4 star rating: Recommended 49 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dubai 4x4 Sandboarding Safari. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 49 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great morning.
Pick on time - very friendly guide/driver - very safe.
We were just the 2 of us so it was amazing. First time sandboarding also well explained and good equipment

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Well organised trip. It was good fun and well organised. Good value for money and the guide was helpful and friendly.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

It was just myself and the guide which was awkward at first but ended up being fine, he was nice, made conversation, made sure I had a drink or anything else that I needed. I had a great time sandboarding and 4x4 drive through the dunes, got some great photos. Would recommend to others.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great guide

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The tour was good. The sand boarding experience was fun ! The tour guide was very friendly , the only drawback is climbing back the dunes , it is very tiring ! Other than that it s a fun thing to do while you're in Dubai !

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

It was cool being in the desert instead of a snowed mountain, changing the cold for an extreme sun. Know the differences between both sports. Having good takings. Only one bad point: climb back up the dunes everytime

Richard Mark D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Fun trip. Punctual pick up and drop off. 4 X 4 dune bashing great, very skilled driver and quite breathtaking at times - just ask my wife! Don't expect too much from the sandboarding or camel ride though. The dunes are only small, but high enough to walk up a few times in 32 degrees, and the boards are knackered - but worth a try.

Arun Kumar M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

It was an amazing trip. Funfilled, adventurous and a very memorable one. Very exciting and a must do activity in Dubai.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It certainly is worth doing and good fun coming down however it's not for those of an unfit nature walking back up a steep sand dune is not easy. Our guide was good at insuring we remained hydrated by offering us water every time we made it back up to the top, but even so we needed a good few minutes to get our breath once up. A couple of tips: you don't need to buy any head scarves or any other souvenir paraphernalia from the shop you first start at, however I would recommend long socks or strong boots. The reason being that the board uses typical snowboard bindings designed for a boot and as such won't do up tightly on anything else. The net result being if when you fall over the back of the binding scraps the back of your leg as it's not fixed securely.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was so much fun, but the guide was a bit disappointed. He just threw our boards in the sand and said "go down this hill". No instructions whatsoever. We had fun anyways.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The boarding is fun and the guide was also very good. However, the walk back up is very tiering and therefore need very good physical staminor to last 3hrs.

This activity needs to be combined with another to make it worthwhile. We managed 1hr and then decided to leave.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

very great experience, we hat a lot of fun; nice and friendly tourguide, unfortunately the tour only took 3 hours instead of 4 hours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

This trip is worth doing, if more for the younger, fitter amongst us!
The jeep dune rude was good but short and the sandboarding was great going down but hard work on the way back up!
Driver was friendly, helpful and informative even though he did turn up half an hour earlier than planned.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This morning-trip consists of a short stay in the part of the desert, which is near by the main highway. This part of the dessert is great, but it is not the kind of untouched desert I have expected. The Sandboarding part was really worth trying.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Driver/guide was a bit vague as to how long we had to sandboard and we felt we didn't have very long due to mis-communication over last run.Our whole trip lasted about 21/2 hours as opposed to 4hrs advertised. Where we sandboarded was a bit grotty with litter strewn everywhere!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Driver was very good. Because we stayed at the Atlantis we got almost a city tour to pick up another passenger. Driver was very knowledgeable. However the sand-boarding is very exhausting. Climbing back up the dunes is very hard. You need to be fit. Driving through dunes is great experience.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

The dunes where they bring you are located beside a small shop where they basically harass you into buying souvenirs and rip you off by charging 3-5 times what you would pay in the malls in Dubai. BE WARNED . DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THESE CON ARTISTS. YOU WILL BE SCAMED. The drive on the sand dunes was great fun. The sand was too hot this time of year for climbing up the dunes after sliding down. I was on my own so maybe this is why the whole trip from my hotel there and back including the activity was only 2hr 15 mins and not the 4 hrs it was described as.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2010

The view was amazing but ..... the sandboards were snowboards!!! You can't use a wax bottom board on the sand. YOU DON'T MOVE Bottom line the boards need to have either a plastic,wood or metal bottom to them in order to slide. I thought these existed and these where what we were going use but no. Other the the fact you shimmy yourself down the Dune. Guide was very nice. SUV was very nice and the drive didn't take too long. left by 830 and was back by 1130

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

Not value for money. We were picked up from hotel at 7.30am, drove for 90mins to the dessert where the driver spent 5mins driving around the sand dunes. Sand-boarding great but so tiring walking back up the dune in 35c heat only did it 3 times. Spent another 90mins driving back to hotel for 11am

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Pick up car was good but the experience was VERY disappointing. Just drove to behind Their office to a very small dune next to a major road. Thought this was just for practice but told we were not going anywhere else. Dont know how they could make us stay 2 hours in the one dull spot! We had enough 30 mins!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

A complete waste of money and a waste of a day out of my holiday, asking the 4 of us to surf down the dunes and then in the blistering heat to climb back up!!! Rubbish def don't recommend it

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

The operator is completely unprepared for sandboarding. The boards were old and not waxed - therefore not sliding at all. Despite the assurance that boots will be provided, we had to go bare foot. The operator had chosen dunes right next to the road - little fun and not really a "desert" experience. Shall I go further? Not recommended.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2011

It was really bad. The driver didn't want to give enough time for us to play in the Sand. He wanted to drop us back as quickly as possible. We wanted to do sand boarding on different places and he was not willing to take us to any other place and he inisted that we have to be in the same place. I found it wierd that he was trying to get extra money from us saying this tour doesn't cover Sand dumes. Overall a very bad experience and I'd never recommend anyone. I would suggest not to book through viator since it is way cheaper if you book directly with the tour operator. There will be so many safari operator waiting for you in Dubai

Ana K
Bosnia Herzegovina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2007

Bleak, lifeless and rushed. Went through the motions but no experience. Guide/driver uninterested.

From USD $ 60.26

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2168DXB008

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message