3.5 star rating: Worth doing 41 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: George Town, Grand Cayman
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Grand Cayman Shore Excursion: West Bay Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 41 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

We were very disapointed with this tour operator. We had to look for them...the guy puts us in a private van with a driver that did not know what to do with us. We had to get out the van and explain that we were in a pre-paid tour, the driver went to get the Tropicana guy, (the van was full of people taking the tour privateley at half of what we paid for! ) The driver who could hardly speak English did not give us any information about what we were seeing. Drop us off at theTurtle farm and waited for us. THE TURTLE FARM WAS NICE. the guide inside knew her business. stop at HELL was OK too. no information at all of what it was or anything. and went back to the ship.
The people on the van got the same tour at half the price. very dispappointed. + we had to look for the guide. + no information on the Island. VERY DISASPOINTING. driver of the van was Camilio. he needs English lesson and a bit about history of his Island.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The tour was about a 4 but the tour operator gets a 0. We arrived by ship and ship time is an hour ahead of local island time so we were an hour early. No one told us. 9 AM island time rolls around and a bus shows up around 9:10 but not for us. The driver at first did not tell us and kept disappearing. He was pawning us off on other tour companies because the operator was not prepared. We were kicked off two other buses before we were finally put on a third bus. That tour driver was great. Very entertaining and informative but the bus had a A/C drain issue and my 76 year old dad got soaked from water dripping on his seat. They did try to fix it and cover the seat up but he still continued to get wet. We booked this tour because it was early and expected to be back on the ship to get some sun by noon but we were not back till 2:30 due to the time change and screw up by the tour operator. I would not book anything with this company.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

It was difficult to find the bus and driver--no clear information about where we were supposed to be to be picked up. We did not leave the pier area until 9:30 (1/2 hour late). There were six of us "independent" travellers, and we were paired up with a larger group that included two other busses which were disorganized and we ended up stopping places that were not on our agenda when we signed up for the tour. I would not recommend your company to anyone else. The turtle farm was great, but using your tour to get there wasn't. The savings from the cruise excursion wasn't worth it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Much of the tour was disappointing. We didn't expect the rum factory to be basically a convenience store and definitely didn't need 30 minutes there. After 5 minutes everyone on the bus was outside waiting for the driver to return so we could leave. Georgetown and Hell were hyped up too much online

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The driver was not overly informative as we progressed around the city and it seemed as if he was in a hurry to get the tour done and be rid of us. The turtle farm was very interesting but again the driver seemed to be in a rush.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

Tour got off to a rocky start - it started on "island time" rather than the scheduled time, an hour or so late. The pickup point was not identified at the port and it took several phone calls before someone arrive to pick us up. Several people "didn't show up" for the tour, but I suspect that they just gave up. HOWEVER, our tour guide did a great job, going the extra mile to make up for the very late start.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

We were very disappointed with our tour. They were late picking us up due to vehicle troubles, then after we got on the bus to go, they made us get off the bus so they could take a wedding party to a hotel. Then they made us sit and wait while some other people finished an Atlantis submarine ride so we'd have a full bus. All of this wasted more than an hour of our time. Once we got going, our guide, Najen, rushed us through the visit to the Turtle Farm in 30 minutes. The Turtle Farm was the main reason we had booked this tour, and we got the short and fast version. The trip to Hell was also rushed, but that was OK because there's not much to look at there. It was a disappointment. I would not recommend this tour company. There are plenty of other companies offering this same tour that will treat you better. We felt like we definitely didn't get our money's worth.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Our tour guide very disinterested. Tour van belong in a junkyard. There was no airconditioning. He had no microphone, so when he talk when driving very hard to hear. Half the time driving our guide was on his cell phone. When we got to our various destinations he just told us when to be back at the van. Thankfully it was not the most expensive tour we have ever taken and now I know why.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was terrible as we waited for an 1 1/2 hours for the tour guide. We had to phone 3 times to find out where he was and they kept saying to stay where we were and they still didn't show up. When they finally showed up we did the tour but they had no wrist bands and he had to go looking for them. Very disorganized. I won't book through you again

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Van seats all torn. Motor and chassis seemed like it was on it's last legs. Driver was 20 minutes late picking us up, and we were the only ones in the van. It was not like he was picking up someone else. We understand that they are ALWAYS late. Driver was not at all apologetic about lateness. Would thin twice about using onbe of the Viator tours in the future.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Horrible! We waited forever, they were rude, the bus broke down, and then we waited again!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Was not able to get off of the boat because bad swells. They could only get about half of the people in the tenders. Was looking forward to the tour. Maybe next time

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Communication problem - Guide did not show until called . We were put on a tour with a different company about an hour later than our scheduled time .Tour itseld was quite good

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

There was no one on the dock to meet us. We had to call twice before anyone even showed up. Then he put us on another tour group because he didn't have a driver or some reason. We paid for a 2 1/2 tour and only got a 2 hr tour with the new group. Will not book with this tour group again.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

The driver was prompt in picking us up which was great. He was knowledgeable about the area so we have no issues with him but I was some what disappointed with the excursion. The photos, like the one next to this review for example, shows turtles in a wonderful blue water habitat so I was expecting something natural. Our experience was far from it. Seeing all the turtles was cool but the water was an ugly green color and the turtles are kept in circular cemented areas. it was fun to hold the baby turtles but in order for the children to be with them they had to get into the ugly, lived in, soupy water. It wasn't appealing. We stopped at a rum store which was a waste of time and the 20 minutes we stayed in hell, while the driver made calls, was a definite disappointment; it wouldn't have been worth driving by.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2012

Not good value at all, supposed to start at 09.00, actually started around 10.00. 2 hour tour, half an hour at Turtle Farm, 15 mins at Hell, rest of time on bus. Very poor value and no fun at all.

From USD $ 37.49

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2644PRTGCM_C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message