4.5 star rating: Recommended 60 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 60 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was the best tour I have ever been on. The people who worked for Viator were friendly and very accomidating. You will not be disappointed with this company.

I would like to share a personal experience. My tour took a short flight to the Aran Islands. By the end of the day the fog had rolled in and we could not fly off the island. The tour group booked us passage on the ferry back to Galway. We missed the train leaving Galway returning to Dublin becasue the ferry was slower, however once again there were no worries for us because the tour group put us directly on the correct bus back to Dublin.

You cannot control Mother Nature, however Viator took control of the cards that were dealt and ensured we arrived back to our original destination completely safe.

I will always use this company in the future.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The trip to Inis Mor, the largest of the Aran Islands was wonderful. The tour guide on the island, Bernie, was great, very knowledgeable, funny. He must have kissed the Blarney Stones many times.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great experience, fabulous tour!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

All in - excellent!
Great value for money and well organized - not a problem with anything.

William E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Absolutely fantastic time

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

The tour was first rate from start to finish. The train people were at the station before we arrived and explained about the countryside while we traveling. The flight over to the island was only 10 minutes and a guide was waiting for us as soon as the plane arrived. We had time for lunch and later a tea break before we flew back to the mainland. At Galway, we had about an hour to look around and eat at a recommended Pub to have Irish Stew and a Guinness. Five Stars!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

I really enjoyed this tour. The train was modern and clean, the tour guides friendly and professional and, most important, the scenery was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The trip was great! Rail travel is the best! Wide variety of experiences. Train, plane, bus, all timely. Just enough time to shop but not wasting time, and informative too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The scenery was amazing and the day was filled with sights and activities.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The Aran Islands were beautiful. Such a small, quaint, cool place to visit. The main fort was really scenic, it sits on top of a huge cliff with crashing waves and beautiful scenery. The tour guide was funny and very knowledgeable. I even enjoyed the train ride from Dublin to Galway because I got to see a good portion of the Irish countryside.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Fabulous! Glad I didn't take the ferry, apparently the water is very rough, and the islands are beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The trip to the Aran Islands was more than we expected. It was perfectly executed. We met our guide who took care of us on the train and got us to the bus. The bus trip and flight were all done very well. It was a wonderful experience. When the trip in Galway was over, we had a guide who got us back on the train. It was perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The train ride was a little too long, but when you get to the island, everything changes. It is a different world up there. It was fantastic, but if I do this again, next time will be in the summer. The view from the fortress at sunset has to be out of this world.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The tour to Galway and the Aran Isles was wonderful and highly recommended. We were met at the station by one of the representatives and escorted on the train ride to Galway. The guide was wonderful and described the various locales that we passed through and stopped at. In Galway, he put us on a van with a few other tourists which took us to the airport. We had a very short plane ride over to the main Aran Island – with the Dun Angus fort. A small van met us after the flight and the driver proceeded to show us the island. We had a nice home made lunch at a small pub just down from the entrance to the Dun Angus fort. If you go there; try the Guinness chocolate cake. The tour was great and the scenery was spectacular. Upon your return to Galway, you have about two hours to meander and enjoy the city. The tour requires a good bit of walking. It makes for a long day but well worth every penny spent.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The 8 minute flight was a unique experience. It was great fun exploring around the fortress and the Ruins of 7 churches. The views were beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We had a wonderful time! We accomplished a lot and enjoyed every moment.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Unfortunately the plane flight was cancelled due to bad weather, but it was still a great day. A tour of Connemarra was added so lots to see and do. Very beautiful country, even in the rain!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

overall very good, very prompt, very polite and friendly. only point of concern was lack of consistant tour guide. many places we stopped at, we were either on our own or another guide took over. no-one said anything about the difficulty of the hike to the old stone fortress on inishmor.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I think the trip was amazing but a bit too long of a day for a Dublin departure. We left our hotel at 6:45 am and returned at 9:30pm. Would recommend leaving from a closer location.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The trip went off without a hitch - perfect weather (not that the tour company can do anything about that!) On the train, we had reserved seats - which was very nice. On the outbound trip, the train was not busy, but the route back, the train was crowded. The tour guide on the route back was excellent - giving us ideas for our remaining days in Dublin as well as pointing out that the tram would save us a cab fare while taking the same time as the taxi. The guide on the island was excellent - with his wit and humour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The trip was great. It was good to have someone else do all the planning and the driving. The tour guide on the island (a local) was able to provide a lot of insight.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The site was beautiful. Our tour guide was great. It would have been nice to have a bit more time in Galway. Perhaps instead of sitting around waiting on the island for our flight, we should have been one of the first planes back after the tour to allow for time in Galway.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

The Aran Islands are amazing. We were met at the train station in Dublin, and our guide traveled to Galway with us, making sure we were in the proper railroad car. We were walked over to our shuttle to the Galway airport. After getting to the airport 40 minutes later, we took a 7 minute flight to the big island. The scenery was amazing. We were blessed with a sunny day, and although it was cool, the island was fantastic and the service we received from our guides was great. We didn't get any time at all in Galway to shop, or this would have been a 5 star rating.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

It was well organized.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The guides were very nice and helpful and the islands are amazing, I just wished I had some sunshine which would've been beautiful. So if you go on this trip, try to plan it when you'd most likely get some sun. Very interesting place.

From USD $ 157.11

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message