• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 77 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I thought this tour was very good; so much so that having done this tour once before two years ago, it was the first thing on the agenda to show our first-time-visitor friends in Thailand. The show they do with the elephants, showing their working skills was very good, particularly since they didn't have any commentary! We actually appreciated that, as it made it truly multi-lingual, and made you realise you were really in a foreign country.

The trip through the forest on the elephants' backs was magic. I could quite happily do this again and again. The raft-ride down the river was magical also - very quiet and peaceful, very relaxing and very beautiful! I could quite happily do this trip many times and never tire of it. On the whole, excellent value - I would recommend this to everybody!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

This was a great experience! Our tour guide was awesome. Our entire family loved this excursion.

PATRICIA C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

This was the best tour we did in three weeks of traveling in Thailand. An excellent programme, lunch was great, and the elephants fantastic. I would highly recommend it.

Joan P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Well worth seeing, well organized and excellent guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

I thoroughly enjoyed my tour. My guide was very helpful and informative.

Lesley R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

This was the highlight of our trip and one of the main reasons for visiting Thailand. We had a superb guide, a small and friendly group, and a great day on the elephants and on the river. Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We had a great time with the elephants, especially the 90-min ride from the camp to the hill tribe and back, and the 45-min bamboo rafting at the Ping River.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

It was fun!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was amazing! Firstly watching the elephants being washed and then a trip through the jungle finishing with a stroll up the river. I was in awe of the elephants!
My only criticism would be the rafting but only because we went straight from the elephants to the raft without any time to get a drink or go to the toilet etc. and the trip down the river was for 50minutes!!! It was also very hot and there was no shade so need to take lots of sun cream with you!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Weather was perfect, very few bugs

DeanC
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was a good tour, our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Loved the small group of five. The elephants seemed to be treated well. The trek to the village was just a chance to shop, not to see their way of life. The rafting was very relaxing. The lunch stop was lovely.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Very fun and relaxing. Lunch was good. Lots of good photo opportunities with the elephants. Raft ride was a fun plus.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The english speaking guide and driver were very good. Thoroughly enjoyed the elephant trek, show and rafting. The elephants were made to do traditional work in the show rather than circus tricks, which was good. Recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

The elephant camp was the highlight of our trip to Thailand and fulfilled all expectations. We stopped at an orchid farm for a comfort stop and it also gave the opportunity to look at some wonderful orchids. On arrival we were just in time to watch the elephants bathing in the river. There was an opportunity to feed them bunches of bananas. The elephants then gave a demonstration of their skills lifting and moving logs, working as a team in various ways. We then went on our safari through the jungle which was fabulous, stopping at the hilltribe village before returning via the river. We then enjoyed an excellent lunch, my husband is a picky eater and this is usually the worst part of any day trip for him, but he ate everything put in front of him! After lunch we went along the river on our bamboo raft which was so peaceful and a perfect end to the day. The only disappointment was that we had to share a raft with another couple (who shared the mini bus with us from Chiang Mai) whereas everybody else had individual rafts. The guide said that Tour East had only paid for one raft. This meant that there was only one professional photograph available to purchase at the end of the trip (very reasonably priced in a handmade paper frame) and the other couple purchased it. For the cost of the trip I think individual rafts should be provided. The minibus, guide and driver were all excellent

From USD $ 88.34

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685CNX28

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message