4 star rating: Recommended 79 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Duration:9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Day Tour to the East Coast - Orient Express. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 79 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

With the excellent driver/guide on this trip to inform you, you learn a lot!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Like it. Much different from Dubai, you can see the difference between rich and poor emirates. I loved the beach that we stopped at to have lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

I had confidence after I checked what others had to say, before I went on the trip. True to what was said, I too had a Very Good Trip. Its best to go during winter ie. from November to Feb as summer might be too hot. I got full worth for my money. Thanks Viator.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Tour covered a variety of scenery. Lunch at beach hotel was fine, but staff could have been advised of our arrival, so service could have been quicker during the stopover. Really appreciated hotel pickup and drop off. It was good value for money by comparison.

Brian J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Very interesting tour despite the 42 degrees of heat, gained more information about UAE. We didn't travel/visit according to the description but saw most of the places listed. Suggest tour operators should give more details about lunch set up - it was either a big hotel or small cafe. As there was only 4 four us, it was easy to decide. Could be difficult and time wasting if there was a large group. It was very hot at the beach but definitely worth a paddle.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Worth it if just to see another side of United Arab Emirates.

Joy G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

This is worthwhile in its giving you the chance to explore the contrasting countryside outside outside Dubai. Value was added through a very knowledgeable guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

This was a very interesting trip just to see what's the around the area instead of only Dubai. The mountains are huge and not too bad for a 10-minute ride through Oman. All in, a nice drive outside of the city for the day.

Jeanette S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

To get out of the city and see the desert, the mountains, different Emirates and rain was good. Tour leader was informative, friendly and very interesting. English was excellent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Instructor was good, explained a lot of interesting things and worth visiting to see how other cities are compared to Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Very nice tour, but I think a bottle of water should have been Provided

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Good way to see what is outside the big cities.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Good day out but to tiring . An overnight stop at snoopy island would have been better

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

It would have been more enjoyable with a better English-speaking tour guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

just the two of us on a private tour, which other times has a big coach. very informative, learnt plenty about the country

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

a god tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Had good fun.

Helene
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

It was a hot day at end of May (worst months in Dubai) but a very interesting day. Our guide was good, our driver was a bit dodgy though, as he nearly run out of petrol and we coasted along between petrol stations that wouldn't accept his card at about 50kph. He also didn't want to put the airconditioner on despite the fact that it was about 45 degrees outside. We eventually got home without pushing the car.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

On the positive side: the itinerary is interesting, the guide informative, hard working and friendly. There is more to the UAE than just Dubai and this tour is a good way to see some of that. The bus was comfortable.

On the downside: we were the 1st hotel pickup in the morning which meant the next 2 hours were just spent going from one hotel to another. Also, a family with 3 badly behaved (and noisy) children spoiled things for everyone else. Children below 12 years old should NOT be permitted on this tour as it involves long drives which can bore children.

David M
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

It was a very long journey across the desert to see not that much. Do not do this trip to see out of this world markets or inside old historic forts. If, however, you have spent enough time in Dubai itself and want a change and to see some of the amazing UAE countryside, then this is the trip to go on.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The company was very professional and we were picked up on time in our hotel lobby. Our guide was friendly. The tour was incredibly long and boring. There was too much driving and the stops were very short 10-15 minutes each. This made for a long day of riding in a bus. We stopped at the Friday Market. We walked from one end to the other, but we're not given any time to look around. There was a nice photo stop at the mountains. We went to a hotel resort for lunch. Lunch was ok, but it did not leave any time for swimming. It is too bad because it was a beautiful beach. Our last stop was a fort. It was interesting but by this time I was too hot and too bored to care.
It is a 9 hour tour. It would have been nice if they provided water.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Great guide but average trip. Photo stops were short and through the mountains , not really in the right place. Driver was very erratic with constant braking and accelerating which was not pleasant!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The van's airconditioning struggled in the heat, making what should have been an interesting tour, quite an ordeal

Rabbhi Y
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

I really wanted this to be good as I thought it would be a good idea to actually get out of Dubai and see more of the emirates however, I was sorely dissapointed. The trip could really be better organised but to be honest I think alot of the problem lies with the fact that there just isn't that much to do outside of Dubai! The trip is primarily spent inside the minibus and you only get out at a few locations to take photos. I would say approx 70 time spent in car and the majority of the time out of it was because you stop for lunch. The hotel where we had lunch was pretty decent in fujerah beach resort but it would have been nice if we could have spent a bit more time there to enjoy the beautiful beach it's amazing. Howvever we were quickly hurried off back to the bus. There are attempts to instill a sense of culture of the U.A.E but I would say that these are made reduntant. You get to stop to take a few photos at the old fort and also the oldest standing mosque in the emirates but these sites are seriously dilapidated and very neglected. Furthermore your interaction with them is limited to being able to stop for only a few photographs then bening ushered back to the bus!! Honestly I would say the highlight was seeing Dubai's skyline as we neared the end of the trip. I was incredibly dissapointed and to be honest I'm glad I ddnt pay so much for it. Before booking the trip I looked at many of the previous reviews to try to inform my decison and I'm surprised it has scored so highly.

Special Offer
$55.79 Save $5.66

From USD $ 50.13

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2168DXB003

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message