4 star rating: Recommended 34 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Waipara Wine Trail Tour from Christchurch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 34 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We originally rated this highly but then gave it 4 star after doing the wine trail in Queenstown. The driver/guide was very helpful and we visited 4 wineries with lunch at one. The tastings were many and very intersting. Would recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time on this tour. Our very hospitable driver, John, picked up the two of us and an additional two other lovely tourists. We sampled many local wines and enjoyed hearing about the history of each place we visited. The time went by very quickly and our only complaint was feeling a little rushed by our tour driver at times - perhaps having stayed too long at our first location where we all ate lunch. Very much recommend this tour to people of all ages.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Very enjoyable day out, tour guide was very friendly and informative,good range of wineries visited Mud House was by far the best in terms of enthusiasm, education, information and generosity in respect of sampling. Felt Greystone Winery lacked motivation and interest.

Karen Y
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Visited 4 local wineries with tasting plate for lunch at first winery. Good Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We came to the area 3 weeks after the devastating earthquake but were determined it would not stop us enjoying what was on offer. We were collected at our accommodation and were the only two on the tour. Our guide was informative and friendly. We enjoyed a wonderful platter lunch and three of the wineries we visited were very good and we bought 8 bottles of wine. The final one was a let down. The grounds were really beautiful but the interest from the staff was non-existent. Would suggest that the tour not include the very "commercial" winery.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Vineyards where good, the bus's suspension was shot. Bus driver was informative and helpful.

Jennifer T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Canterbury leisure tours did not do the tour, but arranged so that I would be in another tour operator which eas thoughtful of them. Tour that I was on very informative and the driver had a good sense of humor and very professional in his approach. Thanks John for a great afternoon!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This was a great afternoon spent with beautiful scenery and wines! Very personalised service with plenty of information from helpful winery staff. A great opportunity to try New Zealand wines.

HUGO G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Some really interesting wineries, mainly white wine, but a bit of Pinot Noir and Merlot. Not my taste but may be others!

Lorraine T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

This is a great way to see the countryside on the trip out to the wineries. You need to be more selective with wineries visited. Three of the four were fantastic, but the fourth one was terrible. We ended up walking out, as the staff was practically ignoring us after giving us a sample.

Megan S
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Daughter really enjoyed the wine tour. I am not so into wine but it still was great and the best part was the tour driver who took us on all trips, very friendly, good for a laugh, just great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

We enjoyed our wine country tour. all four wineries were really nice. Our guide
didn't seem that knowledgeable about wine so the only info we received was
from the server. So we did learn some things we didn't know. All in all it was a good value.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

I saw 2 large wineries and 2 small wineries. Mud House Winery's winemaker was the host which made it very special and interesting. Excellent Sauvignon Blanc! The driver didn't add much flair to the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

This turned out to be a white wine area and we are red wine people. Waipara Springs had some very good white wines.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The wineries were really good. The guide/ driver was average and the lunch was substandard.

From USD $ 78.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2950CLT18

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message