Insider's Guide to Dubai

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 63 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Amy R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

They called to say what time the pick up would be. Was organised with friendly staff.

Helene M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

Absolutely great fun, and people you can rely on!

Peter S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We left our hotel early, at 7 a.m., but at least we avoided the morning rush. It takes about 1 hour to get to the site, because of the early departure, we were the first there. Also it wasn't hot.
Sandboarding is a fun activity. Depending on the group size, you have 3-4 turns on the board.
The tour includes some driving among the dunes. Sometimes you may think the car will turn over, but the drives are well-trained, they keep the car on its wheels : If you have motion sickness you get seasick, air-sick or car-sick, this part is not for you.
I recommend this if you spend only a short time in Dubai, but want to some outdoor activity. With an early start, you are free to do anything in the afternoon.
One tip: use the air-pump at the service station to clean your shoes, so you won't pour the desert sand everywhere for weeks.

christian H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

A really funny experience, but be aware that walking up the sand dunes is really hard work.

Dirk B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

very nice, a must to do when you are in Dubai.
also a very good service, pick-up at hotel and drop-off

Peter A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Excellent time had on this trip, but 1 1/2 hours was all we got before we were taken back to our hotel, I would recommend this trip but it is physical on the sandboarding and it is an experience

Gary W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Unfortunately our pre booked trip starting at a civilized 9 am was changed to 8.15am the day before, so OK, was expecting just us 4 in vehicle but another couple was already in the vehicle when we picked up, no real problem.
Trip out and onto dunes was good, thought driver was going to blow up engine :-) but guess that's part of it, sand boarding was fun everyone had as much time as they wanted. Overall the trip lasted just over the 3 hours, which to be honest was enough. Would recommend as overall was a good experience.

Anne-Karin D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Super Organisation und preisleistung. Immer wieder gern

anton

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Nice and good staff!

Celine B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great morning.
Pick on time - very friendly guide/driver - very safe.
We were just the 2 of us so it was amazing. First time sandboarding also well explained and good equipment

Adrian S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Well organised trip. It was good fun and well organised. Good value for money and the guide was helpful and friendly.

Rhanna G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

It was just myself and the guide which was awkward at first but ended up being fine, he was nice, made conversation, made sure I had a drink or anything else that I needed. I had a great time sandboarding and 4x4 drive through the dunes, got some great photos. Would recommend to others.

Keng-Chiao H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great guide

djjag87

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The tour was good. The sand boarding experience was fun ! The tour guide was very friendly , the only drawback is climbing back the dunes , it is very tiring ! Other than that it s a fun thing to do while you're in Dubai !

gredeich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

It was cool being in the desert instead of a snowed mountain, changing the cold for an extreme sun. Know the differences between both sports. Having good takings. Only one bad point: climb back up the dunes everytime

Richard Mark D United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Fun trip. Punctual pick up and drop off. 4 X 4 dune bashing great, very skilled driver and quite breathtaking at times - just ask my wife! Don't expect too much from the sandboarding or camel ride though. The dunes are only small, but high enough to walk up a few times in 32 degrees, and the boards are knackered - but worth a try.

Arun Kumar M United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

It was an amazing trip. Funfilled, adventurous and a very memorable one. Very exciting and a must do activity in Dubai.

Donna H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Was okay the actual experience was only about 20 mins not that great may be worth paying a bit more and doing another excursion

James N

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It certainly is worth doing and good fun coming down however it's not for those of an unfit nature walking back up a steep sand dune is not easy. Our guide was good at insuring we remained hydrated by offering us water every time we made it back up to the top, but even so we needed a good few minutes to get our breath once up. A couple of tips: you don't need to buy any head scarves or any other souvenir paraphernalia from the shop you first start at, however I would recommend long socks or strong boots. The reason being that the board uses typical snowboard bindings designed for a boot and as such won't do up tightly on anything else. The net result being if when you fall over the back of the binding scraps the back of your leg as it's not fixed securely.

Jette K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was so much fun, but the guide was a bit disappointed. He just threw our boards in the sand and said "go down this hill". No instructions whatsoever. We had fun anyways.

Rasel A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The boarding is fun and the guide was also very good. However, the walk back up is very tiering and therefore need very good physical staminor to last 3hrs.

This activity needs to be combined with another to make it worthwhile. We managed 1hr and then decided to leave.

Eva Maria H

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

very great experience, we hat a lot of fun; nice and friendly tourguide, unfortunately the tour only took 3 hours instead of 4 hours.

Jan G

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

This trip is worth doing, if more for the younger, fitter amongst us!
The jeep dune rude was good but short and the sandboarding was great going down but hard work on the way back up!
Driver was friendly, helpful and informative even though he did turn up half an hour earlier than planned.

Matthaeus Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This morning-trip consists of a short stay in the part of the desert, which is near by the main highway. This part of the dessert is great, but it is not the kind of untouched desert I have expected. The Sandboarding part was really worth trying.

andrew w

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Driver/guide was a bit vague as to how long we had to sandboard and we felt we didn't have very long due to mis-communication over last run.Our whole trip lasted about 21/2 hours as opposed to 4hrs advertised. Where we sandboarded was a bit grotty with litter strewn everywhere!

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 60.26

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2168DXB008

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message