Insider's Guide to Chicago

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 67 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Terry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our trip was great and we had the best tour of Chicago we could have had. Thanks so much for all your help with tickets. Could not have been better.

christine w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

IWe found regarding the pick transfers was un organised it got con fusing as no one took the time to explain to us.The tours once we were one the way were great

Diane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed both the bus tour and the river cruise tour. Very relaxing and informative'

Christine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Excellent would recommend this tour

Laurie C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Very good bus tour, but poor communication between the bus company & the boat company caused us to waste much of our valuable limited time in Chicago. We were dropped off at the dock, but boats were canceled. Refund was quickly provided, however.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Good tour of Chicago, had just enough to give us an overview of the city without being too much info. Recommended.

garf1108

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent way to see the interesting sites in Chicago. Our tour guide was excellent, informative and funny. Luckily, we had the same tour guide as our previous day's tour

Maxine S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The bus tour was very informative. We had a great driver, Leon. Toured the south loop. Then to the boat tour. Very knowledgable tour guide. We spent 90 mnutes looking at the buldings. Informative, fun, and a pleaant day.

tawannad1

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Enjoyed both the bus and cruise tour. Very informative and great pictures taken.

Samuel M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Under normal circumstances this tour would be given 5 stars for its content, length, and value for money. Unfortunately, when we arrived at the pick up point for the tour, We and another group could not join the tour bus as it was full. The tour guide could not have been more apologetic and helpful, and we were guaranteed seats on a later tour and given compensatory vouchers in the meantime. We were in the fortunate position of being able to return later. This might not have been the case under other circumstances, in which case the experience would have been a total disappointment. The operator should either ensure tours are not overbooked or have contingencies for handling extra people.

cheryl s

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

the tour guides were excellent - especially the one on the river covering architecture. There was much confusion on transferring from one bus to another - better coordination is needed. Also, it would be beneficial to offer transportation from the boat back to original dropoff. At least giving a walking map would help out of towners.

Janet M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Both tours were very interesting with the River Cruise the better of the two. Although the tour guide for the City Tour was personable enough he tried way too hard to try to personalize many of the sights to his personal life and experiences and not enough to the actual history and social significance of the interest points. As an example, when touring the area near the University of Chicago he was quick to point out where the Obama's go for pizza (as if this is of some interest) while he had to be asked about the work done on the atomic and where it was done at the University. He also was far too political in some of commentary during the tour as if some of the things he talked about were assumed to be universally popular among his audience. The tour guide for the River Architecture Cruise was knowledgable, had an excellent delivery and seemed to be genuinely interested in imparting information and snippets of minutia to the group.

Paulina S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We were told we would be picked up at the Palmer House, we did not know we had to go inside to the greyhound office and check in. Also a little confusing as to how to get to the River cruise. It was packed by the time we got there and we could not sit together. But the tours were great and we especially enjoyed the River Cruise once we found the boat.

Edward L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

With all the competing tours on the river there were alot of boats out there, but this tour also provided refressments (Free) and the tour guide made it enjoyable.

Margaret F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

City tour very informative, but some sites were just too far away to view..ie church..only saw the steeple in the distance. River cruise.. awesome

Lawrence R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The City Tour was not worth it. But the River Cruise made up for it!
You would be better off doing the Hop on Hop off bus then the cruise seperately

gaz

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great tour, the only downside was the rude women driver on the trolley bus that connected the main tour to the boat tour.

Marques B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Everything was great until I gave my bus driver a tip. He almost expected it. Also, I thought I was going to be brought back to the hotel from the boat ride. I was sadly mistaken.

Ludwig M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

All in all a very recommendable tour. The tour guide was quite knowledgeable and explained all interesting points one could see during the tour.

Maria Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The Boat Ride is definetley a must do.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

I really enjoyed the tour but there were times that I had difficulty understanding the bus driver/tour guide. Sometimes he would move too fast from one item to another. The boat tour was excellent! Excellent speaker with a microphone which was easy to hear and the food and beverages on the boat was a really nice touch!

Lina D USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

This tour was very good.

Edward T

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The bus tour portion was terrible! The driver was erratic, the guide less than knowledgeable. It was the Thursday before the air and water show, so all he could talk about was the 'Blue Angels flying over us. We were hoping for some history behind the buildings and architecture, he didn't seem to know a thing! Now the boat tour was OUTSTANDING! Our guide was knowledgeable, entertaining, professional - his part in the tour made it worth doing again. Maybe next time we will recommend the boat tour and scratch the bus part!

Richard F

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The tour itself was excellent but we had to wait 25 minutes for some people who were late getting to the bus so we had 30 minutes reduced from our bus tour. The tour should have left on time and those people should have been out of luck. The tour itself was excellent and worth the 's. Tour guide superb,
Rick F. Canada

Amy B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The architectural part of the tour was outstanding. I loved the guide, he was so knowledgeable, enjoyable to listen to, and kept a good pace. The bus tour was disappointing due to the fact that we were in a greyhound bus, it was very difficult to see everything. Also the reflection on the glass from the other side of the street was annoying. The guide was pleasant and knowledgeable, but we wished we were on an open top bus.

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 60.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3568LANDLAKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message