• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 46 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cape Town, South Africa
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 46 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was nice. Our tour guide, Rich was quite knowledgeable and really friendly. We got a little bit of history of Cape Town and some of the back roads. We did not get to Table Mountain though as it was quite cloudy. It's sort of a crap shoot trying to get access. But I'm told the view is amazing once you do. Cheers!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Tour was just OK. Weather was bad, so didn't go to table mountain; the lift was closed. Went to Signal hill for the noon canon firing ceremony, which was good. The rest of the tour (perhaps "fill in" because table mountain was closed) duplicated the route of the red and blue hop-on trolly. I'd suggest do the blue trolly line for sightseeing and make your way to table mountain cable ride on your own - either taxi or red hop-on.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The day I took this tour Table Mountain cable was closed due to weather. Tour was OK, but knowing the city better now I'd recommend taking the blue hop-on tour (it hits really all of the important stops) and then either the red hop-on or a taxi to get to the Table Mountain cable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Table mountain part of trip need reworking. Unless you pre book gondola ride you wait 15 - 30 minutes in ticket line followed by 15 minute wait to board gondola up and down resulting in 15 minutes max time on the mountain.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The Table Mountain part of the tour was well worth it. It was an incredible experience. The Cape Town Half-Day Tour was O.K. but maybe a little too rushed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Pleasant, knowledgeable guide. However, I did not expect to spend so much time inside (on a good day for weather) the city's main museum. That I could have done myself.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Didn't get to go up the cable car to table mountain due to clouds. The rest of the tour was OK.

Kvitochka
Austria

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Table Mountain was wonderful! The weather was amazing. But the tour guide was not really good. Mobile phone was constantly ringing, guy was trying to answer mobile, drive a bus and meanwhile was giving us some information. We spent a lot of time in castle, checking the uniform of soldiers, while the time for Table Mountain was only 1 hour, inclusive of long queue to the ticket office. Taking into consideration great weather I'd better spend 2-3 hours on the top of mountain instead... As a conclusion I'd better recommend Hop on - Hop off bus + Table Mountain

Martin A
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

I regret that the cable car activity was not included although we were promised to have been included as part of the activities of the tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2011

Very delayed departure, very poor information.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

A good trip, with only 3 people, but a small time in the stops. Unfortunately, Table Mountain was closed the day of my trip, due to the wind. At the end of the trip, the guide took us to a Diamond Shop and that was the place with the most time, about 35 minutes. There was a exposition about diamonds and time for shop, but neither the German couple or me were interested in shopping.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

Table Mountain is not always available to go to the top, as we found out, because it is often covered in clouds or too windy to go up by the cable car.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2006

The agent staff came to pick us up very late. While we were waiting for them, we made a call to the company, but no one knew about our reservation.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2013

What a shame that they don't tell you before you book this trip that there is a chance you won't be able to go up Table Mountain if the cloud comes in. I would have booked a trip once I was there if I'd know and could more accurately predict the weather on the day. We had to make further arrangements later in the week at additional cost and were given a surly response by the tour guide when we shared our disappointment. The Cape Town trip then becomes extended and you visit places that really aren't what we wanted to see like the natural history museum. A waste of time for us really.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2012

This trip was a complete disaster! The bus that picked us up was not airconditioned in 30deg. heat in. The inclusions it is stated entrance, which considering we are going to Table Mountain one knew to be entrante to Table Mountain. When we got to the lift, we were told we merdes to get into the queue and pay for the lift up from the bus stand to the actual Table Mountain. They claimed that the inclusion meant entrance into the castle! And even that only if they had the time, which was really not clear. We ended up taking the red hop-on hop-off bus all the way down without seeing the top of Table Mountain, as I would not pay for it again.

From USD $ 37.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2382SC3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message