Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

PO CHEN L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Kevin F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Had a great time. Tour is fun. The river rafting was rough on me with back.problems. No back rests.Food was good. Had a good time.

Christine C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

We had a great day, met nice people and learned a lot about the Asian elephant. The ride was awesome, especially when we came out of the canopy into the river! Knowledgable guide.

Joseph Jean P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The location of the area was excellent. The trip took you to the best places and the ride of the elephants was fantastic. You are making different stops at different places to buy stuff along the way and those are expensive bit high quality.

Maria Jannet R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We had a great time with the elephants, especially the 90-min ride from the camp to the hill tribe and back, and the 45-min bamboo rafting at the Ping River.

Katherina D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

It was fun!!!

Theresa L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was amazing! Firstly watching the elephants being washed and then a trip through the jungle finishing with a stroll up the river. I was in awe of the elephants!
My only criticism would be the rafting but only because we went straight from the elephants to the raft without any time to get a drink or go to the toilet etc. and the trip down the river was for 50minutes!!! It was also very hot and there was no shade so need to take lots of sun cream with you!

worldtravel

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Weather was perfect, very few bugs

DeanC Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was a good tour, our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Sandy

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Loved the small group of five. The elephants seemed to be treated well. The trek to the village was just a chance to shop, not to see their way of life. The rafting was very relaxing. The lunch stop was lovely.

Alison C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Very fun and relaxing. Lunch was good. Lots of good photo opportunities with the elephants. Raft ride was a fun plus.

Robert Iwan J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The english speaking guide and driver were very good. Thoroughly enjoyed the elephant trek, show and rafting. The elephants were made to do traditional work in the show rather than circus tricks, which was good. Recommended.

Pat W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

The elephant camp was the highlight of our trip to Thailand and fulfilled all expectations. We stopped at an orchid farm for a comfort stop and it also gave the opportunity to look at some wonderful orchids. On arrival we were just in time to watch the elephants bathing in the river. There was an opportunity to feed them bunches of bananas. The elephants then gave a demonstration of their skills lifting and moving logs, working as a team in various ways. We then went on our safari through the jungle which was fabulous, stopping at the hilltribe village before returning via the river. We then enjoyed an excellent lunch, my husband is a picky eater and this is usually the worst part of any day trip for him, but he ate everything put in front of him! After lunch we went along the river on our bamboo raft which was so peaceful and a perfect end to the day. The only disappointment was that we had to share a raft with another couple (who shared the mini bus with us from Chiang Mai) whereas everybody else had individual rafts. The guide said that Tour East had only paid for one raft. This meant that there was only one professional photograph available to purchase at the end of the trip (very reasonably priced in a handmade paper frame) and the other couple purchased it. For the cost of the trip I think individual rafts should be provided. The minibus, guide and driver were all excellent

David S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Was great, well arranged and got to see a lot. Only criticism is that we weren't given much time with the elephants before and after the trek to feed or touch, it was all every do this and then this etc. as it was a elephant trip would of been good to interact with them more. But it was a very good day. Thank you

Crystal M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Feeding the elephants was so much fun! The food was great and the trek through the jungle was an experience I will never forget!

Charles-henry C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Tour well organised, elephant camp very charming, river tour was relaxing. Overall a nice experience.

DAVID C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Great tour, although we couldn't do the river raft as the river was up to high, the elephant ride was great, you cant ride elephants in Australia for that price, and great tour guides as well.

Gary K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Definitely a "must do" if you're in Chiang Mai and looking for something to do. Guide picked us us being newlyweds from the U.S. on our honeymoon up early and even made another stop that I didn't know we were doing the orchid & butterfly farm, which was a nice plus since this was on the way and my wife really enjoyed it there. There were many more elephants there than I though which was cool and they seemed to be very smart and trained well. Food was thai and very very good, 5 stars for sure on the lunch. Riding the elephant was fun, but not too eventful and therefore made me drop the rating from 5 to 4 stars. Rafting was peaceful and romantic, saw some different animals along the way. Guide took us to the tiger kingdom after all was said in done too. Overall, a very good day. Kids would probably love it here, but not if they're afraid of large animals.

Eric W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

If the weather had been better, it would have been more enjoyable. Overall, a good experience.

Randal N USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Great tour, the guide was excellent, the Elephant Trek was great, and the bamboo rafting was peaceful and relaxing. The only disappointment was "The Hill Village". Nothing more than a display of buildings with vendors there to sell you souvenirs.

Simon M Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

It was very slow, which I wasn't expecting. However, for those wanting the elephants and some scenery, or those wanting a tour on the slower, more restful side, then this would be more suitable.

Michael T USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

This is a great experience, totally worth doing. My kids were laughing and learning throughout the whole experience. River rafting was an experience the kids will not forget, and the river is slow enough to allow everyone an opportunity to steer the raft. Lunch was great. I highly recommend doing this tour.

Mohan K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The elephant show could be made more interactive and time can be given about the history of each elephant and their past and their daily routine.

The river rafting is really just sitting in the river on a catamaran, so definitely could be renamed accordingly.

Vanessa H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

I was ok... kind of disappointing. You can't sit on the elephants, you ride in a basket. I had wanted to do the rafting too, but the water was too high so the tour guide tried to appease me by showing me other activities, though I really didn't want to (think monkeys in chains being mistreated :/).

Leighton K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Feeding, watching them bathe and riding the elephants was pretty cool. However the 'village', is totally staged. We didn't get to walk through the water either, that was the river raft. The food however, was amazing.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 79.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685CNX28

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message