Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 34 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Chiang Mai, Thailand
  • Duration:9 hours (approx.)

Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

Read what other travelers think about the Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 34 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2


4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

This tour we all had a great time and guide was very informative and friendly. We even stopped off at the tiger park on the way home

Kevin D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Watching the elephants working and performing was a highlight of my trip. The elephant ride though the bush and the rafting were both serene and relaxing.

Hyunhee C
South Korea

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

In here there are two types of the trip covering elephant trek, rafting and hilltrive. I was wondered what will be the difference when I booked. However, I chose the more expensive one expecting better quality. But I would like to recommend to buy the cheaper one since there are no difference in major activities. In this program, local company said that we can go to monkey training camp or long-neck hill tribe after the rafting. Of course we can go to the hilltribe but that hilltribe is the same hilltribe we have visited with the elephant riding. In that case, no difference. So, we wanted to go to the other hilltribe or something else. Then we had to pay extra money. So we ended up finished early.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We took our 3 kids on this tour and they loved the elephant show and ride. However, the "hillside village" was little more than a stop at what appeared to once be an actual hillside village, but now was just a souvenir stand. It would have been better if some history had been shared, etc. The rafting portion was also a bit anti-climatic in that it wasn't really all that scenic. But, it was a good opportunity to just relax and talk as you float down the river.

Our guide - Ung - was outstanding, as was our driver. She was engaged and looked after us the entire time, and shared the history of the area and much of what we were seeing as we drove to and from the site.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Great hand on tour where you get to ride elephants through the jungles of chiang mai, and raft down the ping river. The only confusing part about my time on the tour is that we did mot visit any hilltribes as promised, with the exception being the mock up of a hilltribe village halfway through the elephant trek. Would of rated this tour four or five stars if it was not for the missing out on the hilltribe visits.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

This operator does pick up and drop off. The elephant ride and rafting was great. Lunch beautiful but find another way to get there. Guide spent more time talking to guides from other companies. Tour east seem to bea viator preferred operator. We have had 3 b grade experiences

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Enjoyed the elephant trek and rafting. The hilltribe visit to the Lisu tribe could have been made more interesting if we were told of their culture and living style, rather than just a walkthru of the selling stations. We were also expecting visits to the other tribes listed in the itinerary, but our guide didn't take us to any, and the 9 hour tour was only 6 hours, so we felt shortchanged about this. Our guide was humorous, though, we enjoyed him, but would have liked to see the other tribes that were supposed to be included in the trip. He told us initially that we could do other things if time allowed. Then he told us if we went to the tiger kingdom, we would have to pay 500 baht ourselves, when we were already shortchanged by not seeing the other hilltribes that were paid for in advance in this tour. If he wasn't going to take us to the other tribes, then the tiger kingdom fee should have been included in the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

We wanted the tour guide to give us more information about the country, history, society and so on. Did not receive much of it and mostly had to ask all kind of questions instead of being presented with information.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

Loved the elephant training center tour and show. It was both informative and entertaining. However the hill tribe village was hardly a "tour". We were dropped off in the middle of the forest. Nothing was explained to us, nobody spoke English, and we were left to wander through while the locals tried to sell the same tourist crap that you can get anywhere. Additionally, throughout the tour, our tour guide acted like a disgruntled chaperone shuttling us around. The same tour is available as a private tour for almost half the price from other agencies.

Viewing 2 of 2

Page: Previous | 1 | 2

From USD $ 90.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685CNX20C


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message