4 star rating: Recommended 45 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chicago City Tour and Chicago River Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 45 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Both tours were very interesting with the River Cruise the better of the two. Although the tour guide for the City Tour was personable enough he tried way too hard to try to personalize many of the sights to his personal life and experiences and not enough to the actual history and social significance of the interest points. As an example, when touring the area near the University of Chicago he was quick to point out where the Obama's go for pizza (as if this is of some interest) while he had to be asked about the work done on the atomic and where it was done at the University. He also was far too political in some of commentary during the tour as if some of the things he talked about were assumed to be universally popular among his audience. The tour guide for the River Architecture Cruise was knowledgable, had an excellent delivery and seemed to be genuinely interested in imparting information and snippets of minutia to the group.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We were told we would be picked up at the Palmer House, we did not know we had to go inside to the greyhound office and check in. Also a little confusing as to how to get to the River cruise. It was packed by the time we got there and we could not sit together. But the tours were great and we especially enjoyed the River Cruise once we found the boat.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

With all the competing tours on the river there were alot of boats out there, but this tour also provided refressments (Free) and the tour guide made it enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

City tour very informative, but some sites were just too far away to view..ie church..only saw the steeple in the distance. River cruise.. awesome

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Just great

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The City Tour was not worth it. But the River Cruise made up for it!
You would be better off doing the Hop on Hop off bus then the cruise seperately

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great tour, the only downside was the rude women driver on the trolley bus that connected the main tour to the boat tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Everything was great until I gave my bus driver a tip. He almost expected it. Also, I thought I was going to be brought back to the hotel from the boat ride. I was sadly mistaken.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

All in all a very recommendable tour. The tour guide was quite knowledgeable and explained all interesting points one could see during the tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The Boat Ride is definetley a must do.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

I really enjoyed the tour but there were times that I had difficulty understanding the bus driver/tour guide. Sometimes he would move too fast from one item to another. The boat tour was excellent! Excellent speaker with a microphone which was easy to hear and the food and beverages on the boat was a really nice touch!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

This tour was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Chicago river trip was very enjoyable. Regret that the tour of the South of Chicago was not so interesting. Not the fault of the tour operator, just the location. Regret that we were not picked up from our hotel as the bus had arrived 10 minutes early and left without us. Had to get taxi to pick up point at our expense!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The river tour was outstanding. The docent was knowlegable and entertaining. The river architecture was amazing.
The bus tour sucked. Could barely hear guide and bus went fast. The garden tour wasn't much. Would never recommend bus tour to anyone.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The ladies checking folks in were friendly, prompt and informative. This was also true for the city tour driver and tour guide. There was lots to see in the first ninety minutes. The river cruise was the best. Our guide was very informative and knowledgable with humor added in. One area to work on is the transfer from the city tour to the cruise. A Greyhound bus picked us up but did not know where to drop us for the river cruise. He ended dropping us about 1/2 mile from the cruise and could not tell which way to go. We barely made the cruise.

From USD $ 58.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3568LANDLAKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message