4.5 star rating: Recommended 288 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cusco, Peru
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 288 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

we are very glad we wen Machu Picch Picchu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guide was just so passionate about Machu Picchu and was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour started very early at 4.20 am. We were taken by the bus to railroad station, then to another bus to MP. Our group was given an English speaking guy with good English language skills and even better knowledge of MP. His explanations were perfect and show that he really knows the place and history of it. Knowing that most of our group are from way lower elevations, he was kind checking on our abilities to go up and down. He did a really good job. The MP by itself attract thousand of tourists everyday and could get crowded.

Itzak L
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This company REALLY goes out of its way to make things go smooth! I was really impressed with how everything was streamlined, and that I didn't have to worry about a thing, whether it was getting somewhere or learning the history of Machu Picchu.

We chose the Vistadome rail option and it was awesome; I'm unsure of the quality level since I haven't tried the other two, but this sounded like the best middle option. The company will pick you up from your hotel (if you're within the Cusco downtown area), drop you off at the train station, and inform you of who to see at the arriving train station. The train ride is about 3.5 hours, but time will fly as you're enjoying the amazing view, the refreshments (we actually had breakfast and lunch too, which surprised me was that is was part of the ticket) and brief fun shows like the alpaca fashion show. The workers are great at keeping you happy throughout the ride.

Once we got to the station, we were welcomed by Johnny, our English tour guide. Not only was he super informative, but very lively and fun. You can tell he does what he loves for a living, especially since he's been doing it over 20 years. He made sure we all got the photos we wanted and even spent time tracking some alpacas for photos. After the tour, he followed us all the way down to the train-station to make sure we get on the right train at the right time. Then after arriving back, we were greeted by our last tour worker to pick us up and drop us off.

This package will save you the headache of organizing everything on your own; logistically there's too much to worry about if you try to break it down and do it yourself: you go from bustrainbusmachu picchubustrainbus and there are timetables (and pricings you'd have to haggle) for everything.

Just let this company do it for ya; you'll be happy you did.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Extremely well organized trip from beginning to end. Staff were brilliant, informative and friendly ensuring a great day was had by all.I will remember this day out for many years to come.
Very highly recommended to use this company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great trip. The tour guide was awesome.I have no negative statement to make. It was everything I expected for.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I flew into Cusco from Lima.I was in Lima for 2 weeks prior and decided to go to Cusco for a long weekend (Friday-Sunday) in October. I did a day tour in Cusco which was awesome. The elevation took some time to get used to but I went at my pace and was fine. Machu Pichu is considerably lower and was no problem adjusting. The tour was good and had some free time to explore on my own after.Visiting Machu Pichu is a 3 day minimum experience. Cusco has much much more history and I recommend doing a day tour. Machu Pichu is a great experience but Cusco is a must!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

To describe this attraction with words is not suficient, you must go there. It´s simply unbelievable and incredible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was amazing! Our guide 'Johnny, was so informative and kind. He doubled as our personal photographer too!
Everything about the day was perfectly organized too. All we had to do was wake up and go! They took care of getting us to all the right places at the right times.
Great tour all together

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Hector was a superb guide. Very knowledgeable and had a good way of presenting the material. Was
very considerate and helpful. The site is spectacular!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Being a lone female traveller i was concerned that all would go smoothly, i have to say i would use AVIATOR now for any tour i was planning in the future in any part of the world. i was so impressed with the way the local tour company they used checked and then double checked to see if i knew what time i was being picked up, they were not happy until they had spoken to me personally. At every step of the trip it was made clear to me whom would be leading on the next stage and how i would recognise them. The trip went so smoothly i could hardly believe it. i would recommend this company to anybody and the price was really competative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Scenic and spectacular! Service was fantastic and entertainment fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a magical trip for myself and my husband. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken to the train station. We chose the Vistadome train and had spectacular views of the mountains and the river. It was a 3 hour ride and we were very comfortable. They served a light meal but I would recommend taking some power snacks and water. The bus ride from the train to Machu Picchu was exciting. We spent about 2 hours there which was enough time for these two old timers to see and experience the ruins. Our guide was superior and very helpful and thoughtful. The train ride home was also wonderful, although we were assigned our same seats and I would ask to be on the opposite side. Take a book for the way back as it does get dark and you may want one to keep busy. We were advised to take altitude medication before going to Cusco and I am very glad we got some from our doctor before our trip.

Special Offer
$472.99 Save $121.00

From USD $ 351.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5243MP1DAY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message