• USD ($)
  • English

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 36 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hatta Heritage Village and UAE Desert Tour by 4x4 from Dubai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 36 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip but felt the guide was more a driver than a guide. Nice guy but not very communicative. Had to make our own way around the Heritage Village when it would have helped to have someone show us around providing info

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

We enjoyed the trip, our guide was very good and very polite as well as answered a lot of our questions, nothing was too much trouble for him.
Note, lunch is a packed lunch and were we stopped to eat it was not comfortable as there was nowhere to sit .Still it was enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Excellent trip. Our driver was knowledgeable and helpful. A memorable journey.

IAN R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

It was a very good trip, very informative and interesting. Enjoyed it . Only one thing we were not told to take our passports with us resulting having to turn back for them.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This tour gives you a good impression of the desert in different forms.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We were more than satisfied with our tour to Hatta and we would give it a 3-4 star rating. Hatta Heritage Village is well worth visiting and the self-exploratory tour good; the information around the exhibition was clear and concise. The sixty minutes allotted for the visit is about right. The surrounds to the Village are the first view that one sees. The presentation from outside the Village should be improved.
It is a pity that no allowance has been made to visit Hatta Fort Gardens. These are said to be very beautiful and colourful and a pity to miss. Perhaps an extra 60 minutes could be built into the overall tour to accommodate this since the tour lasts only till 14.30 when we arrived back at our pick up point. “So near yet so far”.
The desert safari was great, colourful and at the same time giving an idea of the vastness and the loneliness of the desert. The ride over the sand dunes to Camel Rock was exhilarating. The picnic was an experience in the shade of one of the few trees in the area. It is a pity though that the picnic spot has a lot of rubbish left behind by other groups/parties. All the guests on the trip commented on this “like having a picnic in the beginnings of a rubbish dump”. It is for this reason that the tour has been given a lower star rating.
It must be said that our guides were careful to collect rubbish from the party and to take it away. I am not implying that our tour operator is responsible for what others leave behind.
As a suggestion is it possible together with other tourist operators to have someone sent to gather the bits of debris, plastic, paper etc. at regular intervals say once a month. A clean area in the loneliness of the sand dunes will enhance the tourists’ memories of their desert trip, of Dubai and the many interesting things to see there.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We were more than satisfied with our tour to Hatta and we would give it a 3-4 star rating. Hatta Heritage Village is well worth visiting and the self-exploratory tour good; the information around the exhibition was clear and concise. The sixty minutes allotted for the visit is about right. The surrounds to the Village are the first view that one sees. The presentation from outside the Village should be improved.
It is a pity that no allowance has been made to visit Hatta Fort Gardens. These are said to be very beautiful and colourful and a pity to miss. Perhaps an extra 60 minutes could be built into the overall tour to accommodate this since the tour lasts only till 14.30 when we arrived back at our pick up point. “So near yet so far”.
The desert safari was great, colourful and at the same time giving an idea of the vastness and the loneliness of the desert. The ride over the sand dunes to Camel Rock was exhilarating. The picnic was an experience in the shade of one of the few trees in the area. It is a pity though that the picnic spot has a lot of rubbish left behind by other groups/parties. All the guests on the trip commented on this “like having a picnic in the beginnings of a rubbish dump”. It is for this reason that the tour has been given a lower star rating.
It must be said that our guides were careful to collect rubbish from the party and to take it away. I am not implying that our tour operator is responsible for what others leave behind.
As a suggestion is it possible together with other tourist operators to have someone sent to gather the bits of debris, plastic, paper etc. at regular intervals say once a month. A clean area in the loneliness of the sand dunes will enhance the tourists’ memories of their desert trip, of Dubai and the many interesting things to see there.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

I thought it was a full day tour (9 hours) but it ended just after lunch.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This is a good day out. The Hatta Hertiage Village is interesting enough (although quite similar to the stuff I saw in Hong Kong). We then went to Camel Rock, including a little dune bashing along to the way. We did got get to the Hatta pools. It was never even mentioned actually.

The only problem I have with this (and others have mentioned it as well) is that this is NOT 9 hours long. It is about 6. I was picked up at 830 and back at the hotel by 230pm. Huh? Can Viator please address this?

Cheers Mike
Mid 40s, Aussie based in London, Solo Travel for Leisure.

haihi
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Tour was great. The view of the dam was magnificent. However, tour was advertised as full day trip but back at hotel at 2pm in reality. Would have been better if tour includes the Hatta Pools to truly make it a full day tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Hatta Village was a disappointment and many of the exhibits were closed. Temps are high this time of year and no shade made it an uncomfortable experience. Sand "Bashing" was fun, lunch disgusting, avoid flip flops sand is too hot and you will burn your feet. Water provided don't buy at rest stop.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The tour has 2 parts, the first one was not that interesting, the lunch was not good ( 2 hamburgers with a very bad tasting and an apple. The second part through the dunes was ok.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The tour was a good opportunity to get out of Dubai, unfortunately there was no guide and the drivers had almost no knowledge of the area and weren't able to answer almost any of our questions. Also, lunch was really poor. You can spend your money better elsewhere.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

I basically enjoyed the tour. Our driver was very good and tried to show us as much as possible. We drove over many dry wadis and only saw one with water and we could not swim in it or even get to it. It was interesting to see that part of the country, but I think that tour is best taken after the rainy season, when there might be water in some of the wadis. The food for lunch was plentiful, but they need to choose a different oasis to eat it at one without goats. There were so many flies it made it hard to enjoy the food. Better toilet facilities would also have been nice. Maybe when there is no water in the wadis you could add a little Dune bashing to make up for the swimming. The landscape was very interesting and I enjoyed it. I am not disappointed I took the tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

First of all, I want to say that the driver was very nice and courteous, but I think the trip itinerary could be much improved. Like someone else stated, we were allowed only 30 minutes to tour the Heritage Village, and were pretty much on our own (i.e., no guide). This was a very interesting place to walk around, and at least the driver didn't complain when no one came back on time! There were also no springs or pools to swim in as stated in other reviews, but I was told that it hadn't rained in years, so no big surprise (and I didn't plan to go swimming anyway). But the worst part of the trip was lunch. We stopped at a goat farm and were walked out to a designated picnic area. As soon as our driver left (most likely because of what followed), we were met by a swarm of flies that would NOT let us eat in peace and had no qualms about eating out of our hands (even as we were trying to ourselves). No one mentioned a fly safari in the tour description. After about 5 minutes I left the site with just an apple and walked around to take pictures while the others tried desperately to defend their food against the invaders. On the positive side, some of the views of the mountains were spectacular, so it is was definitely worth the trip for me. This trip has MUCH potential, if they provide a guided tour through the Heritage Village and find some better accommodations for meals. But until then, you've been warned.

Note from Viator: Thanks Anthony. We appreciate your feedback, which gives us a great opportunity to review the services provided and the quality of the product. Regarding Hatta pools we would like to advise that there are indeed some pools in Hatta which can be used in some occasions for swimming depending on rain fall. We highlight that pools are for viewing and not available for swimming.
At Hatta Heritage Village there are different sections showing the way of life in such a mountain village. Fortunately, there are descriptions in English in addition to videos (English/Arabic) with full details about the village. Of course, at the end clients can still obtain more information from the driver whenever required. There is indeed a lot of driving within this trip as the Hatta area is far away from Dubai and it takes time to reach that area and also return to Dubai (120 km each).

Special Offer
$85.05 Save $8.51

From USD $ 76.54

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2168DXB009

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message