4.5 star rating: Recommended 84 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 84 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The best experience in our Thailand's trip.
It was not only the unique ride on an elephants and ruffling but also professionalism, punctuality and hospitality of our guide Bua.
On the way back we were offered to stop in the tiger farm where you can get into the cage with tigers, pet them and make pictures to show your friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was outstading!!! Our guide was fantastic! very informative and because we were the only ones on tour he took us to more places then advertised we went to the orchid garden and the tiger Kingdom. This was worth every penny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Excellent! Highly recommended. It was the highlight of our Chiang Mai trip.. The local lunch was also surprisingly good. I think it was the best meal I have had in a long time. Our tour guide hung around the camp waiting for us and was always looking out for us, telling us where to sit down to eat for the best view, or when to get on the raft so we could get started earlier etc.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was fabulous. If you are wondering which trip to take, go on this one. Roong was terrific and very informative. The elephants are treated with respect and the honor they deserve. It is not a "circus-like" camp and I went away feeling like I saw the real deal. Lunch was fantastic. The float down the river was peaceful and unassuming. I am very happy I researched this trip and the result was exactly as I had anticipated. My only minor complaint is that I felt the Lisu Hill Tribe village visit was a bit staged. But, you should go into this trip knowing what you are doing......you are a tourist and this village earns its income from your visit. Do not miss out on this trip! Thank you Viator for your excellent follow-up, especially making sure you picked us up at our hotel!

Duluth, MN May 2012

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Elephant shows were very entertaining. Elephant "jungle trek" and Ping River rafting tour were enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

We really enjoyed this day. Saw the elephants in action and went for the ride for 90 mins through water and jungle. The food was fantastic. Staff friendly and helpful. The tour people stopped off at Tiger kingdom for us on the way back, which was nice of them to rearrange the buses for us. It was the best day and would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was one of the high-spots of our trip to Thailand. It was very well organized; the guide was great; the transport comfortable; and the lunch extremely good. The elephant display was really interesting and had just the right amount of show-biz about it. The trek on the elephant to the village was just long enough and gave us what a taste of what it would be like to go a long distance on elephant back.
The rafting tour was fun too, and relaxing.
We had an unscheduled stop at Tiger Kingdom because several people had asked the guide about it and it was on the way. That was excellent too, and the animals are in splendid condition.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Was awesome...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

This trip was excellent. The trek through the jungle area didn't feel commercial at all and we got about an hour trek. It was also great to feed the elephants and watch them bathe. Unlike the picture we didn't get to wade through the water on the elephants but we did enjoy the rafting down the river which was very peaceful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Fantastic adventure, I would recommend this trip to anyone staying in the Chiang Mai area. It was a full day adventure worth every penny. Very well organized from start to finish.
I would recommend light clothing and sandels and don't forget your hat and sunscreen!

Susan S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Fantastic day out, loved the elephant ride and the rafting trip, lunch was surprisingly good. Would recommend this to everyone. Thanks viator.

Del
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A wonderful day with the elephants, seeing them demonstrate how they were used for logging etc, and not playing football (previous other elephant tours had this sadly!). Watching them enjoy their food, lots of it!, being cleaned and the best of all a lovely ride through the jungle on the elephant with a great finale down the river. Pleasant river raft to finish. Many thanks, would recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was a highlight of our Thailand trip. What a great experience... The elephant ride and rafting was wonderful. Lunch was delicious.

Alan B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was our favourite excursion!! 'A must do' if you intend Elephant Trekking, this particular one must rate higher than any other, set in the National Park, the elephants were well looked after and appeared contented. Nong our guide was informative and quite the comedian, more than happy to go along with our requests, visiting Tiger Kingdom on our return journey. Lunch was very good with plenty to eat. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Thanks.

From USD $ 86.12

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685CNX28

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message