Insider's Guide to Christchurch

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 51 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Nicola G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I did the half day tour, with lunch option, which was excellent value for money. Visited 4 fantastic wineries where we were able to taste a range of grape varieties. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Wei Lin T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We were on the tour with Rodney. He was very friendly and warm, and told us a lot about Christchurch while driving along the streets. The company was excellent as well. Great trip, and thanks Rodney for being our guide!

Amy L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Would do again

Margaret K

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We originally rated this highly but then gave it 4 star after doing the wine trail in Queenstown. The driver/guide was very helpful and we visited 4 wineries with lunch at one. The tastings were many and very intersting. Would recommend.

Rebecca P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time on this tour. Our very hospitable driver, John, picked up the two of us and an additional two other lovely tourists. We sampled many local wines and enjoyed hearing about the history of each place we visited. The time went by very quickly and our only complaint was feeling a little rushed by our tour driver at times - perhaps having stayed too long at our first location where we all ate lunch. Very much recommend this tour to people of all ages.

Christopher L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Very enjoyable day out, tour guide was very friendly and informative,good range of wineries visited Mud House was by far the best in terms of enthusiasm, education, information and generosity in respect of sampling. Felt Greystone Winery lacked motivation and interest.

Karen Y Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Visited 4 local wineries with tasting plate for lunch at first winery. Good Tour

Mrs Jennifer A N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We came to the area 3 weeks after the devastating earthquake but were determined it would not stop us enjoying what was on offer. We were collected at our accommodation and were the only two on the tour. Our guide was informative and friendly. We enjoyed a wonderful platter lunch and three of the wineries we visited were very good and we bought 8 bottles of wine. The final one was a let down. The grounds were really beautiful but the interest from the staff was non-existent. Would suggest that the tour not include the very "commercial" winery.

Stephanie N Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Vineyards where good, the bus's suspension was shot. Bus driver was informative and helpful.

Jennifer T Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Canterbury leisure tours did not do the tour, but arranged so that I would be in another tour operator which eas thoughtful of them. Tour that I was on very informative and the driver had a good sense of humor and very professional in his approach. Thanks John for a great afternoon!

Julie Ann G Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This was a great afternoon spent with beautiful scenery and wines! Very personalised service with plenty of information from helpful winery staff. A great opportunity to try New Zealand wines.

HUGO G United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Some really interesting wineries, mainly white wine, but a bit of Pinot Noir and Merlot. Not my taste but may be others!

Lorraine T Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

This is a great way to see the countryside on the trip out to the wineries. You need to be more selective with wineries visited. Three of the four were fantastic, but the fourth one was terrible. We ended up walking out, as the staff was practically ignoring us after giving us a sample.

Megan S New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Daughter really enjoyed the wine tour. I am not so into wine but it still was great and the best part was the tour driver who took us on all trips, very friendly, good for a laugh, just great.

Alexander C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Wineries were GREAT! Tour guide not so much...Was very disappointed in his lack of knowledge and enthusiasm for the wineries. Pretty sure he slept in the back of the van while we were tasting,

Amanda M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The lunch and vineyards were all nice, and we enjoyed chatting with the people working at the vineyards. Although we had a pleasant day, I am only giving this toiur three stars for a few reasons :
1. We only visited three rather than four wineries, as the third of the four planned stops was closed. This seems like something that could have been checked in advance. Also, instead of trying to find another winery for us to visit, the driver just said there's nothing I can do about that. We didn't realize at the time that this meant our trip would be cut short, unfortunately.
2. The driver is just a driver - although he was able to give us general info about Christchurch and Canterbury, he seemed to have very little knowledge about or interest in Waioara Valley wines. He was a nice guy, and we enjoyed chatting with him, but it wasn't quite what we expected.
3. We couldn't hear the driver about half the time because the van was a bit noisy, I would suggest investing in a mic for the driver for future toirs, as otherwise a lot of information is lost.

Overall, I would suggest this tour for those who want a driver for the day in Waipara Valley and a nice lunch, but not necessarily a tour as such.

Kathy W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

We enjoyed our wine country tour. all four wineries were really nice. Our guide
didn't seem that knowledgeable about wine so the only info we received was
from the server. So we did learn some things we didn't know. All in all it was a good value.

Daniel K

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

I saw 2 large wineries and 2 small wineries. Mud House Winery's winemaker was the host which made it very special and interesting. Excellent Sauvignon Blanc! The driver didn't add much flair to the tour.

Glenn C USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

This turned out to be a white wine area and we are red wine people. Waipara Springs had some very good white wines.

Annik F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Not sure if the full day tour is better, but the afternoon version was disappointing. The guide was really just a driver - he said almost nothing throughout the whole trip and didn't seem to have any idea about the wine. He just passed us off to the winery staff, who also didn't seem to know much. Compared to other winery tours I've been on, this one just wasn't very interesting or informative. It was basically just a bus ride to four wineries with tastings.

John P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

There were a lot of people on this tour 20.
A couple of the wineries were delicious Greystone, Pegasus Bay and going into the cellar at Pegasus was a highlight. The lady who gave us the tastings at Waipara Hills was lovely and passionate about wine and sharing her knowledge.
However, the bus driver did not give any information or let us know what was happening. There was more than an hour drive to the first winery, with no music, information about the local area or atmosphere at all. He just told us to be back at the bus at certain times and then was grumpy when we were purchasing wines from the local producers.
There were nice people on the tour which made it more enjoyable but it is not a tour i would recommend.

Nicholas J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The wineries were really good. The guide/ driver was average and the lunch was substandard.

Mandi B USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The first winery had horrible wine and the service was just ok. The second one was much better, both wine and atmosphere. The driver could have been more personable. Overall it was ok.

Frederick G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2013

A worn out old minibus and no guide just a driver who got lost twice!

Helena K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2013

Booked a tour for 2 people for a Monday. We were the only 2 people on the tour.
Tour Guide was not accomodating just wanted some food a cheese platter. Was told by Tour Guide not a food tour and can only taste wine. If i wanted food i should have gone on the Food and WIne tour at 12pm. Considering there were only 2 people i found this appalling and not very accomodating as there were no people to wait on and she didnt have to drop any other people off. Tour states approx 5.5hrs we were returned to our hotel just over 4hrs. 4 Wineries visited really isnt enough for that price

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 70.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2950CLT18

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message