4.5 star rating: Recommended 77 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

A wonderful day trip, 7 in our group in total with a lovely guide, elephants were cared for and seeing them bathing was fantastic. Riding elephants as they walked along the river was a once in a lifetime experience, great lunch and the raft back was awesome. Do it!!

Ian M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

A very enjoyable trip. The guide was very good and ensured we didn't miss anything. The visit to the elephants was the highlight and it was so nice to see that they were so well looked after. The food at lunch was excellent.The rafting experience was so senic and peaceful.Would certainly recommend this trip.Very good value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Truly enjoyed the entire experience.

Colm M
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Really enjoyed this!

Pamela S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Wonderful! I will do it again. Lots of time on the elephants, and it was lovely floating down the river! A great lunch, and there was time later in the afternoon to fit in petting the tigers!

Roy C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

A fantastic day, lots to do and see, and an excellent tour guide. The lunch was very good, everything was well organized. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Incredible experience!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Recommended it to others we met at our hostel and specifically mentioned Viator!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

A wonderful adventure. Guide was great and the trip started on time...no waiting. Would recommend this trip and online booking service to anyone. Thanks for making this a memorable experience and a wonderful addition to our entire trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Just a wonderful experience for our family of four. Prompt pick-up at our hotel. Our guide spoke excellent English and had a sense of humor, very experienced and knew the elephants well. He made sure that we got front row seats for everything. The lunch was great overlooking the river. The whole tour was also timed paced really well so we had enough time to finish each step yet never wasted any time. Riding the elephants through the jungle was just a fantastic experience we will never forget. It was so beautiful and peaceful, totally relaxing. At first I was a bit disappointed that the elephant guy couldn't speak any English to chat with me. But as we went, I realized what a blessing it was to be able to not talk and just thoroughly enjoy nature. Our kids 5 & 7 were originally nervous about the idea of sitting on an elephant, but they now tell me that this was the best part of our whole vacation, even beating playing on the beach. Rafting down Ping River on the bamboo raft was also an awesome experience. Pretty much anywhere you visit in Thailand, you can find some kind of elephant trekking tour somewhere. But we felt like none of them could have compared to the one we went on. The location was ideal, the elephants well trained, the mahoots so experienced, and the scenery just beautiful.

HUGO G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

This is an amazing tour that includes so much - seeing the elephants bathing was really good and there were a few rather nice surprises in the elephant show. The elephant ride was an interesting experience, if not a rocky one and the hill tribe village was akin to a shopping centre. The river raft ride was a beautiful experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

What a great trip. Exactly as described. The elephant trek lasted approx. 30 mins each way with a 15 min break at a small village. The river trip lasted approx. 45 mins. Lunch was excellent and the orchid farm a nice extra. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Dimitri T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We had a beautiful day. The guide was lovely, gracious and spoke excellent English. The whole trip was well paced, we did not feel rushed. Elephants wonderful and looked content and well treated. Raft trip gentle and lovely. The lunch that was supplied was the only aspect that was not so good, but given the location we were not to disappointed. Overall, highly recommended.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

My 22-year-old daughter has had special place in her heart for elephants since she was a little girl, so when we decided to go to Thailand, riding elephants was at the top of our list of things we had to do. I booked this tour based on the reviews I'd read and was absolutely delighted with the experience. Our guide was charming and full of information, his English was very good and he made the trip that much more special. Both the trek through the jungle on the elephants and rafting the Ping River were slow and quiet, just the right antidote for the previous days hustle and bustle of Bangkok. Lunch was also on of the best meals we had the entire trip. The scenery was beautiful and the people warm and welcoming. This is a trip I would highly recommend for anyone of any age!

Simon C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The holiday highlight! Great day out with everything running like clockwork.

From USD $ 89.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685CNX28

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message