4.5 star rating: Recommended 94 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Darwin, Australia
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 94 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Excellent trip - highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

For anyone with only one day to travel to Kakadu, this bus tour is an absolute MUST. The natural wonders of this awe-inspiring part of the Top End are amazing - something that all Australians and visitors should experience if they have the chance, I would also highly recommend the optional flight over Arnhem Land - seeing this vast ancient land from the air is a real privilege and gives another perspective on the vast size of Kakadu. Booking through Viator was easy and professionally-managed and the organisation and service on the tour was excellent. I don't normally do organised bus tours, but I was very impressed with every part of this day's itinerary. The Yellow Waters cruise was fantastic for seeing huge crocodiles up close, plus dozens of varieties of birds. There was also time for an easy bush walk in the Nourlangie Rock area with the added wonder of seeing aboriginal cave paintings. The tour finished with drinks and nibbles overlooking the wetlands outside Darwin and a magnificent Top End sunset.

Shaun K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This tour was excellent and well worth it. Kakadu is too big to do by yourself and the amenities and staff were exceptional. The tour guide made sure we were well hydrated and full of local knowledge. The flight over Arnhem land although an additional cost is a must. The flight was magical seeing more of the land than possible from the ground. Every seat in the plane has a window and the captain was very knowledgeable. Yellow waters cruise was nice and relaxing and a great way to come up close to the crocodiles in the water. The Buffet lunch was very filling and plenty of time to relax before moving onto the next location. Ending the day at Window on the Wetlands with wine tasting was a nice way to end the day. The tour operator was one of the best in Darwin.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fantastic trip. No time to get tired on the long trip. Thoroughly recommended. Flight over the waterfalls was worth every cent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was the highlight of our trip to Darwin and the North Coast. If you have but one day to spare, take this tour. The bus driver was fantastic and provided a lot of local information. Being an avid photographer, the yellow water tour far exceeded my expectations for Birds and Crocks and the Arnhem flight tied all the information together for a great NT trip. My hats off to the tourcompany for a job well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Great trip! The boat trip was well worth it, crocs were right outside our boat! Guides were interesting, lots of good info!

Olivia N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Scenic Flight is definitely worth doing - Kakadu and Arnhem Land just goes on forever - can really only appreciate the vastness by air. Shame the CD with commentary was jumpy though. Wouldn't recommend more than 50 minute flight as it can get bumpy and quite hot in there. The 2 hour Yellow Waters cruise was sensational - brilliant commentary by ranger. Buffet lunch was great - large range and plenty to go around. Nourlangie Rock and cave art a must see - would've liked to see older paintings though. The guides were entertaining and knowledgeable. The cheese and wine at the end was a lovely touch to end an excellent day!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

I have just returned from Darwin and took this tour whilst I was there. The tour was excellent, our tour guide was informative and helpful. The coach was clean and comfortable. The Yellow water cruise was fabulous and again the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative. I will certainly recommend this tour to everyone I know. Thank you for a great day.

Jane O
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

If you have a limited time to see Kakadu, this tour gives you a nice taste of what's offered. The Yellow Waters cruise is a highlight - just fabulous!

Cliff H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great day journey and terrific driver. Good and entertaining commentary. Able to soak up and enjoy all aspects of the trip. The wetlands to finish the day was a great touch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The bus operator had a polished, informative and entertaining talk, as well as nature DVDs to fill in the long drive to/from Darwin. The highlights are the cruise on the Yellow Water estuary (from a self-confessed bird nerd) and the huge termite mounds.

