Insider's Guide to Christchurch

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 73 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Clare M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This tour was very good even though today it took a lot longer than anticipated. Lunch was served at 3pm which was really a bit late. Most of the group got on very well together but there was a family that didn't want to know anybody else and were getting alot of favoritism from the driver. The driver/tour guide was very good but some people missed out on photos due to the family that obviously thought they should have had a personal trip.
Apart from that the tour was good and we got to see everything we wanted to.
Generally speaking I would recommend this tour to others.

Pamela W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I wish I had known a little more about what was going to happen on the excursion. I did not know that there would be a hike involved so wore the wrong clothes. Some more information explaining what to expect on the whole trip would have been good.

Jane W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide was awesome and knew a lot about the area and the movies.

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was a very nice daytrip, not only for LOTR fans. A lot of pictures shown and very good views.

Donna C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Brent was an excellent guide with lots of information about the moving filming that took place for the LOTR trilogy.

Yuen-Hua N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Although the weather is not good. I still have good time there. Different view of middle earth. :-)

Hon Kong L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The trip is good and worth going. But the coach journey is a bit long. The four wheel drive vehicle is cool and comfortable. The most important is the stunning view of Mount Sunday.

Tammy D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It's a good hike to the top, but the views are worth the hike!

Michelle-Anne M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Thanks to big Steve for a great day exploring around Christchurch and mount Sunday. Beautiful scenery and great information as we drove along from our guide. The walk up edoras was brilliant - my son can't stop raving about how much he enjoyed the trip. Once again thanks for helping to make our trip to NZ memorable.

Eric T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Enhanced my love of the movies

Christina M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Had a brilliant day,even the weather stayed good. This was a holiday birthday present which will be hard to beat in the future!! Well done Hammond for giving us a fantastic informative day.

David H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

We had a great trip; Our tour guide was very informative and made the experience enjoyable even though we were with a group that didn't know the movie as well as we did. Thanks Terry!

Sut Yee L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

It was a good tour. The guide was entertaining and the entire itinerary was well-planned. I loved the passion behind the guide's detailed explanation and description about 'Lord of the Rings'. The only pity was the weather. It was too foggy for us to have a good view of Edoras. But it's definitely worth the money for this trip.

Nicola S United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

If you're a die hard LOTR fan then this is a must!

Ferdy O Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

When you have a spare day in Christchurch, I would highly suggest this trip. The staff knows everything about the place and the movies all three of them. The view were magnificent, even if you have not seen the movies before I can guarantee that you will be amazed.

Elizabeth A United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Although not a huge fan of LOTR I really enjoyed this trip. The scenery was outstanding and the guides commentary entertaining. A good day out, very well organised.

Patricia B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

The scenery was magnificent, and this is a definite must for Lord of the Rings fans.

garywyo

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

So so tour, the bloom will be off the rose when the LOTR hysteria passes.

Rebecca W

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

great tour saw a lot of locations from the movie. a little windy, take a jacket. good photos with flag and weapons.

Jennifer T Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

I was in a small group. The guide was very imformative and great views.

Mark L USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

I have never seen any of the Lord of the Rings movies, but this tour is worth taking. The scenery alone was worth the bus drive!

Mia F Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

Weather wasn't too good, and we only managed 15 minutes on the mountain. You would need to be a die-hard fan to take this tour.

Josephine C Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2007

This was a waste of time and money. The tour guide was fantastic though.

Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

From USD $ 181.88

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2922LOTR01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message