4 star rating: Recommended 52 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Duration:  24 or 48 hours.

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Copenhagen Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Copenhagen Hop-On Hop-Off Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 52 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We thought the tour and buses were great. It was easy to find the shuttle from the cruise terminal to the main stop at Tivoli Gardens. It was not easy to find the baggage center at the main rail station, but one of the drivers was very helpful in explaining what we needed to do with our baggage. Some of the drivers were cheerful and helpful, but one driver actually did not stop at the designated stop. Another passenger went forward and asked him to stop since he was leaving the area of the palace without making the announced stop. He did pull over and let us off. I would choose this tour and your company again.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was a good quick way to see the city, but we were a bit afraid to hop off in the middle, since the bus only tours about once every 50 minutes. However, if you stay on for the full circuit, you get a nice quick view of the city. (The one exception is the Little Mermaid statue. The bus waits for 5-10 minutes for everyone to take pictures, and get back on if they wish). When you're done, its an easy walk down to the popular wharf area for a nice lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The commentary was great!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The Hop-on Hop-off was good. However, the buses should run more often during the summer tourist season.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Nice way to see Copenhagen. Did not have to wait a long time for the bus. One met us right at the cruise terminal and we began our tour right away.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A good way to get around Copenhagen provided you are not in a hurry. Spent a lot of time waiting in very chilly conditions for the next bus to arrive. Also spent a lot of time sitting in gridlocked traffic while on the bus.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It turned out that the Hop-on Hop-off tour included the canal tour as well, which I had bought separately as well. Oh well. The canal tour is outstanding, though you do have to bake in the sun. The Hop-on Hop-off tour buses only ran every 1/2 hour can can make for long waits and wasted time. In the busy August vacation month the buses were also very crowded and we sometimes had to stand; note that standing is not allowed on the upper deck. The Hop-on Hop-off tour buses came out to the new cruise ship docks some distance out in a tacky industrial area; inbound it was one of the regular bus runs, but in the late afternoon we had to change to a shuttle bus.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Not well organized, many stop place no good sign and time table. The three lines transfer are not at the same place, bus are not on time!

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Chaotic overcrowded buses with people having to stand on the central trip. Excellent coverage of the sites.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

A good tour except on our particular day the buses were very crowded

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The buses were very comfortable. The speakers worked well, but the driver failed to tell you what station you needed. As a result, much time was lost and passengers had to use a hit and miss approach and lost valuable input as to what you were seeing. The bus stops were also very confusing. Compared to other hop on and hop off, this Copenhagen did not meet the usual high standards of the others we have taken from Viator.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Spent too much time at pier waiting for bus to fill.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

We purchased a two day pass on line before we left home. In Copenhagen, we were told such a pass didnt exist. Nice way to operate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Unfortunately in Copenhagen, we were told that they no longer offer the two-day ticket that we had purchased. We were unable to use the bus on day two and were not able to ride on the other two tours. We were only able to take the Mermaid tour.

DAVID W
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Great to be picked up right outside of cruise ship, but diisappointed with tour. Thought it was poor value compared with other hop on/off tours in other cities

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

The tour as such was o.k. and the bus pick-up was within walking distance of the ship, but it's NOT a round trip kind of tour (if you want to stay on and not get off), you have to switch to another bus downtown (whihc is o.k.) that takes you supposedly back to the ship, except it only makes one stop, at the first 4,000-people monster ship it "sees", and then starts the tour all over again. There are many docking places for ships and none are in walking distance of each other, so I had to start the tour over and at the first stop, the Little Mermaid, we waited 20 minutes to connect to a bus to go to OUR ship! Good thing we had nothing planned afterwards. Besides the hassle, it was extremely inconvenient.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Old bus and poor audio. Languages weren't even as listed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

We had booked (and paid for) the 48 hour combination tour but when we presented our voucher in Copenhagen we were told that it would only be good for 24 hours. This caused us to change some of our plans. Also, when we tried to switch from one tour to another we were told by the bus driver that it was his lunch break and to come back in an hour. This caused us to miss that portion of the tour completely. Overall we were not very satisfied with the entire package we had purchased.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

the tour bus was waiting at the pier which was convenient. the tour seemed to get started and then we had to change buses to continue the tour. a good map in hand and an ability to walk is a much better bet for this city.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

I purchased a 2 day pass from you. When I presented the voucher, the operator said they no longer honor the 2 day pass and it was only good for one day. I had to purchase the 2nd day from the operator the next day! Disappointing!!!!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

Disappointed with the commentary

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

Buses were over crowded and were often late getting to the designated stops within the city. People were left behind and had to wait for another bus. Some of the buses were very old and the springs in the seats were shot (not comfortable!) and were in poor shape. Windows were dirty so taking photos through them wasn't possible. Itinerary was good though and allowed for ample opportunity to sightsee.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2011

On board the cruise ship, we were advised that for the first time, the Hop-on Hop-off bus would be on the pier every half hour to shuttle those with luggage into the city. The bus was on the pier as described, but the driver would not let me on with my small piece of luggage, so forget picking up the bus on the pier. After taking the train into the city and finding my hotel, I went to locate the bus. Unfortunately, there were six cruise ships in port that day and the lines were extremely long to board a bus -- long wait. Also, there were those in line with two large suitcases, and they got on board without any questions asked. That did not sit well with me, since I packed lightly for the cruise just so I wouldn't have any trouble getting aboard the bus and putting the suitcase under my seat. Being a single traveler, the bus is a good way to see the city and I will use it again.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Absolutely appalling!! Buses were waiting on the docks, but no one knew where they were going or when. Could not even tell us if it was a shuttle bus to a hop-on hop-off stop or not. Ended up sitting on the wharf for over an hour! Hundreds of passengers off the Queen Victoria also got on (no pre-booking). Later in the day there were no buses for over an hour. Saw virtually nothing of Copenhagen and wasted my only time there as I will probably never get back there.

This is the first time I have had a major problem with any tour booked through Viator. I will not ever book another hop-on hop-off bus anywhere through you again.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

absolute disaster !!!! started ok but after visiting Christiana we saw one bus only in almost 2 hrs. Many people were of the same opinion as us ...our day there was ruined as we were left no time to stop again anywhere on the route. Recommend viator but not the hoho buses in this city

From USD $ 31.12

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2916CPHPRT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message