4 star rating: Recommended 224 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Costa del Sol, Spain
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 224 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

I loved it. You should definitely take the cable car to the top of the rock and see the apes. What a great view of Gibraltar and Spain. The guided taxi tour was awesome.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

We were collected on time at our hotel, traveled in comfortable air-conditioned coach to Gibraltar, whereupon we transferred to smaller minibuses to commence our ascent to the top of the rock. The driver was very friendly and very informative - would recommend the experience to anybody.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

I thought this tour was excellent.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

This was absolutely brilliant! Great tour, well planned and very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Trip was good, but we also booked the mini bus trip to see the monkeys and Michael's Cave. We never did get to stop and see/photo the monkeys. Don't know why!! Well worth the money if we had seen the monkeys!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The Coach was on time, clean and tidy. The guide, Pedro, was just brilliant and made the trip even more enjoyable. The tour to the caves and the rock were very well organised and there was still plenty of time to go shopping and have a bite to eat before heading home. I would definitely recommend this site for quality excursions at a fair price.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The only problem we had was a long wait in the sun for a bus to take us up the Rock in Gibraltar. Otherwise we had a very pleasant trip and would use the service again!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a nice day. Pedro, the Spanish guide, was the man of the day. He was very enthusiast and gave us many useful information in several languages. We had to wait some time to cross the border to Gibraltar. A smaller one, took us to the rock of Gibraltar where we saw stunning views. St. Michael's Cave is really nice. We saw also Barbary macaque which is the star of the rock. I recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour of the 'Rock' and the tunnels was fantastic - so much history and what an amazing place Gibraltor is. Glad to leave the negotiating of the narrow roads to the well qualified bus drivers (Hedley very fun and informative). Tour a little confusing but Paco remained calm thru out.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We were certainly satisfied that we made the right choce to take a 'tour' to Gibraltar' despite many reports that it was 'easy' to hop a bus from Marbella and walk across to the 'one street' of Gibraltar. It is bigger and more complicated than that. That said, being picked up on a street in the middle of town, uncertain if we were in the right place, paticularly after a 20 min delay, was not 'easy' either and had we left for two minutes we'd have missed our connection as the bus stopped only long enough to board us. Gibraltar has 'its own cloud', so if we'd planned the day aroud the cable car, we would have been disappointed. Being left in the bus depot parking lot is not a great way to be introduced to Gibraltar and the 'guide' info was minimal on the bus trip. That said, the tour up the 'rock' was fun and definitely not something one would want to arrange after arriving for a day trip.
So Viator again offered a tour worth taking

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great trip, we did the Rock Tour and I would recommend this. Only downside was we left at 3pm and we would have liked to stay longer.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Had a lovely day, good value for money. Journey didn't take as long as we expected.The downside was we had a long wait for the coach to pick us up and the actual tour was too short leaving us sat around with not a lot to do until we were picked up for our journey back.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

great experience

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I would recommend this bus trip to anyone who did not want to drive to Gibraltar. I'm glad I read the reviews before booking that described how much time would be spent picking up and dropping off at the resorts along the Costa del Sol. If you are early on the route plan to be on the bus a long time and without the convenience of a toilet!! What I wish I had been told ahead of time is that because of the complicated road system along the Costa del Sol, some of us would not be dropped off where we were picked up. It's a good thing we could use the prominent lighthouse as our "beacon" because we were dropped at a bus stop three or four blocks away from our resort. We could not see our resort but at least we knew the general directions we should be walking. We were not told about this until we were picked up and it was a casual 'Oh, by the way, on the way back we will be dropping you at the local bus stop". Bus stop, what bus stop??? If we had known about this ahead of time, we could have specifically looked for the route between the bus stop and our hotel.

I would still recommend this tour if you just want make a quick visit to Gibraltar because it does eliminate all the hassles with border crossings, customs and parking. The total time to tour in Gibraltar was only four hours, from about 12 to 4pm, two of them are spent on a minibus taking you on a tour of the rock and up to Michael's Cave and the Ape's Den and then two hours to spend as you like in Gibraltar. Unfortunately, our minibus tour took longer than planned so we had less than 1 1/2 hours of free time; just enough to find a particular restaurant and have a rather rushed meal.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We were the last group to be picked up in the modern air conditioned coach and as a result, our group of 3 was not able to sit together. Our tour guide Annabelle was professional and knowledgeable. She conducted her commentary in English, Spanish and German. Due to an incident between Spain and Gibraltar, the border crossing was unusually long and we needed to cross the border on foot. Soon we discovered that there were not enough seats in the English speaking minivan for our party of 3. Luckily, we were able to join another local English speaking tour guide from another tour company. The local tour guide, Martin was friendly, knowledgeable, positive and funny. My 11 year old son who sat next to the tour guide/driver appreciated his humor. We made several stops: European point, St. Michael's Cave, and a stop to view the monkeys. We had enough free time to tour the shopping district and eat lunch. We met up with our original tour group and walked across the border and went throught immigration quite easily. I would recommend this tour! It is nice to experience a bit of England so close to the Costa del Sol region of Spain.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Good day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We really enjoyed our day trip to Gibraltar. Bus was comfortable and completely full on our day of travel. We departed Torremolinos at 8.45am and were in the bus-park in Gibraltar at 11.15am. It took only two minutes to get across the border!
We had free time to shop in the main street and were asked to be back at the bus park for 1pm, to continue the tour of 'The Rock'. We decided that this was not sufficient time to explore the main town area, the shops, museums etc, therefore we did not return to the bus park at 1pm. We stayed in the town until the bus departed back to the Costa Del Sol at 3.45pm.
Even then, we could have spent a lot more time locally. We did not get to see everything.
Next time we are on Holiday on Costa Del Sol, we will do this trip again and hopefully see the whole rock. It has even whetted our appetite to visit Gibraltar for a holiday weekend.
Overall, the trip was really good, but if you want to do the whole Rock Tour, your time will be limited in the town itself. Ideally the bus should leave a little earlier and return a little later!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

A great trip that was fun as well as informative. The only reason it doesn't rate a 5 star is the very long bus trip due to picking up other tour members from very remote hotels. Having several concentrated pick up locations would help this.

Marsha S
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed the tunnel tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We enjoyed the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was a very interesting trip. Many stops to pick up passengers along the way makes for a long day, however it does give you the opportunity to see other towns along the way. I would highly recommend taking the excursion around the island as it was extremely informative and interesting. You still have about 3 1/2 hours for shopping.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The stars are for value for money and the separate tour inside Gibraltar. The main tour guide spoke incomprehensible English there was only one Spanish tourist out of 50 so
she got a one-to-one in Spanish the rest of us gave up on the 'English' episodes. The tour was very interesting and took in al

Thomas R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

fanatastic trip. st michaels cave is beautiful and the monkeys made the day.

Gibraltar is a beautiful place well worth the trip and money

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Good trip. Picked up from hotel on time. Took quite a while to pick up all the guests from surrounding hotels but once we got to Gibraltar, we enjoyed a mini bus tour of the rock before visiting St Michaels cave and getting close and personal with the monkeys! Enjoyable overall.

From USD $ 52.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTCDS12

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message