4.5 star rating: Recommended 47 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 47 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Great group, knowledgeable guide, comfortable vehicle, perfect weather, unbelievable scenery! As an ardent fan of Lord of the Rings, it was a dream come true! It was certainly Lord of the Rings based, but there was a lady on the trip who didn't even watch the movies before and thoroughly enjoyed the landscape. Many people like to rent a car and drive around New Zealand themselves, but this particular location would be inaccessible. This trip is DEFINITELY worth the time and money!

Scott R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Long trip but had some great scenery. This trip is more for the scenery and the lord of the rings is a little bonus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This was a stunning trip and as our guide was a sound recorder who had worked on all 3 Lord of the Ring films, it was also very informative and interesting. I would highly recommend this trip!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Highly recommended....it was a brilliant day and my two teenage children thoroughly enjoyed it.......our guide was fantastic with a great sense of humour and lots of interesting facts .

Paul P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Absolutely brilliant with an extremely knowledgeable guide. A fantastic experience and look forward to doing it again. We had 360 degree views of snowcapped mountains...gorgeous.

Bruce K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Wonderful - 4 wheel drive vehicle very comfortable, driver very intersting and scenery amazing.

Kim L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This is a great trip for seeing the very scenic areas surrounding Mount Sunday. Our guide was very informative with local knowledge, but the main highlight was, climbing the Endoras sight. Our guide helped us relive many of the spectacular scenes from Lord of the Rings, feeling the majesty of the location in the film. He made it a personal, magical experience for each person. Its a must do!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We were picked up as scheduled and treated to a glorious day in the mountains, plus a fantastic guide who was able to verbally and visually recreate the movie scenes for us. A trip well worth the cost.

Luis T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Great experience, made me watch all the movies again! Guides had vast array of knowledge and facts which enhanced our tour making it unforgettable! Thank you kindly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was a wonderful tour and our guide was amazing. He really enjoyed his work and new all about New Zealand to provide nice history on the way out and back. The trip did involve a hike up to the area where they filmed Lord of the Rings. You would need to be in moderate shape to make that hike. Would recommend it to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A really special experience! The tour guide spoilt us with his way of explaining and serving!

Karolina K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

The trip was excellent well planned, well organised and the guide knew very valuable and entertaining information about the route, the location and the way the movie was made. A great vegetarian lunch, with chocolate cake, included. Thank you very much!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

This was an excellent, fascinating experience, and the best of our four tours. The tour guide was a bit of an egotist, but was full of interesting information about Lord of the Rings. The champagne lunch at the sheep station was also memorable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip and were lucky enough to have amazing weather, warm even on the mountain top. The four wheel drive ride through the fields, along the river and up the mountainside was enormous fun and the view when we climbed to the top was just amazing. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and full of information about Lord of the Rings. Would recommend it to anybody and hope you get the wonderful sunshine that we did.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was an excellent tour with knowledgeable and friendly guides.

From USD $ 200.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2922LOTR01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message