4.5 star rating: Recommended 94 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Darwin, Australia
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 94 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

A very enjoyable trip, a good lunch. The only disappointment we didn't see any crocodiles. On all 3 trips the coaches were on time picking us up from our hotel. All the drivers were very professional and informative.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Tour was worthwhile; driver knowledgeable and helpful. The best part of the tour was the flight over Arnhem Land which was fabulous with excellent pilot and on-board equipment to hear commentary.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

A little flat , to be honest. Due to too many Tourist visits, I guess the wild life portion is below expectations.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

An extremelt long day travelling. I advise staying overnight in Kakadu. You get to see and do more. The one day tour was very rushed. Good commentary from the driver.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

After a mix-up in the scheduling, the trip went well.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Overall the trip was nice, but 60% of time were spent in the bus which is not really attractive

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

Nice. You can see wonderful scenery and aboriginal art. Could be better, did not see crocodiles in Yellow Waters Arnhem land flight was good, but probably expectations were higher. Couch was comfortable, staff perfect in every sense.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Take the flight................the only redeeming feature of this tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Approach with caution. If you want to see the spectacular waterfalls, you will be forced to purchase a 50 minute flight, coming in at a cool 250 extra. Kept hearing how it was closed due to the huge recent wet weather only for the company line to change to how dry it was and the water level should be higher. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided several updates. Spectacular wildlife sure, but very sparadic - pointing out a single bird in a tree 50 metres away isn't quite a flock of native birds. As for crocodiles in the sun, you'll be lucky to see one. If you want to see crocs, go to crocosaurus cove, better value and you can swim with them. The last 4 hours of the tour, the bus load of tourists was held hostage by AAT Kings, whilst they picked up and dropped of a few guests for next days activites. At 250 dollars, plus 25 extra to get into Kakadu, including an average lunch, can't see where about 240 of the dollars are going. All that free water can't cost that much. You have been warned!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

I didn't realise how far it was from Darwin to Kakadu so unfortunately you don't see too much of Kakadu.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Average however thought time spent for lunch was just filling in time for a really poor meal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The highlight of the tour was the Yellow Waters cruise. The cruise guide was very knowledgeable. Unfortunately, there is not much else positive to say about this tour. The bus arrived 30 minutes late in the morning, which was due to the driver not being familiar with the bus. There were a number of people on the bus with walking difficulties (including someone with a walker), which meant that getting on and off the bus was very time consuming. I wondered whether this meant we didn't actually see as much as we were meant to in Kakadu as there were not many stops. This also meant that we didn't go to the top lookout at one stop along the way. Thankfully I decided to leave the group and make my own way there which was well worth it and on the way back caught up with the group as it slowly made its way around the rock art. On the way back those of us returning to Darwin were dumped onto another bus for the return trip. Overall a very disorganised tour and not worth the expense.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

It does not make sense to spend about seven hours in the bus and less hours in sightseeing.
This tour should only be offered as a 2 day trip.
Your staff was very friendly and effective.

Tanya G
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

We were frustrated because our bus driver tour guide spoke very badly and we could hardly hear him. Even after requests to speak up he soon reverted back. He would begin each sentence clearly but then trail away to a mumble and we spent an exhausting day straining to hear what he was saying. We had a different driver/guide on the way back and he was worse. He would begin his sentence and then stop, leaving you hanging on, waiting and waiting for him to complete what he was saying. Both drivers where however very pleasant, appeared to have a wealth of knowledge, and had good pronunciation but this complete lack of delivery really soured our experience because it was so frustrating. I feel a simple bit of training would solve this problem easily and wonder why the company does not do this.

Moira I
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2007

Good drivers, nice coach, convenient pick up. However there was little stand-out experience in the day. The aboriginal paintings were fine, but once you've seen one, you've seen them all. The Yellow Water part of the trip was the best, but it could have been shorter, allowing a later pick-up in the morning.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Very disappointed, actual tour was average, seemed rushed around cave paintings, spent longer at the rest stop on route, the yellow river tour was average at best, have been on a lot better.
The highlight ( for us ) was supposed to be scenic return flight to Darwin which we paid an awful lot more money for. On arrival at our hotel in Darwin we telephoned the tour operator to confirm pick up and within the hour we had received a phone call to advise that the return flight to Darwin was overbooked and were offered the flight out instead. We declined this and offered to swap around our tours to go the following day. We were told we would be called back to confirm. We made several calls to AAT Kings which seemed to go through to the Sydney head office so they knew nothing. After wasting an entire afternoon waiting in our hotel room we went to eat and on our return they had left a message that we would be going as planned.
Imagine our surprise then to find that on the return flight there were only 2 other people who had been told that the flight would have to be cancelled as the other people had dropped out!
We arrived at the airport to find that the airplane was a fixed wing which meant that any chance of photography or video was severely impacted by the wings being in the way. Had we known this we would have taken the scenic flight offered during the tour which gave 50 minutes of sightseeing flight instead of the 20 mins we got on this one. It also worked out a lot cheaper! It seemed like you had overbooked the scenic plane and this was just a poor substitute to keep the booking.The final straw was when we arrived back at Darwin airport and had to pay an additional $27 for a taxi back to the hotel. At the price we had paid this should have been included. We arrived back at the hotel just 30 mins before the tour bus.
Again must impress on you how extemely disappointed we were with this as it was to be our highlight tour on our 1st visit to Darwin.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

No info available at time of booking on duration of bus drive or rest breaks on drive to kakadu.

From USD $ 188.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230D31L

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message