• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 29 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private 4x4 Adventurer Safari including Sandboarding. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 29 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Thanks to the very good guide driver, we had a great time.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

If you're as scared of driving fast as I am, this is the one to sort that out. I screamed and screamed until I laughed. Sandboarding was a short time, but again had a laugh, and finally the camel ride. I'm terrified of them, but as it was my son's 13th birthday, I had to do the birthday thing with him and again got over my fear. Wasn't too bad getting up and as easy getting down. Well worth doing. Our guide was brill, couldn't have been better, he even got a laugh out of us.

Simon C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Excellent adventure! Had less time than advertised, which was a little annoying, but only a minor complaint.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

OK
all it is is pick up at hotel, drive for an hour, sandboard for an hour, and drive back. Driver did not say much during hour drive. While the sandboarding is fun keep in mind you have to climb back up the hill - very tiring - ultimately unlikely you will go down more than 3-4 times because of this.
worth doing but only 3 hours and really it is just a drive to do sandboarding. I am still looking for the adventure safari!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Really fun activity, I was the only one doing it though, no other people in my group just me and the driver so it did take some element of fun out of it as the encouragement to stay longer was lacking .... It' worth giving it a try even if you dont think you will be any good. The only downside is you have to walk back up the sand dunes with your board... try doing that at midday in the baking heat over and over again. Certainly took some time to get my breathe back after each climb.

thms8
Germany

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

15 Min desert tour right beneath the high way. Was OK but too short.
The sandboarding part was ok but the mounting was extremely poor. You couldn't even steer with the board; just straight ahead.
When we left desert we stopped by a touristy "ghost town" where an annoying guy tried to sell his merchandise.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Due to get picked up at 9am, driver arrived at 8am, mad rush to get ready, once in the desert we had around 35 minutes dune bashing and 15 minutes sandboarding, none of us could sandboard no help offered, then back to the hotel by 10.40am, not value for money

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

This is a tour for the 100% fit. I knew I wouldnt do the sand boarding as I have mobility challenges, however my husband thought it would be great fun. He managed to do 2 dunes only as the climb back up was too much for him. We were picked up @ 8am from hotel and were back there @11am I dont think it was value for money for us. We are both in late 50's

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Good, but it was a bit short!

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

The tour guy was lovely and really friendly, but i think the sandboarding was boring, only had two goes on small dunes that was covered in camel poo and the 4x4 wasn't as scary as i though it would be, would have been better on bigger dunes, the quad biking was fun.

Stella G
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

This was an ordinary sandboarding experience. It was just down one hill! The dune buggy ride was fine, but considering how far we had to go to get there, it wasn't worth it.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

A very quiet guide but generally polite. The off roading in the desert was fun. However, we tried sand boarding, which had the guide actually tried it himself, we might have had a better chance of getting the hang of it. We were offered a camel ride from which we abstained simply because we're not keen on the animals, but at no point were we offered a dune buggy ride or told where we could try this.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

It was an interesting experience but perhaps next time it would be good to do it in a group rather than just the one car.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Picked up punctually from the hotel. 4 x 4 drive through the red dunes was great. However when we stopped to try sandboarding the driver offered almost no tuition both my teenage kids had a go and both crashed at some speed ending up with some significant bruising and my daughter hurt her neck. The dune selected by the driver for their first attempt was huge. For first timers gentle slopes should be offered initially but we got the impression that the driver wanted us back at the hotel asap hence offered an experience he knew we would not enjoy knowing we wouldn't have another go. The whole thing lasted less than 2.5 hours including a 45 min trip each way to the dunes.

From USD $ 55.10

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2168PDXB13

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message