5 star rating: Highly Recommended 56 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 56 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This trip was simply awesome. Excellent tour overall, great vistas, but the best part about the trip was our guide Dell. He took great care of us and is one of the best and funniest human beings with have ever met! Thanks Dell and Viator!! Loved it.

Violet
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Other than the scenery and awesome views, the tour guide was definitely the other highlight of the trip. He was so knowledgeable and full of stories from all 3 movies. They even played music and docmentaries from the movie so that your car ride wasnt gonna be so boring! Definitely must do tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Fantastic day with a delicious lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

A great way to check out the sub-alpine countryside and wildlife. Out tour guide Steve was well-informed and helpful. From Mt Pott station, it would be nice if we went on foot or on horse-back instead of the 4WD-it would be more physical and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

It was amazing!!! Rex was engaging and comfortable as our tour guide full of information and jokes. The views were spectacular and its understandable why LOTR made use of NZ nature. I would recommend this for everyone wanting to spend a relaxing day away from the city. They feed you delicious sandwiches and a delectable chocolate cake to be washed down with lovely champagne! My only wish was that there had been snow!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Excellent start to our holiday in NZ. Steve was a very friendly, accommodating guide who kept us entertained with his local knowledge. Nothing was too much trouble. Delicious lunch, fantastic scenery, good company. What more could you ask for?

Sandra Teh
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Great group, knowledgeable guide, comfortable vehicle, perfect weather, unbelievable scenery! As an ardent fan of Lord of the Rings, it was a dream come true! It was certainly Lord of the Rings based, but there was a lady on the trip who didn't even watch the movies before and thoroughly enjoyed the landscape. Many people like to rent a car and drive around New Zealand themselves, but this particular location would be inaccessible. This trip is DEFINITELY worth the time and money!

Scott R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Long trip but had some great scenery. This trip is more for the scenery and the lord of the rings is a little bonus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This was a stunning trip and as our guide was a sound recorder who had worked on all 3 Lord of the Ring films, it was also very informative and interesting. I would highly recommend this trip!

TRACEY H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Highly recommended....it was a brilliant day and my two teenage children thoroughly enjoyed it.......our guide was fantastic with a great sense of humour and lots of interesting facts .

Paul P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Absolutely brilliant with an extremely knowledgeable guide. A fantastic experience and look forward to doing it again. We had 360 degree views of snowcapped mountains...gorgeous.

Bruce K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Wonderful - 4 wheel drive vehicle very comfortable, driver very intersting and scenery amazing.

Kim L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This is a great trip for seeing the very scenic areas surrounding Mount Sunday. Our guide was very informative with local knowledge, but the main highlight was, climbing the Endoras sight. Our guide helped us relive many of the spectacular scenes from Lord of the Rings, feeling the majesty of the location in the film. He made it a personal, magical experience for each person. Its a must do!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We were picked up as scheduled and treated to a glorious day in the mountains, plus a fantastic guide who was able to verbally and visually recreate the movie scenes for us. A trip well worth the cost.

From USD $ 194.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2922LOTR01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message