• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 30 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 30 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The guide Pong gave us very attractive options are not included in the package:
water trip with landing on a Laos island and visit the place of three
hills tribes (included long neck one). Those parts were for additional
payment but very valuable and were worth to pay. But the offer was
like "do you need to see so and so?". Maybe because of her English
limitation , but we weren't actually guided to the beautiful places. By our experience with other guides in Thailand, we expected some explanations and actual guiding through the tour. In this time we asked to explain us about everything and received very short answers. The guide lady spent 90% of time to talk to her husband (the driver) .

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Great trip but a very long day.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

This is a very interesting way to visit the Golden Triangle and enjoy the scenery along the way from Chiang Mai to Chiang Rai.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

The tour waas good and gave good information. It's a bit too far to travel in one day - perhaps a stop over would be better or do a couple of days in Chiang Rai.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Acceptable. Lots to see. Great visiting the long neck village! The tour guide should have explained more of the surroundings, stats and other info to us. More explaination and info on the surrounds would have made the tour more interesting. He was nice and accommodating, but he could have explained a bit more rather than us asking all the time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Too many stops in too many villages inundated with over-zealous locals selling their "handicrafts". Not much actual learning about opium fields or the trade of such in this region. Tour guide didn't make time for a 5-minute walk across the Myanmar border for a souvenir passport stamp. Nice lunch.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Man fährt durch schöne Landschaftsabschnitte. Der Ausflug ist mit total fast 13 Stunden ein bisschen lang. Störend empfanden wir, dass man für die Longtail-Bootsfahrt auf dem Mekong nochmals 500 Baht pro Pers. bezahlen musste (ist zwar fakultativ - aber dennoch extrem hoher Preis. Reiseleiterin war wortkarg - könnte besser sein, man musste immer nachfragen wen man etwas wissen wolte.

HIEN V
France

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Good tour but too long. We spent so much time in the van and the lunch was very late.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Fun and informative but a very long day!

Kevin D
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

The Karen tribe visit is a must do.

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

A long day and a lot of driving. A few interesting stops along the way but a very long day. Worth doing, however. Some extras available such as a boat trip across to Laos. The buffet lunch was good. We would've appreciated more information from the tour guide about the areas driven through, the crops being grown, how the locals cultivate the crops, etc. This would've broken up the long drive. A few crops were pointed out but no other information given. Would've been good to get more facts in general about the hill tribe villages, how they get on with the Thai locals, what dialect they speak, etc. All in all, it was worthwhile.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

The trip could have been done at the half of the price if we booked it at a local guesthouse in Chiang Mai, which was a bit dissappointing us of course. The trip self was very nice, everything mentioned in the planning was covered. I would not recommend it however as you are almost an entire day sitting in a car, 13 hours away of which certainly 8 hours you are driving.

Mark M
Ireland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

This was a good day; we had a nice tour guide. I would have liked to go across the border to Burma and to take a boat trip to Laos. I could have skipped the hill tribe, which did not seem genuine.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

The place was definitely worth seeing, especially if you want to have a taste of Thailand (not just Bangkok). But it would have been much better if the tour guide knew more historical information, and if their English was better. During the trip to the place there were a lot of 'lull' moments wherein she could have given some background of towns, sites, etc.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

Considering the fullness of the day and the amount of time it took to get there, I would have enjoyed spending more than just 15 minutes in Mae Sai. Our guide seemed to want to rush us through in as quick a time as possible. I would have liked to cross the bridge into Myanmar, even for only a border stamp and 15 minutes at the market on the other side. The hot springs could have been skipped entirely.

From USD $ 96.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685CNX24

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message