountain

Martin A
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

I regret that the cable car activity was not included although we were promised to have been included as part of the activities of the tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

We are not satisfied with this trip. We have spent too much time queing to reach Table Montain. We do not understand why the agency had not booked the tickets in advance to gain time. As a result, the visit of the city was very short. It is not whorthwile loosing your money. Do it by yourself. Only one good thing, the guide was OK.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

It would have been good if we'd been told to pre purchase our tickets for the cable car. As it was, we stood in line for about an hour and a half and only had 20 minutes at the top.
Also, we didn't want to go to a jewellery outlet, but we would have enjoyed seeing more of the city.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2011

Very delayed departure, very poor information.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

A good trip, with only 3 people, but a small time in the stops. Unfortunately, Table Mountain was closed the day of my trip, due to the wind. At the end of the trip, the guide took us to a Diamond Shop and that was the place with the most time, about 35 minutes. There was a exposition about diamonds and time for shop, but neither the German couple or me were interested in shopping.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

Table Mountain is not always available to go to the top, as we found out, because it is often covered in clouds or too windy to go up by the cable car.

Somjate K
Thailand

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2006

The agent staff came to pick us up very late. While we were waiting for them, we made a call to the company, but no one knew about our reservation.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Tour states Table top mountain, imagine my surprise when the guid picked me up and said we do not do the table top because there is no time? I questioned him and he said the tour does not include it, end of story.
The guide was good but tour a bit slow, only 4 guests but last pick up after 9, long tome looking at beach and a slow walk thru a garden. Within the framework the tour was fine except I took the tour to do tabletop?!
Could start earlier, skip ridiculous tour (????) of diamond store (please no one wants to do that) or just say in description there is no cable car upto tabletop.
As it turned out the cable was closed that day, BUT the guide told me it was not included before he knew it was closed, it was simply not part of the tour. I would not have signed up if there was no chance to do the table mountain! Are there not regulations against false advertising? Ethics?

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The guy was late for a meeting 26 minutes we had to take even one person from another hotel but he was not as patient as we are. Our patience ended when the guy drove us up the mountain Table left there. He was waiting for us as we explore the other attractions but our optimistic unreasonable. Left under the mountain caught HOP-on Hop-of and returned to the hotel.
VERY, VERY NOT RECOMMEND - UNLESS YOU LIKE PROBLEMS !!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2013

What a shame that they don't tell you before you book this trip that there is a chance you won't be able to go up Table Mountain if the cloud comes in. I would have booked a trip once I was there if I'd know and could more accurately predict the weather on the day. We had to make further arrangements later in the week at additional cost and were given a surly response by the tour guide when we shared our disappointment. The Cape Town trip then becomes extended and you visit places that really aren't what we wanted to see like the natural history museum. A waste of time for us really.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2012

This trip was a complete disaster! The bus that picked us up was not airconditioned in 30deg. heat in. The inclusions it is stated entrance, which considering we are going to Table Mountain one knew to be entrante to Table Mountain. When we got to the lift, we were told we merdes to get into the queue and pay for the lift up from the bus stand to the actual Table Mountain. They claimed that the inclusion meant entrance into the castle! And even that only if they had the time, which was really not clear. We ended up taking the red hop-on hop-off bus all the way down without seeing the top of Table Mountain, as I would not pay for it again.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2007

The trip to table mountain was cancelled due to bad weather and a trip to a very mediocre museum substituted. The part of the tour around Cape Town was also quite poor. The only thing that saved the day was the tour guide, he was very comical and lightened the mood very well. We visited Table Mountain independently 2 days later, it was superb.

From USD $ 36.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2382SC3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message