Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 43 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Howard H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

This is a very interesting way to visit the Golden Triangle and enjoy the scenery along the way from Chiang Mai to Chiang Rai.

William V

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

The tour waas good and gave good information. It's a bit too far to travel in one day - perhaps a stop over would be better or do a couple of days in Chiang Rai.

SYLVIA S L L

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Competently organised, with professional service. Its is a long drive though, and might be better if it had an overnight stay.

Adam T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

A pretty good tour. The White Temple was amazing. A long trip to the Golden Triangle but was worth it. Tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Brian L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Acceptable. Lots to see. Great visiting the long neck village! The tour guide should have explained more of the surroundings, stats and other info to us. More explaination and info on the surrounds would have made the tour more interesting. He was nice and accommodating, but he could have explained a bit more rather than us asking all the time.

Molly B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Too many stops in too many villages inundated with over-zealous locals selling their "handicrafts". Not much actual learning about opium fields or the trade of such in this region. Tour guide didn't make time for a 5-minute walk across the Myanmar border for a souvenir passport stamp. Nice lunch.

Gabriela R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Man fährt durch schöne Landschaftsabschnitte. Der Ausflug ist mit total fast 13 Stunden ein bisschen lang. Störend empfanden wir, dass man für die Longtail-Bootsfahrt auf dem Mekong nochmals 500 Baht pro Pers. bezahlen musste (ist zwar fakultativ - aber dennoch extrem hoher Preis. Reiseleiterin war wortkarg - könnte besser sein, man musste immer nachfragen wen man etwas wissen wolte.

HIEN V France

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Good tour but too long. We spent so much time in the van and the lunch was very late.

TBugarsky

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Fun and informative but a very long day!

Kevin D Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

The Karen tribe visit is a must do.

Susan H Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

A long day and a lot of driving. A few interesting stops along the way but a very long day. Worth doing, however. Some extras available such as a boat trip across to Laos. The buffet lunch was good. We would've appreciated more information from the tour guide about the areas driven through, the crops being grown, how the locals cultivate the crops, etc. This would've broken up the long drive. A few crops were pointed out but no other information given. Would've been good to get more facts in general about the hill tribe villages, how they get on with the Thai locals, what dialect they speak, etc. All in all, it was worthwhile.

alextager

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

This trip is way too long for one day and somewhat disappointing. You spend most of the day in the car and if your guide is not very engaging, as ours wasn't, it's just a long drive without much return. The Hot Springs are a roadside attraction, literally, like a truck stop, which you only get to put your feet into, and it was very disappointing to learn while we were already in the car that the hill tribe visit costs extra, quite a bit extra. It doesn't say that in the tour outline. Our guide was very nice but didn't give us anything but the most basic information, and I was asking questions! The Golden triangle is beautiful and cool but you aren't really there long enough to get that much of an understanding or feel for the place. We didn't go to the market because we were told, by our guide, that it is basically a market for knock-off goods. The White Temple is absolutely worth seeing. I wouldn't recommend this tour, the actual tour is not as advertised in the description.

Fernando S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

We pay the double comparing with what we could have got loacaly for the same tour with local agencies.

Linda E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

A very long day. Four hour drive each way - needed to be broken up more. The Golden Triangle was interesting, as was the White Temple. The opium museum, not so much.

Nikita M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

The trip could have been done at the half of the price if we booked it at a local guesthouse in Chiang Mai, which was a bit dissappointing us of course. The trip self was very nice, everything mentioned in the planning was covered. I would not recommend it however as you are almost an entire day sitting in a car, 13 hours away of which certainly 8 hours you are driving.

Mark M Ireland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

This was a good day; we had a nice tour guide. I would have liked to go across the border to Burma and to take a boat trip to Laos. I could have skipped the hill tribe, which did not seem genuine.

Ma. Micaela S USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

The place was definitely worth seeing, especially if you want to have a taste of Thailand (not just Bangkok). But it would have been much better if the tour guide knew more historical information, and if their English was better. During the trip to the place there were a lot of 'lull' moments wherein she could have given some background of towns, sites, etc.

George B USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

Considering the fullness of the day and the amount of time it took to get there, I would have enjoyed spending more than just 15 minutes in Mae Sai. Our guide seemed to want to rush us through in as quick a time as possible. I would have liked to cross the bridge into Myanmar, even for only a border stamp and 15 minutes at the market on the other side. The hot springs could have been skipped entirely.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 86.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685CNX24

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message