3.5 star rating: Worth doing 39 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hatta Heritage Village and UAE Desert Tour by 4x4 from Dubai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 39 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Isabelle B
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The Trip was nice but the Hatta pools we couldn't visit!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

It´was a nice trip and a lot of fun. Good guides. Only minus was that we couldn't drive up in the mountains because the area was closed by the army. So it was a Hatta Heritage Village visit and a nice sand desert drive through and lunch picnic.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

This was an interesting trip into scenic Hajar mountains by 4WD, got to do everything, except swim in the springer because locals were already there.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip but felt the guide was more a driver than a guide. Nice guy but not very communicative. Had to make our own way around the Heritage Village when it would have helped to have someone show us around providing info

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

We enjoyed the trip, our guide was very good and very polite as well as answered a lot of our questions, nothing was too much trouble for him.
Note, lunch is a packed lunch and were we stopped to eat it was not comfortable as there was nowhere to sit .Still it was enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Excellent trip. Our driver was knowledgeable and helpful. A memorable journey.

IAN R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

It was a very good trip, very informative and interesting. Enjoyed it . Only one thing we were not told to take our passports with us resulting having to turn back for them.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This tour gives you a good impression of the desert in different forms.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Hatta village was a little disappointing because I thought that it was a real village, but the trip into the desert was very good. The temperature was 37degrees and a little windy so lunch was hard. Better to go when it isn't quite so hot.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We were more than satisfied with our tour to Hatta and we would give it a 3-4 star rating. Hatta Heritage Village is well worth visiting and the self-exploratory tour good; the information around the exhibition was clear and concise. The sixty minutes allotted for the visit is about right. The surrounds to the Village are the first view that one sees. The presentation from outside the Village should be improved.
It is a pity that no allowance has been made to visit Hatta Fort Gardens. These are said to be very beautiful and colourful and a pity to miss. Perhaps an extra 60 minutes could be built into the overall tour to accommodate this since the tour lasts only till 14.30 when we arrived back at our pick up point. “So near yet so far”.
The desert safari was great, colourful and at the same time giving an idea of the vastness and the loneliness of the desert. The ride over the sand dunes to Camel Rock was exhilarating. The picnic was an experience in the shade of one of the few trees in the area. It is a pity though that the picnic spot has a lot of rubbish left behind by other groups/parties. All the guests on the trip commented on this “like having a picnic in the beginnings of a rubbish dump”. It is for this reason that the tour has been given a lower star rating.
It must be said that our guides were careful to collect rubbish from the party and to take it away. I am not implying that our tour operator is responsible for what others leave behind.
As a suggestion is it possible together with other tourist operators to have someone sent to gather the bits of debris, plastic, paper etc. at regular intervals say once a month. A clean area in the loneliness of the sand dunes will enhance the tourists’ memories of their desert trip, of Dubai and the many interesting things to see there.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We were more than satisfied with our tour to Hatta and we would give it a 3-4 star rating. Hatta Heritage Village is well worth visiting and the self-exploratory tour good; the information around the exhibition was clear and concise. The sixty minutes allotted for the visit is about right. The surrounds to the Village are the first view that one sees. The presentation from outside the Village should be improved.
It is a pity that no allowance has been made to visit Hatta Fort Gardens. These are said to be very beautiful and colourful and a pity to miss. Perhaps an extra 60 minutes could be built into the overall tour to accommodate this since the tour lasts only till 14.30 when we arrived back at our pick up point. “So near yet so far”.
The desert safari was great, colourful and at the same time giving an idea of the vastness and the loneliness of the desert. The ride over the sand dunes to Camel Rock was exhilarating. The picnic was an experience in the shade of one of the few trees in the area. It is a pity though that the picnic spot has a lot of rubbish left behind by other groups/parties. All the guests on the trip commented on this “like having a picnic in the beginnings of a rubbish dump”. It is for this reason that the tour has been given a lower star rating.
It must be said that our guides were careful to collect rubbish from the party and to take it away. I am not implying that our tour operator is responsible for what others leave behind.
As a suggestion is it possible together with other tourist operators to have someone sent to gather the bits of debris, plastic, paper etc. at regular intervals say once a month. A clean area in the loneliness of the sand dunes will enhance the tourists’ memories of their desert trip, of Dubai and the many interesting things to see there.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

I thought it was a full day tour (9 hours) but it ended just after lunch.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This is a good day out. The Hatta Hertiage Village is interesting enough (although quite similar to the stuff I saw in Hong Kong). We then went to Camel Rock, including a little dune bashing along to the way. We did got get to the Hatta pools. It was never even mentioned actually.

The only problem I have with this (and others have mentioned it as well) is that this is NOT 9 hours long. It is about 6. I was picked up at 830 and back at the hotel by 230pm. Huh? Can Viator please address this?

Cheers Mike
Mid 40s, Aussie based in London, Solo Travel for Leisure.

haihi
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Tour was great. The view of the dam was magnificent. However, tour was advertised as full day trip but back at hotel at 2pm in reality. Would have been better if tour includes the Hatta Pools to truly make it a full day tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Hatta Village was a disappointment and many of the exhibits were closed. Temps are high this time of year and no shade made it an uncomfortable experience. Sand "Bashing" was fun, lunch disgusting, avoid flip flops sand is too hot and you will burn your feet. Water provided don't buy at rest stop.

From USD $ 85.05

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2168DXB009

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message