5 star rating: Highly Recommended 56 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 56 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Luis T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Great experience, made me watch all the movies again! Guides had vast array of knowledge and facts which enhanced our tour making it unforgettable! Thank you kindly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was a wonderful tour and our guide was amazing. He really enjoyed his work and new all about New Zealand to provide nice history on the way out and back. The trip did involve a hike up to the area where they filmed Lord of the Rings. You would need to be in moderate shape to make that hike. Would recommend it to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A really special experience! The tour guide spoilt us with his way of explaining and serving!

Karolina K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

The trip was excellent well planned, well organised and the guide knew very valuable and entertaining information about the route, the location and the way the movie was made. A great vegetarian lunch, with chocolate cake, included. Thank you very much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

This was an excellent, fascinating experience, and the best of our four tours. The tour guide was a bit of an egotist, but was full of interesting information about Lord of the Rings. The champagne lunch at the sheep station was also memorable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip and were lucky enough to have amazing weather, warm even on the mountain top. The four wheel drive ride through the fields, along the river and up the mountainside was enormous fun and the view when we climbed to the top was just amazing. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and full of information about Lord of the Rings. Would recommend it to anybody and hope you get the wonderful sunshine that we did.

Lesley F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was an excellent tour with knowledgeable and friendly guides.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was a very nice daytrip, not only for LOTR fans. A lot of pictures shown and very good views.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Brent was an excellent guide with lots of information about the moving filming that took place for the LOTR trilogy.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Although the weather is not good. I still have good time there. Different view of middle earth. :-)

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The trip is good and worth going. But the coach journey is a bit long. The four wheel drive vehicle is cool and comfortable. The most important is the stunning view of Mount Sunday.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It's a good hike to the top, but the views are worth the hike!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Thanks to big Steve for a great day exploring around Christchurch and mount Sunday. Beautiful scenery and great information as we drove along from our guide. The walk up edoras was brilliant - my son can't stop raving about how much he enjoyed the trip. Once again thanks for helping to make our trip to NZ memorable.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Enhanced my love of the movies

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Had a brilliant day,even the weather stayed good. This was a holiday birthday present which will be hard to beat in the future!! Well done Hammond for giving us a fantastic informative day.

From USD $ 192.12

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2922LOTR01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message