3.5 star rating: Worth doing 36 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hatta Heritage Village and UAE Desert Tour by 4x4 from Dubai. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 36 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Hatta Village was a disappointment and many of the exhibits were closed. Temps are high this time of year and no shade made it an uncomfortable experience. Sand "Bashing" was fun, lunch disgusting, avoid flip flops sand is too hot and you will burn your feet. Water provided don't buy at rest stop.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Tour guide Mustafa was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to ensure our trip was successful - helping us to get the exact photos we wanted, "rounding up" some camels, etc. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Good value for money 6 hour trip. Very good guide . Sand dunes excellent

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

The tour has 2 parts, the first one was not that interesting, the lunch was not good ( 2 hamburgers with a very bad tasting and an apple. The second part through the dunes was ok.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

you get a good price pre booking well worth it and we were lucky as was the only two on the trip so had a personal chauffeur for the day realy great day out

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We were more than satisfied with our tour to Hatta and we would give it a 3-4 star rating. Hatta Heritage Village is well worth visiting and the self-exploratory tour good; the information around the exhibition was clear and concise. The sixty minutes allotted for the visit is about right. The surrounds to the Village are the first view that one sees. The presentation from outside the Village should be improved.
It is a pity that no allowance has been made to visit Hatta Fort Gardens. These are said to be very beautiful and colourful and a pity to miss. Perhaps an extra 60 minutes could be built into the overall tour to accommodate this since the tour lasts only till 14.30 when we arrived back at our pick up point. “So near yet so far”.
The desert safari was great, colourful and at the same time giving an idea of the vastness and the loneliness of the desert. The ride over the sand dunes to Camel Rock was exhilarating. The picnic was an experience in the shade of one of the few trees in the area. It is a pity though that the picnic spot has a lot of rubbish left behind by other groups/parties. All the guests on the trip commented on this “like having a picnic in the beginnings of a rubbish dump”. It is for this reason that the tour has been given a lower star rating.
It must be said that our guides were careful to collect rubbish from the party and to take it away. I am not implying that our tour operator is responsible for what others leave behind.
As a suggestion is it possible together with other tourist operators to have someone sent to gather the bits of debris, plastic, paper etc. at regular intervals say once a month. A clean area in the loneliness of the sand dunes will enhance the tourists’ memories of their desert trip, of Dubai and the many interesting things to see there.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We were more than satisfied with our tour to Hatta and we would give it a 3-4 star rating. Hatta Heritage Village is well worth visiting and the self-exploratory tour good; the information around the exhibition was clear and concise. The sixty minutes allotted for the visit is about right. The surrounds to the Village are the first view that one sees. The presentation from outside the Village should be improved.
It is a pity that no allowance has been made to visit Hatta Fort Gardens. These are said to be very beautiful and colourful and a pity to miss. Perhaps an extra 60 minutes could be built into the overall tour to accommodate this since the tour lasts only till 14.30 when we arrived back at our pick up point. “So near yet so far”.
The desert safari was great, colourful and at the same time giving an idea of the vastness and the loneliness of the desert. The ride over the sand dunes to Camel Rock was exhilarating. The picnic was an experience in the shade of one of the few trees in the area. It is a pity though that the picnic spot has a lot of rubbish left behind by other groups/parties. All the guests on the trip commented on this “like having a picnic in the beginnings of a rubbish dump”. It is for this reason that the tour has been given a lower star rating.
It must be said that our guides were careful to collect rubbish from the party and to take it away. I am not implying that our tour operator is responsible for what others leave behind.
As a suggestion is it possible together with other tourist operators to have someone sent to gather the bits of debris, plastic, paper etc. at regular intervals say once a month. A clean area in the loneliness of the sand dunes will enhance the tourists’ memories of their desert trip, of Dubai and the many interesting things to see there.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The tour was a good opportunity to get out of Dubai, unfortunately there was no guide and the drivers had almost no knowledge of the area and weren't able to answer almost any of our questions. Also, lunch was really poor. You can spend your money better elsewhere.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Brilliant day. Our guide was excellent and good fun. The men especially enjoyed the ride through the sand dunes! Just note that you will need your Passport for this trip as you have to go over the boarder into Oman and back to get to the Heritage Village at Hatta.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

I thought it was a full day tour (9 hours) but it ended just after lunch.

modeldriver
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The Heritage Village would have been better if there were actors demonstrating how life was back in the past.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Highlight a little bit more that you need re-entry visa. With some types of visas UAE border guards may not enable re-entry from Oman.

Profesional behaving of the driver/guide, kind and entertaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I loved it. The guide was super informative and helped me take pictures since I traveled alone. He also showed us around Hatta when many other guides dropped their customers by the gate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This is a good day out. The Hatta Hertiage Village is interesting enough (although quite similar to the stuff I saw in Hong Kong). We then went to Camel Rock, including a little dune bashing along to the way. We did got get to the Hatta pools. It was never even mentioned actually.

The only problem I have with this (and others have mentioned it as well) is that this is NOT 9 hours long. It is about 6. I was picked up at 830 and back at the hotel by 230pm. Huh? Can Viator please address this?

Cheers Mike
Mid 40s, Aussie based in London, Solo Travel for Leisure.

Isabelle B
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The Trip was nice but the Hatta pools we couldn't visit!

Special Offer
$85.05 Save $8.51

From USD $ 76.54

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2168DXB009

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message