4.5 star rating: Recommended 339 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Cusco, Peru
  • Duration:14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 339 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was amazing! Our guide 'Johnny, was so informative and kind. He doubled as our personal photographer too!
Everything about the day was perfectly organized too. All we had to do was wake up and go! They took care of getting us to all the right places at the right times.
Great tour all together

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Hector was a superb guide. Very knowledgeable and had a good way of presenting the material. Was
very considerate and helpful. The site is spectacular!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Being a lone female traveller i was concerned that all would go smoothly, i have to say i would use AVIATOR now for any tour i was planning in the future in any part of the world. i was so impressed with the way the local tour company they used checked and then double checked to see if i knew what time i was being picked up, they were not happy until they had spoken to me personally. At every step of the trip it was made clear to me whom would be leading on the next stage and how i would recognise them. The trip went so smoothly i could hardly believe it. i would recommend this company to anybody and the price was really competative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Scenic and spectacular! Service was fantastic and entertainment fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a magical trip for myself and my husband. We were picked up at our hotel on time and taken to the train station. We chose the Vistadome train and had spectacular views of the mountains and the river. It was a 3 hour ride and we were very comfortable. They served a light meal but I would recommend taking some power snacks and water. The bus ride from the train to Machu Picchu was exciting. We spent about 2 hours there which was enough time for these two old timers to see and experience the ruins. Our guide was superior and very helpful and thoughtful. The train ride home was also wonderful, although we were assigned our same seats and I would ask to be on the opposite side. Take a book for the way back as it does get dark and you may want one to keep busy. We were advised to take altitude medication before going to Cusco and I am very glad we got some from our doctor before our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide was excellent. The scenes breathtaking. Transportation arrangements were flawless. However, the ruins are dangerous. A preliminary notice should be given to tourists prior to their entering certain areas of the ruins.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolute wonder due to its perfect location. You will fall in love with the views and surrounding mountains. My only advice would be to stay here longer if possible, as a one-day trip leaves no free time once inside the ruins. Machu Picchu is definitely a must do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was given by a large and reliable tour company in Cusco. Though they were efficient I felt it lacked a personal experience that I received from other smaller companies. We were picked up at 5 AM to be at the train station at 6 AM which is around 40 mins away, the train was not till 6 40 AM so we had around 30 mins to kill i would have appreciated extra 30 mins of sleep though. We had opted for the vistadome train which was very comfortable, breakfast was served in the morning and tea with snacks in the afternoon 3: 20 PM train. There was also a fashion show and some entertainment with the tea which was interesting.It is a 3 1/2 hour ride each way. I was very impressed with the perurail services, but not sure if the vista dome is worth the extra 50$ we paid per person. Once you get to the town there is another 30 mins bus ride to the actual site. We got there at 10:45AM and were there ill 1 : 30 AM. We had a tour guide each step of the way and the one at the site "marco " had really good english. The tour lasted around 2 hours and we had 30 mins on our own and than it was time to get back to town to catch I would choose them again due to the efficiency of the service and the easy of not going through the hassle of doing all the booking ourselves.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific trip. Thr train ride was great and scenic.
Congratulations to Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very professional

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was great, very informative and really loved his job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic experience a dream came true.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Machu Picchu it's and unmissable place to visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The most amazing and well organized tour. Everything was very well planned and I had a great tour guide who made it such a great experience! I would definitely recommend Viator to anyone from here on!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My trip to Machu Picchu would not have been so amazing had it not been for the tour. It was very organized and the people were very friendly and helpful. Our tour guide, Hector, was so phenomenal and definitely made our tour special. We got to see the entire site and learn the history! Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was perfect for us. We were in lima on business and this was exactly what we were looking for. Train ride was spectacular with awesome views. Mp was breathless. For traveling business folks this was a great way to get a taste of mp and cosco. I will definitely be back on a real vacation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved everything about the tour. We had a fabulous and very informed guide, the train ride was awesome, and the actual climb breathtakingly beautiful. We would recommend your organization as one of the best. Sylvia Lane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip. Everything went smoothly and as planned.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Viajes Pacifico's service was just impeccable; round trip on Vistadom train was amazing. Machu Picchu... I can't express my feelings about that place; it was very private and sacred experience in spite of tourists crowds. The only bad thing - you will have just 2.5 hours on top with this tour, which is extremely little time; you'll have to come back someday by yourself;)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The ONLY problem with the entire tour was the agent who picked us up in the morning to take us to the train station. Not only was she extremely unfriendly and completely uninformative, but she actually put her backpack in the empty seat next to her, forcing my husband and I to sit in two individual seats which were not even together!! I didn't say anything because I naturally assumed the seat was saved for someone who had been sitting beside her, but when the bus started to move I realized that she was just rude! What a horrible way to treat your customers!!!!
The rest of the day was SPECTACULAR!!!! The train ride was comfortable, the food served on the train was good, the tour guide at Machu Picchu was EXCELLENT!!! He was so very nice, wonderfully knowledgeable and conducted the tour in a way that was both efficient, informative, and enjoyable. He took special care to keep track of the group at all times, to point out the best picture spots, while all the while helping those who had a more difficult time with the climb. The train ride back into town was very fun. One of the staff members was roaming the train car dressed up in a crazy ridiculous costume as he danced up and down the aisles, so by the time the staff had their fashion show the car was filled with much laughter and cheer- it was a fun time for all!!
Aside from the unpleasant start to the day, I would DEFINITELY recommend this tour to anyone going to Machu Picchu!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely highly recommended. Our hotel was fantastic and the amount of tours they offered made it so that we didn't have to play whatsoever. Viator seems to be organized with customer satisfaction in mind.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A worry free experience! They had door to door transportation organized, we had enough time to explore the ruins at a leisurely pace and even to have lunch afterwards, never feeling rushed. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and catered the tour of the ruins towards what interested us most!

Special Offer
$453.99 Save $94.00

From USD $ 359.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5243MP1DAY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message