5 star rating: Highly Recommended 28 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Duration:  11 hrs

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kaikoura Whale Watch Day Tour from Christchurch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 28 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was a great day trip. Great scenery around Kaikoura. Not to mention five sperm whale sightings. Very professional operation. Go do it!!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The trip was cancelled on the day we booked due to bad weather but we were asked if we wanted to go the following day and there was no hassle arranging this. The trip was well organised and definitely the highlight of the holiday. It was quite moving to be so close to a whale. We also saw an albatross, dolphins, petrels and seals.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Amazing! Our guide knew a lot about the area and its cultural background. The boat caught sight of a whale and we were off!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Fantastic day out, the driver/guide was excellent, the team on the boat looked after us well and the food for lunch was delicious. And I got to see a sperm whale, perfect!

Mark C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Very good - loved it.

Edward
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We managed to see a few sperm whales and the trip was quite fascinating to see how we track the whales. However, although it was in the fine print that we may not get to go to the winery for a wine tasting, it was still disappointing. Perhaps the driver should have told us at the beginning that we were not going, so that we need not have such expectations.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wonderfull. Something to do again. Really nice busdriver.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Really can see the whale by 2 times. Lucky!!!
Vinyard is good also

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great tour, very helpful and friendly driver, interesting commentary on the boat. And we saw two whales!! Recommended, just don't forget tablets for motion sickness if you're prone to it...

Elizabeth A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Regrettably, the boat trip was cancelled just 15 minutes before we got there on the coach. But instead we were given the option of watching from a plane--not quite the same, but we saw a whale. Great!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Insufficient time was allowed in the morning for the coach driver to make his pick-ups. We were the last to be collected and the coach was 30 minutes late due to the Christchurch traffic. Unsure what was happening we tried to call the tour operator for information, but the office was closed. We left a message, but no one returned our call. Due to the late arrival of the coach the journey to Kaikoura was rushed, arriving barely in time for the boat (but all credit to the driver for getting us there just in time). On the return journey the wine tasting at Mud House was very rushed and more time should have been allowed

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The actual whale sighting was a bit of a let-down as I was expecting a pod of humpback whales rather than a single sperm whale. But the trip was comfortable and very informative on the species as a whole. I did also enjoy seeing the large dolphin pod.

Brian T
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

If you are actually holidaying at Kaikoura and do the whale watch then it is maybe worth doing. But to do it from Christchurch, which is approx 3 and a bit hours each way in a bus, is tiring and monotonous, and subsequently the excursion is overpriced for what you get out of it.

From USD $ 254.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2950CLT08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message