• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 164 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cusco, Peru
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 164 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I had a very short window to try to get to Machu Picchu while on a business trip to Lima. Found and signed up for the Viator VistaDome tour via the web. Signing up was very smooth and after calling to confirm per their instructions, eagerly anticipated the trip. Everything went as advertised. They picked me up on schedule at my hotel in Cusco and delivered me to the Vistadome train station. The train was much more comfortable than expected. They served decent food (complimentary) during the beautiful 3.5 hour train ride to Aguas Caliente. Johnny, the Viator guide was waiting for me and the other Viator participants at the train station and escorted us to the bus up the mountain to Machu Picchu. Johnny was a character. GREAT knowledge of Machu Picchu as he had been providing tours of "his office" for over 20 years. Gave incredible insights into the construction, history, and possible uses of Machu Picchu. He was entertaining, engaging and very knowledgeable. His English was not as good as some of the other guides I saw, but it was more than acceptable and his knowledge more than made up for a word or two he could not translate. We spent about 5 hours at the ruin before heading back down. Again, a very smooth trip back to Cusco with Viator agents everywhere they needed to be. THE ONLY thing to ensure if you use this package is that the return train timing is sufficient. When we arrived at Aguas Caliente, we had a return ticket for a 2:30PM train to Cusco, despite availability on much later options. Thankfully, we realized this by comparing return train times with other Viator participants and I was able to change to a 5:45 train. Given the cost and effort to get to Machu Picchu, it would have been a shame to have not maximized the time available. So, definitely check the time of your return ticket....it is arbitrarily assigned by Viator and it is definitely worth maximizing your time. Otherwise, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were a group of four and we booked the last train out of Machu Picchu to Cusco but didn't need the extra time. You get two hours which is enough since it's about 4 kms of up and down walking and you are tired after. No lunch included. The guide was really good and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was brilliant - Hector should be paid more !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was very well organized. I even got to have a wake up call to get me ready for the 5 a. m. Pick up! The tour guide was very informative and friendly. Machu Picchu was beautiful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We visited Peru, Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil with tons of memorable experiences. What was the best? The trip to Machu Picchu. Incredibly beautiful, amazing, historic, and really well organized by Viator. A must do for everyone. Only caution is to be prepared for the altitude by spending a day or two in Cuzco and drinking tons of water and cacao tea, and finally being fit to walk a bunch if you want to see all that Machu Picchu has to offer. Even if you dont have the energy to walk everywhere, just making it to the place and seeing what little you can or want to, is worth it. BTW if you can, hike over to the Inca bridge which is at the tail end of the trip, cause it's worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour and incredible site. Everyone who has a chance should go.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fabulous from beginning to end and an excellent tour guide and service!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very well organized! The guide had a very good command of the English language and was very friendly and knowledgeable about the visited site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Superb is the word. I fully recomend. My choice was one day trip to Machu Pichu. What i found suficient to who stay only for 3days in Cusco. I boght the travel in Viator site for 250€. They pick me in hotel at 4 am and drop me at 10 pm. The day was amazing, everything well arranged with Viator people in every travel point. The guide (mr Hector)was very kind and explained very well all the historic tour. Lots of time to see Machu, to turn around Aguas Calientes and take a beer and come back in the amazing train by night. Something to do again. In regard hotel I was in Los Aticos in center town. Very good in terms of price and simphaty.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This is a great tour. The provider is a local company called Viajes Pacifico. Really prompt hotel pick up and very well coordinated. The train ride to Machu Picchu is very scenic and Peru Rail serves a small breakfast up and a snack on the way back (I did the Vistadome train). Once at Aguas Calientes I met with my English speaking guide, Khan. We waited for another person, however after 20 minutes, they did not show. I had the guide all to myself, so it was a private tour of MP. Lucky me. The guide was very accommodating and allowed me to stop for photos, etc was liberal with his explanations and walked me at decent, but not tiring pace. After about 2 hours in the site he then escorted me back to the bus and then to the train. Overall a long but great day. Here are a couple of comments for the general traveler: Buy this tour, you will not regret it. However, be prepared for 7 hours on the train to and from Aguas Calientes from Cusco. Be prepared for lines to get on buses and to enter the site once you arrive at the top. When you get to the site entrance be prepared to walk steep inclines and stairs to the actual vista and real start of the tour. There is considerable walking up and down, sometimes steep inclines and stairs. There were a number of elderly people having difficulty. While my tour was as my own pace since I had the guide to myself, we actually were progressing faster than larger groups. So I would not say that they move you through fast. Just be aware there is moderate physical exertion required to complete the tour. Believe it or not this really is all doable in a day. Just be mindful of your return train time, have an open and adventuresome mindset, and you will have a great day with a great tour provider.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Very well organized, beautiful day. To be honest, we spent more time traveling to and from the site, then actually being in Machu Picchu. But we were glad we had the experience. Great job all around.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everything is perfect about Viator Machu Picchu tour.I recommend everybody to see Machu Picchu .It was a dream for me,and realized by Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I booked the Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco. I had a great Machu Picchu experience due to the highly knowledgeable guide Leslie who speaks great english. She gave me valuable insite to the ruins of Machu Picchu. They pick up and drop off form your hotel which was very helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everything went the way I had expected with pick up on time, no problems with the train,an excellent guide at Machu Picchu and just a wonderfull day.Thanks very much to the Victoria team.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our English speaking guide is just super friendly, knowledgeable and experienced. Enjoy much in Machu Picchu, though the time staying there was quite short.

Special Offer
$349.99 Save $46.00

From USD $ 303.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5243MP1DAY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message