4 star rating: Recommended 204 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Costa del Sol, Spain
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Gibraltar Sightseeing Day Trip from Costa del Sol. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 204 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Well, it was a raining day but the tour guider did his very best to make our trip as pleasant as possible. We appreciated the effort, and we shall come back again.

Michael C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

The tour was wonderful. The tour guide was great and very friendly and informative. The driver was very skilled and one felt safe in their hands. Would recommend it to anyone!

Frank H
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

This was a brilliant day excursion. Coach comfortable, courier and driver excellent. Mini tour of Gibraltar itself and shopping well organized also. We loved the whole experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

We had a fabulous tour guide. He was what made the tour great! This was one of the highlights of our trip!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

I loved the monkeys! That was the highlight of my trip. And the local guide was fantastic.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

This was a brilliant day trip to Gibraltar. The apes are very cool and I could have spent all day watching them being cheeky with the tourists on the mountain. The duty free shopping in Gibraltar is the cheapest I have seen anywhere. The first sight of Gibraltar as you come around a corner is amazing and crossing the airport runway to get there is bizarre!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

I loved it. You should definitely take the cable car to the top of the rock and see the apes. What a great view of Gibraltar and Spain. The guided taxi tour was awesome.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

We were collected on time at our hotel, traveled in comfortable air-conditioned coach to Gibraltar, whereupon we transferred to smaller minibuses to commence our ascent to the top of the rock. The driver was very friendly and very informative - would recommend the experience to anybody.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

I thought this tour was excellent.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

This was absolutely brilliant! Great tour, well planned and very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

great experience

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I would recommend this bus trip to anyone who did not want to drive to Gibraltar. I'm glad I read the reviews before booking that described how much time would be spent picking up and dropping off at the resorts along the Costa del Sol. If you are early on the route plan to be on the bus a long time and without the convenience of a toilet!! What I wish I had been told ahead of time is that because of the complicated road system along the Costa del Sol, some of us would not be dropped off where we were picked up. It's a good thing we could use the prominent lighthouse as our "beacon" because we were dropped at a bus stop three or four blocks away from our resort. We could not see our resort but at least we knew the general directions we should be walking. We were not told about this until we were picked up and it was a casual 'Oh, by the way, on the way back we will be dropping you at the local bus stop". Bus stop, what bus stop??? If we had known about this ahead of time, we could have specifically looked for the route between the bus stop and our hotel.

I would still recommend this tour if you just want make a quick visit to Gibraltar because it does eliminate all the hassles with border crossings, customs and parking. The total time to tour in Gibraltar was only four hours, from about 12 to 4pm, two of them are spent on a minibus taking you on a tour of the rock and up to Michael's Cave and the Ape's Den and then two hours to spend as you like in Gibraltar. Unfortunately, our minibus tour took longer than planned so we had less than 1 1/2 hours of free time; just enough to find a particular restaurant and have a rather rushed meal.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We were the last group to be picked up in the modern air conditioned coach and as a result, our group of 3 was not able to sit together. Our tour guide Annabelle was professional and knowledgeable. She conducted her commentary in English, Spanish and German. Due to an incident between Spain and Gibraltar, the border crossing was unusually long and we needed to cross the border on foot. Soon we discovered that there were not enough seats in the English speaking minivan for our party of 3. Luckily, we were able to join another local English speaking tour guide from another tour company. The local tour guide, Martin was friendly, knowledgeable, positive and funny. My 11 year old son who sat next to the tour guide/driver appreciated his humor. We made several stops: European point, St. Michael's Cave, and a stop to view the monkeys. We had enough free time to tour the shopping district and eat lunch. We met up with our original tour group and walked across the border and went throught immigration quite easily. I would recommend this tour! It is nice to experience a bit of England so close to the Costa del Sol region of Spain.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Good day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We really enjoyed our day trip to Gibraltar. Bus was comfortable and completely full on our day of travel. We departed Torremolinos at 8.45am and were in the bus-park in Gibraltar at 11.15am. It took only two minutes to get across the border!
We had free time to shop in the main street and were asked to be back at the bus park for 1pm, to continue the tour of 'The Rock'. We decided that this was not sufficient time to explore the main town area, the shops, museums etc, therefore we did not return to the bus park at 1pm. We stayed in the town until the bus departed back to the Costa Del Sol at 3.45pm.
Even then, we could have spent a lot more time locally. We did not get to see everything.
Next time we are on Holiday on Costa Del Sol, we will do this trip again and hopefully see the whole rock. It has even whetted our appetite to visit Gibraltar for a holiday weekend.
Overall, the trip was really good, but if you want to do the whole Rock Tour, your time will be limited in the town itself. Ideally the bus should leave a little earlier and return a little later!

From USD $ 60.70

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTCDS12

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message