• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 30 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Waipara Wine Trail Tour from Christchurch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 30 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We came to the area 3 weeks after the devastating earthquake but were determined it would not stop us enjoying what was on offer. We were collected at our accommodation and were the only two on the tour. Our guide was informative and friendly. We enjoyed a wonderful platter lunch and three of the wineries we visited were very good and we bought 8 bottles of wine. The final one was a let down. The grounds were really beautiful but the interest from the staff was non-existent. Would suggest that the tour not include the very "commercial" winery.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Vineyards where good, the bus's suspension was shot. Bus driver was informative and helpful.

Jennifer T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Canterbury leisure tours did not do the tour, but arranged so that I would be in another tour operator which eas thoughtful of them. Tour that I was on very informative and the driver had a good sense of humor and very professional in his approach. Thanks John for a great afternoon!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This was a great afternoon spent with beautiful scenery and wines! Very personalised service with plenty of information from helpful winery staff. A great opportunity to try New Zealand wines.

HUGO G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Some really interesting wineries, mainly white wine, but a bit of Pinot Noir and Merlot. Not my taste but may be others!

Lorraine T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

This is a great way to see the countryside on the trip out to the wineries. You need to be more selective with wineries visited. Three of the four were fantastic, but the fourth one was terrible. We ended up walking out, as the staff was practically ignoring us after giving us a sample.

Megan S
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Daughter really enjoyed the wine tour. I am not so into wine but it still was great and the best part was the tour driver who took us on all trips, very friendly, good for a laugh, just great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

We enjoyed our wine country tour. all four wineries were really nice. Our guide
didn't seem that knowledgeable about wine so the only info we received was
from the server. So we did learn some things we didn't know. All in all it was a good value.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

I saw 2 large wineries and 2 small wineries. Mud House Winery's winemaker was the host which made it very special and interesting. Excellent Sauvignon Blanc! The driver didn't add much flair to the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

This turned out to be a white wine area and we are red wine people. Waipara Springs had some very good white wines.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The wineries were really good. The guide/ driver was average and the lunch was substandard.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

The first winery had horrible wine and the service was just ok. The second one was much better, both wine and atmosphere. The driver could have been more personable. Overall it was ok.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2013

A worn out old minibus and no guide just a driver who got lost twice!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2013

Booked a tour for 2 people for a Monday. We were the only 2 people on the tour.
Tour Guide was not accomodating just wanted some food a cheese platter. Was told by Tour Guide not a food tour and can only taste wine. If i wanted food i should have gone on the Food and WIne tour at 12pm. Considering there were only 2 people i found this appalling and not very accomodating as there were no people to wait on and she didnt have to drop any other people off. Tour states approx 5.5hrs we were returned to our hotel just over 4hrs. 4 Wineries visited really isnt enough for that price

Maggie R
New Zealand

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2010

It was not what it was advertised to be BEWARE! We booked to go at 930am (no lunch) and were told on Saturday morning that we would be picked up 1150am instead. Driver came at 1140 and said we had to pay an extra $25 each for lunch and another $25 each for the wine tour...we said we did not want lunch (we would do our own thing) and were not interested in a wine tour- just tasting the district wines with a view to buying some cases. The driver was inexperienced plus- the first stop was a forced shared platter lunch with the group (including 2 people from New York and 2 from Adelaide) and NO tastings because the winery was flat out serving punches; the second there were a row of bottles but no attempt by the person to narrate the wines- the next Mudhouse where we chose to have lunch and the last Pegasus which was much the same. If you want a bus to take you out for 6 hours this is ok. If you expect to learn anything about the wines of the region FORGET IT

From USD $ 86.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2950CLT18

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message