• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 204 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cusco, Peru
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 204 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was great and super organised. I was a solo traveller and they helped me on everything! highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

the trip was awesome- our tour guide manuel was great as well!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Won't lie. It's a long day but worth every minute. The train ride is almost as beautiful as Machu Picchu itself. We had 2 boys 3 and 5 in tow and they loved it as well although when asked what their fav parts was... The lolly pop in Cusco. Staff was great, friendly and passionate.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour company in Cusco, Viajes Pacifico, provided us with absolutely the very best service. They called the night before to confirm, arrived on time, had all the tickets we required(train, bus, entrance to Machu Picchu), an excellent, informative guide who took us through the paces of Machu Picchu at a perfect pace, very good transportation to and from the train. We are very grateful for their professionalism which made our day-trip the best it could have been. Thank you for all the assistance and organization in making this trip a wonderful experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I enjoyed the tour and would definitely recommend everyone to get this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I had a very short window to try to get to Machu Picchu while on a business trip to Lima. Found and signed up for the Viator VistaDome tour via the web. Signing up was very smooth and after calling to confirm per their instructions, eagerly anticipated the trip. Everything went as advertised. They picked me up on schedule at my hotel in Cusco and delivered me to the Vistadome train station. The train was much more comfortable than expected. They served decent food (complimentary) during the beautiful 3.5 hour train ride to Aguas Caliente. Johnny, the Viator guide was waiting for me and the other Viator participants at the train station and escorted us to the bus up the mountain to Machu Picchu. Johnny was a character. GREAT knowledge of Machu Picchu as he had been providing tours of "his office" for over 20 years. Gave incredible insights into the construction, history, and possible uses of Machu Picchu. He was entertaining, engaging and very knowledgeable. His English was not as good as some of the other guides I saw, but it was more than acceptable and his knowledge more than made up for a word or two he could not translate. We spent about 5 hours at the ruin before heading back down. Again, a very smooth trip back to Cusco with Viator agents everywhere they needed to be. THE ONLY thing to ensure if you use this package is that the return train timing is sufficient. When we arrived at Aguas Caliente, we had a return ticket for a 2:30PM train to Cusco, despite availability on much later options. Thankfully, we realized this by comparing return train times with other Viator participants and I was able to change to a 5:45 train. Given the cost and effort to get to Machu Picchu, it would have been a shame to have not maximized the time available. So, definitely check the time of your return ticket....it is arbitrarily assigned by Viator and it is definitely worth maximizing your time. Otherwise, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were a group of four and we booked the last train out of Machu Picchu to Cusco but didn't need the extra time. You get two hours which is enough since it's about 4 kms of up and down walking and you are tired after. No lunch included. The guide was really good and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was brilliant - Hector should be paid more !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was very well organized. I even got to have a wake up call to get me ready for the 5 a. m. Pick up! The tour guide was very informative and friendly. Machu Picchu was beautiful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We visited Peru, Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil with tons of memorable experiences. What was the best? The trip to Machu Picchu. Incredibly beautiful, amazing, historic, and really well organized by Viator. A must do for everyone. Only caution is to be prepared for the altitude by spending a day or two in Cuzco and drinking tons of water and cacao tea, and finally being fit to walk a bunch if you want to see all that Machu Picchu has to offer. Even if you dont have the energy to walk everywhere, just making it to the place and seeing what little you can or want to, is worth it. BTW if you can, hike over to the Inca bridge which is at the tail end of the trip, cause it's worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour and incredible site. Everyone who has a chance should go.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fabulous from beginning to end and an excellent tour guide and service!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very well organized! The guide had a very good command of the English language and was very friendly and knowledgeable about the visited site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Superb is the word. I fully recomend. My choice was one day trip to Machu Pichu. What i found suficient to who stay only for 3days in Cusco. I boght the travel in Viator site for 250€. They pick me in hotel at 4 am and drop me at 10 pm. The day was amazing, everything well arranged with Viator people in every travel point. The guide (mr Hector)was very kind and explained very well all the historic tour. Lots of time to see Machu, to turn around Aguas Calientes and take a beer and come back in the amazing train by night. Something to do again. In regard hotel I was in Los Aticos in center town. Very good in terms of price and simphaty.

From USD $ 303.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5243MP1DAY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message