4.5 star rating: Recommended 34 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 34 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Painting elephant was fantastic and elephant show very good. The elephant ride was an experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Awesome day trip. I created a montage of our trip, please check out the link. As well as the elephant trekking and bamboo rafting, we also went to see the hill tribes on this trip and were invited into their hut (home) for a chat, a humbling experience. Unfortunately I did not film our time with the hill tribes. Anyway, hope you enjoy the video of the elephant camp. I very highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great trip, loved the elephant trek and bamboo rafting. Easy too, took my 14 year old daughter and 71 year old mom. Great English speaking guide. Lunch at the elephant camp was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We absolutely love the elephant trekking and rafting but opted to skip the hill tribe villages later in the afternoon. It was too much for one day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Experience was very personal, informative, comfortable, exciting and engaging, from start to finish. Our guide spoke wonderful English and expended great effort in educating us about the area and culture. Jungle trek was awesome as was the raft down the river. A truly wonderful day!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Elephants and trainers are amazing. Lisu tribe and children charming. Lunch was terrific.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very nice tour. And our guide Tien was fantasctic, very knowledgable and a loveley person.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a fantastic day with these giant animals

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Such a great experience and so relieved to know they chose a camp where they animals are treated very well. The hill tribe village part, was not the long neck, and was super small, almost looked set up just so people could buy souvenirs.

SK
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great, well paced trip. Enjoyed the elephant trek and the rafting. Hill tribe tour was average.

Geoff
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

This tour we all had a great time and guide was very informative and friendly. We even stopped off at the tiger park on the way home

Kevin D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Watching the elephants working and performing was a highlight of my trip. The elephant ride though the bush and the rafting were both serene and relaxing.

Hyunhee C
South Korea

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

In here there are two types of the trip covering elephant trek, rafting and hilltrive. I was wondered what will be the difference when I booked. However, I chose the more expensive one expecting better quality. But I would like to recommend to buy the cheaper one since there are no difference in major activities. In this program, local company said that we can go to monkey training camp or long-neck hill tribe after the rafting. Of course we can go to the hilltribe but that hilltribe is the same hilltribe we have visited with the elephant riding. In that case, no difference. So, we wanted to go to the other hilltribe or something else. Then we had to pay extra money. So we ended up finished early.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We took our 3 kids on this tour and they loved the elephant show and ride. However, the "hillside village" was little more than a stop at what appeared to once be an actual hillside village, but now was just a souvenir stand. It would have been better if some history had been shared, etc. The rafting portion was also a bit anti-climatic in that it wasn't really all that scenic. But, it was a good opportunity to just relax and talk as you float down the river.

Our guide - Ung - was outstanding, as was our driver. She was engaged and looked after us the entire time, and shared the history of the area and much of what we were seeing as we drove to and from the site.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Great hand on tour where you get to ride elephants through the jungles of chiang mai, and raft down the ping river. The only confusing part about my time on the tour is that we did mot visit any hilltribes as promised, with the exception being the mock up of a hilltribe village halfway through the elephant trek. Would of rated this tour four or five stars if it was not for the missing out on the hilltribe visits.

From USD $ 97.73

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685CNX20C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message