Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 103 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 103 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Colm M
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Really enjoyed this!

Pamela S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Wonderful! I will do it again. Lots of time on the elephants, and it was lovely floating down the river! A great lunch, and there was time later in the afternoon to fit in petting the tigers!

Roy C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

A fantastic day, lots to do and see, and an excellent tour guide. The lunch was very good, everything was well organized. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Incredible experience!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Recommended it to others we met at our hostel and specifically mentioned Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

A wonderful adventure. Guide was great and the trip started on time...no waiting. Would recommend this trip and online booking service to anyone. Thanks for making this a memorable experience and a wonderful addition to our entire trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Just a wonderful experience for our family of four. Prompt pick-up at our hotel. Our guide spoke excellent English and had a sense of humor, very experienced and knew the elephants well. He made sure that we got front row seats for everything. The lunch was great overlooking the river. The whole tour was also timed paced really well so we had enough time to finish each step yet never wasted any time. Riding the elephants through the jungle was just a fantastic experience we will never forget. It was so beautiful and peaceful, totally relaxing. At first I was a bit disappointed that the elephant guy couldn't speak any English to chat with me. But as we went, I realized what a blessing it was to be able to not talk and just thoroughly enjoy nature. Our kids 5 & 7 were originally nervous about the idea of sitting on an elephant, but they now tell me that this was the best part of our whole vacation, even beating playing on the beach. Rafting down Ping River on the bamboo raft was also an awesome experience. Pretty much anywhere you visit in Thailand, you can find some kind of elephant trekking tour somewhere. But we felt like none of them could have compared to the one we went on. The location was ideal, the elephants well trained, the mahoots so experienced, and the scenery just beautiful.

HUGO G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

This is an amazing tour that includes so much - seeing the elephants bathing was really good and there were a few rather nice surprises in the elephant show. The elephant ride was an interesting experience, if not a rocky one and the hill tribe village was akin to a shopping centre. The river raft ride was a beautiful experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

What a great trip. Exactly as described. The elephant trek lasted approx. 30 mins each way with a 15 min break at a small village. The river trip lasted approx. 45 mins. Lunch was excellent and the orchid farm a nice extra. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Dimitri T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We had a beautiful day. The guide was lovely, gracious and spoke excellent English. The whole trip was well paced, we did not feel rushed. Elephants wonderful and looked content and well treated. Raft trip gentle and lovely. The lunch that was supplied was the only aspect that was not so good, but given the location we were not to disappointed. Overall, highly recommended.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

My 22-year-old daughter has had special place in her heart for elephants since she was a little girl, so when we decided to go to Thailand, riding elephants was at the top of our list of things we had to do. I booked this tour based on the reviews I'd read and was absolutely delighted with the experience. Our guide was charming and full of information, his English was very good and he made the trip that much more special. Both the trek through the jungle on the elephants and rafting the Ping River were slow and quiet, just the right antidote for the previous days hustle and bustle of Bangkok. Lunch was also on of the best meals we had the entire trip. The scenery was beautiful and the people warm and welcoming. This is a trip I would highly recommend for anyone of any age!

Simon C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The holiday highlight! Great day out with everything running like clockwork.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I thought this tour was very good; so much so that having done this tour once before two years ago, it was the first thing on the agenda to show our first-time-visitor friends in Thailand. The show they do with the elephants, showing their working skills was very good, particularly since they didn't have any commentary! We actually appreciated that, as it made it truly multi-lingual, and made you realise you were really in a foreign country.

The trip through the forest on the elephants' backs was magic. I could quite happily do this again and again. The raft-ride down the river was magical also - very quiet and peaceful, very relaxing and very beautiful! I could quite happily do this trip many times and never tire of it. On the whole, excellent value - I would recommend this to everybody!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

This was a great experience! Our tour guide was awesome. Our entire family loved this excursion.

PATRICIA C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

This was the best tour we did in three weeks of traveling in Thailand. An excellent programme, lunch was great, and the elephants fantastic. I would highly recommend it.

Joan P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Well worth seeing, well organized and excellent guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

I thoroughly enjoyed my tour. My guide was very helpful and informative.

Lesley R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

This was the highlight of our trip and one of the main reasons for visiting Thailand. We had a superb guide, a small and friendly group, and a great day on the elephants and on the river. Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The elephant ride and raft ride was great but the visit to the village was dis appointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Had good fun with the elephant jungle trek and river rafting. Almost a good whole day trip out with a very friendly tour guide!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Had a great time. Tour is fun. The river rafting was rough on me with back.problems. No back rests.Food was good. Had a good time.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

We had a great day, met nice people and learned a lot about the Asian elephant. The ride was awesome, especially when we came out of the canopy into the river! Knowledgable guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The location of the area was excellent. The trip took you to the best places and the ride of the elephants was fantastic. You are making different stops at different places to buy stuff along the way and those are expensive bit high quality.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We had a great time with the elephants, especially the 90-min ride from the camp to the hill tribe and back, and the 45-min bamboo rafting at the Ping River.

From USD $ 79.23

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685CNX28

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message