Insider's Guide to Christchurch

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 73 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Chi Ho K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Felt excited to be standing at the filming site with all the weapons provided. The trip is worth going even if you are not a fan of the lord of the ring. Fantastic View.

Raymond R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A great way to see where the movie was shot. Awesome.

Birgit H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great time! Hammond was a great guide who shared his knowledge working on the set!! Amazing scenery. Lots of stops to enjoy the amazing scenery and to take pictures. One of the best tours of my life!!

Fin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This trip was simply awesome. Excellent tour overall, great vistas, but the best part about the trip was our guide Dell. He took great care of us and is one of the best and funniest human beings with have ever met! Thanks Dell and Viator!! Loved it.

Violet Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Other than the scenery and awesome views, the tour guide was definitely the other highlight of the trip. He was so knowledgeable and full of stories from all 3 movies. They even played music and docmentaries from the movie so that your car ride wasnt gonna be so boring! Definitely must do tour!

Nicholas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Fantastic day with a delicious lunch

Dr Dian H H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

A great way to check out the sub-alpine countryside and wildlife. Out tour guide Steve was well-informed and helpful. From Mt Pott station, it would be nice if we went on foot or on horse-back instead of the 4WD-it would be more physical and fun.

Thu-Ha N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

It was amazing!!! Rex was engaging and comfortable as our tour guide full of information and jokes. The views were spectacular and its understandable why LOTR made use of NZ nature. I would recommend this for everyone wanting to spend a relaxing day away from the city. They feed you delicious sandwiches and a delectable chocolate cake to be washed down with lovely champagne! My only wish was that there had been snow!!

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Excellent start to our holiday in NZ. Steve was a very friendly, accommodating guide who kept us entertained with his local knowledge. Nothing was too much trouble. Delicious lunch, fantastic scenery, good company. What more could you ask for?

Sandra Teh Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

awesome!

Jaclyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Great group, knowledgeable guide, comfortable vehicle, perfect weather, unbelievable scenery! As an ardent fan of Lord of the Rings, it was a dream come true! It was certainly Lord of the Rings based, but there was a lady on the trip who didn't even watch the movies before and thoroughly enjoyed the landscape. Many people like to rent a car and drive around New Zealand themselves, but this particular location would be inaccessible. This trip is DEFINITELY worth the time and money!

Scott R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Long trip but had some great scenery. This trip is more for the scenery and the lord of the rings is a little bonus.

Linda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This was a stunning trip and as our guide was a sound recorder who had worked on all 3 Lord of the Ring films, it was also very informative and interesting. I would highly recommend this trip!

TRACEY H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Highly recommended....it was a brilliant day and my two teenage children thoroughly enjoyed it.......our guide was fantastic with a great sense of humour and lots of interesting facts .

Paul P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Absolutely brilliant with an extremely knowledgeable guide. A fantastic experience and look forward to doing it again. We had 360 degree views of snowcapped mountains...gorgeous.

Bruce K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Wonderful - 4 wheel drive vehicle very comfortable, driver very intersting and scenery amazing.

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This is a great trip for seeing the very scenic areas surrounding Mount Sunday. Our guide was very informative with local knowledge, but the main highlight was, climbing the Endoras sight. Our guide helped us relive many of the spectacular scenes from Lord of the Rings, feeling the majesty of the location in the film. He made it a personal, magical experience for each person. Its a must do!

Dave G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We were picked up as scheduled and treated to a glorious day in the mountains, plus a fantastic guide who was able to verbally and visually recreate the movie scenes for us. A trip well worth the cost.

Luis T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Great experience, made me watch all the movies again! Guides had vast array of knowledge and facts which enhanced our tour making it unforgettable! Thank you kindly.

James T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was a wonderful tour and our guide was amazing. He really enjoyed his work and new all about New Zealand to provide nice history on the way out and back. The trip did involve a hike up to the area where they filmed Lord of the Rings. You would need to be in moderate shape to make that hike. Would recommend it to anyone.

Christian W Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A really special experience! The tour guide spoilt us with his way of explaining and serving!

Karolina K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

The trip was excellent well planned, well organised and the guide knew very valuable and entertaining information about the route, the location and the way the movie was made. A great vegetarian lunch, with chocolate cake, included. Thank you very much!

Harry M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

This was an excellent, fascinating experience, and the best of our four tours. The tour guide was a bit of an egotist, but was full of interesting information about Lord of the Rings. The champagne lunch at the sheep station was also memorable.

Rochelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip and were lucky enough to have amazing weather, warm even on the mountain top. The four wheel drive ride through the fields, along the river and up the mountainside was enormous fun and the view when we climbed to the top was just amazing. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and full of information about Lord of the Rings. Would recommend it to anybody and hope you get the wonderful sunshine that we did.

Lesley F United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was an excellent tour with knowledgeable and friendly guides.

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 182.04

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2922LOTR01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message