Bryce J
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

The trip was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

I thought this Kakadu tour was excellent. I would definitely recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Really need 2 or more days to do justice to this incredible place. 1 day tour was really good - tour guide/driver Ben was fantastic - just wanted more time to see more of Kakadu's 20,000 sq kms. Breathtaking and spiritual.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

In essence it's a long way from Darwin to Kakadu and I would not recommend taking the coach in both directions. We took the optional return flight and I'm glad we did. We also managed to be there on one of the hottest September days on record.
Nonetheless the trip was worthwhile and the visit to Nourlangie Rock and the Yellow Waters cruise afforded two of the outstanding attractions of the national park.
Rather than do the trip in one day, I would suggest it's better to take at least two days (but preferably three) to see Kakadu more comprehensively.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoyed this trip, Rob the tour guide/ bus driver was really informative and really made the trip with his knowledge. It is a long day - 13 hours and if I had longer time in Darwin would have spent a few days in Kakadu. As what has been written the scenic flight( being an optional) for me was the highlight of this trip, you really see the expanse and beauty of Kakadu In such a different perspective from the ground level. Retrospectively would have taken the flight to Darwin (just did the 50 min scenic flight) and was not that much more expensive as this would cut down on the bus travel time back to Darwin( you do though have to get yourself from Darwin Airport to your accomodation which would add to the cost) Recommend this trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A Long day but worth the effort. Decided to take the flight over Kakadu option which was OK but we thought the advert showed the plane going through a gorge which it didn't . It did give a very good perspective of how large the area is though. The cruise was excellent

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Rock art and landscape are brilliant. Lot's of driving for a one day tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A lovely day out. The park is the size of Denmark, so if you only do the coach trip you'll see less than 1% of this beautiful place. I'm therefore really pleased that I choose to do the flight over the park, where we saw so much more including the most stunning waterfalls

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Well organized tour. The tour delivers all of what is stated in the advertisement. Our driver was safe, cordial and went out of his way to make the tour interesting. The only drawback is that there is no available add-on option to see the falls, save taking the scenic flight for 240$. An alternative option to see the falls via ground would have been greatly appreciated. Overall, this tour is well worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good to see some of the aboriginal arts and I love the Yellow Waters boat tour, spotted numerous wildlife.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The flies at the aboriginal art work were a real pest, you should invest in a fly net if you are thinking of going there. Our favourite part of this tour was the cruise on the yellow river, although one and a half hours didn't seem long enough. The cold buffet lunch was very good, quite a good choice of food. It was a very long day picked up at 6.10am and got back to our hotel at 8pm, but I think it was worth it. If it wasn't for the flies the tour would have rated a 5 star!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The pickup went smoothly and our coach was extremely comfortable to travel in.
Not a full bus so plenty of room as well
The day covers a lot of area so there was no stopping for photos at all even when we saw a couple of brolgas (disappointed)
For the stop at Nourlangie we had plenty of time and the provided lunch at Kakadu was delicious.
The highlight of the day was definitely the Yellow Water cruise...so well done.
We couldn't believe the time was up so fast ...could have stayed so much longer
(although would have burnt to a crisp...very hot)
Saw plenty of crocodiles, jabiru up really close and masses of different birds.
Cannot describe how amazing this cruise is.
There was a mix up in our booking and our friend travelling with us was given a Scenic flight at Kakadu and took the bus back to Darwin separately.
Where as we were given the flight back to Darwin (but unfortunately there was no provision for the pilot to actually talk to us so apart from flying over the Uranium Mine we had to guess what else we flew over.
It all worked out in the end and Viator where very prompt in their refund to our friend for the difference.
Either way, taking the flight or the bus back was much of a muchness except it would have been an even longer day by bus.
Lots of smoke and preventative burning made visibility poor but still pretty good
Just a fact that Kakadu is so far away but I would easily travel that distance again to do the Yellow Water cruise all over again. Outstanding!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This was a great tour, very educational and we got to see so much. Well worth the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very long day but very enjoyable. Coach driver very good. Yellow River cruise was excellent. Bit disappointed to find that as we had booked the optional flight we did not get to visit the Aboriginal Centre as well, which we would have liked to do. If you book the optional flight make sure you take an additional copy of your prepaid voucher from Viator proving that you've paid. Neither the tour company nor the flight company had any record of our having paid in advance and without the voucher we could well have had a problem.

From USD $ 182.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230D31L

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message